We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yard Hotel
Ranked #6 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Me and my wife had an amazing stay in this GREAT hotel. The room was really big, comfortable and was beyond any expectation. The staff is maybe the most helpful and kind i ever met. As all say, details make the difference.... the wonderful yard makes you feel like home. A really amazing experience. I would come here again and again!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy_Wrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    133
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
123
361
31
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was traveling back from business in the Middle East and planned a stay over in Milan. I had seen The Yard online and read very good reviews here. However, from the moment I arrived, I was overwhelmed with the warmth and beauty of this home. I was warmly greeted when I arrived and shown to my room (The Penthouse). Beautifully designed and themed with a nautical theme, the Penthouse was a perfect home away from home. I was only disappointed that I was unable to stay for the morning breakfast (0930 flight out of Malpenza). What a great experience and, because of this beautiful residential style hotel, Milan will be on my list of places in Europe to return to again and again. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Can not go wrong with the Penthouse. The Hunter is a beautiful room as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisMcNeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Very cozy hotel with home like reception and living room. Not many kind but moderate breakfast and really kind staff who refuse any tip. Rooms have each theme but very cold. TV channel is almost impossible to find out my preference.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jejes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Like many reviews mentioned here (I actually read through them before booking) and couldn't agree more. The yard definitely is a very different exprience. You feel like you are living in a friend's place.

We stayed at the Penthouse and it was very spacious and comfortable. Since it was toward the end of our trip we were kind of tired, we ended up staying in after an early dinner and it felt totally like home.

The owner's family actually lived in the premise and Alexandra has been so helpful and friendly (also recommended us a wonderful steak restaurant down the street) I would love to go back. (p.s. they will be taking up more floors and expands this summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joopko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I don't know where to start with this review. The decor is incredible. The rooms are ultra warm with a home feeling. Our favorite part of our trip was the hotel.

The one aspect of our stay that sticks with me still is the staff. They made sure we were always happy. For example, one morning we overslept for breakfast. On our way out, we were given some small snacks and juice to take with us as we explored the city. There were numerous gestures and service similar with the latter that you simply do not receive now days. I sincerely wish the family all the best success with the hotel because they deserve it. Do yourself a favor, too, and book this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexander O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Yard Suite Hotel. It is a great deal! Very nice and friendly people. You get more what you expect. Huge big nice, awesome breakfast, they taking care of your own personal wishes!! it is like you are with a nice familiy, they want you feel perfect while you staying there. The rooms are graet, very individual rooms. We had the "fishing room" very nice, we slept perfect (they have very good matress high quality) not like in some other hotels! Bathroom very big, high standard. Allover it was a very nice and relaxed stay! We will come again and we wish many more satisfied guests. Frank Bauer and Karin Neulinger from Munich/Germany

Room Tip: As far as I saw the rooms, you can take every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

lovely place in Milan. Ralph suite furnished with taste and elegance, looks very expensive furniture, it is not, but very well done, care is taken of every detail.
Jus like a home and friendly (family?) staff. Its great special Hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falconi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#8 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Hotel

Property: The Yard Hotel
Address: Piazza Ventiquattro Maggio 8, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it happens with all the most fascinating adventures, that of The Yard begins by lucky coincidence. Looking for a place where to live with its family, its owner instead found a vocation. Mixing the enthusiasm for a new challenge with the experience achieved during his many travels around the world, he built a small and comfortable guest house out of thin air. Spontaneously, this initial project became something more, and in a few years The Yard turned into a prestigious boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing