We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Jap in Milan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of J'S Hiro

J'S Hiro
Ranked #1,577 of 8,030 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Jap in Milan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hiro is the best Japanese restaurant in Milan. Excellent dishes, changing menu according to season which offers lovers of japanese food new recipes (like in a real japanese home) and not only the usual selection of even the best known restaurants.

HIro herself is just wonderful, cosy comfortable atmosphere at a very fair price for the quality!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank zacky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    152
    42
    30
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just the best japanese restaurant in Milan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Amazing place. It's the place go I you want to taste authentic Japanese experience. Cosy, clean and extremely kind waiters. Just wonderful!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Biancalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Australians eating Japanese in Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Some context and background to this review will help.
My family has an Italian background (that makes us fussy/critical eaters, we live in Australia (that gives us access to a lot of Japanese eateries of all qualities) and I have lived in Japan for many years (that allowed me know and understand what real Japanese food should taste like) so we know and enjoy our Japanese food.
We pulled up there to wait for our apartment to be opened and had lunch in the meantime.
We were pleasantly surprised at the authenticity of the dishes.
They have not Italianised their dishes in any way and have kept true to the fresh, Japanese origins.
We haven't eaten Japanese in any other spot in Milano and I can't imagine I would bother after having tried this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MarinoInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“true japanese cuisine in Milan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Definitely different fro the average Japanese restaurants in Milan. Excellent food excellent sushi and fantastic (mother recipe!) deep fried (tempura) and original desserts (perhaps a little too fusion) - been there a number of times and never lets me down. Bargain menu at lunch time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Ate lunch at this restaurant and enjoyed high quality sushi in just the Bento box offerings. Service was attentive and prompt with assistance in English. Great ginger sesame dressing on the salad. Prices weren't too bad for lunch. Would go again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mercurius_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J'S Hiro also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to J'S Hiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing