We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel not far from the center”
Review of Uptown Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Uptown Palace
Ranked #58 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I've been in Milan for two day with my wife. The hotel placed not far from Piazza Duomo, 10 minutes by foot and has very nice design and clean rooms. Breakfast was nice but waiters are not fast. If some one ask we how can I describe this hotel I will say "best value for money".

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An2nio_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uptownpalace, Operation Manager at Uptown Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our room and services. Our goal from the recent opening has always been to provide the best service in a reasonable balance of money and service provided.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

My warmest regards

Alfredo Petrone
Operation Manager
Uptown Palace Milan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

even i loved the general decor and high end feeling, found little value due to small size room ,ultra expensive internet conection (only 30mins by room free at the lobby) and very expensive rate
i liked my daily walk to duomo area (15 min) and an unbelievable good pastry shop on the way(more than a hundred years old)
down town parking is 2 mins walk and they provide ZTL pass
we were at a very cool days and also feel some low temperatures at my room
staff just willing to provide minimum service level in order to not be unpolite
finally less than expected

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltraveledA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uptownpalace, Operation Manager at Uptown Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your feedback, it is crucial for us in order to improve the level of our service.
What is most important for me is the quality of the service provided and we sincerely apologize if this time our staff was not able to meet your expectations , going beyond the fact of ansewring only not to be unpolite .
Regarding our rates, and the size of the room unfortunately during the Salone Del Mobile due to a high demand period we decided to raise prices and align them with the market prices .
Since our opening we have been focused on delivering the best customer service possible .
We appreciate your constructive comments as it is through comments such as yours that we can gauge our services and facilities in order to make the necessary improvements. We truly hope that these inconveniences did not completely spoil your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

My warmest regards

Alfredo Petrone
Operation Manager
Uptown Palace Milan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel over the Easter period (3 nights), it was part of a British Airways package, within 10 minutes walking distance of the Duomo, great location, staff could not have been more helpful for information, room was immaculate and obviously all new, room service was also fabulous.
I was very grateful when i had to go to the hospital and the night desk staff phoned ahead to make sure there was somebody at the A&E who spoke english and also sent the doorman with me to make sure i was ok, hows that for service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinalLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uptownpalace, Operation Manager at Uptown Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice review.
I am very happy that our staff was able to assist you during the inconvenience occurred to your eyes . We hope that your eyes are fine now and look forward to welcome you again at the Uptown Palace.

Warmest regards

Alfredo Petrone
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I was in Milan with my daughter from 14-17 April 2012. It was our first visit and we chose this hotel based on other reviews and because it is said to be close to the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele. True enough it is just a 10 minutes' walk from the hotel (depends on your walking speed). There is no necessity to take the tram. We find the room satisfactory and we liked the bathroom. Most of all we find the staff friendly. The receptionist was kind enough to supply us with a map and show us how to get to the Duomo area. Gilberto the doorman spent time telling me about Milan and its attractions. I am grateful to him for his tips. The staff at the coffee house where we had our daily breakfast were nice and courteous. We find the breakfast satisfactory. When my daughter told them that the milk didn't taste good, they responded immediately and apologised. We like the hotel. The location is great. It's a stone's throw to the Carrefour Express where we bought our daily supply of mineral water. There is a small halal eatery run by Pakistanis where we satisfied our daily craving for rice, our staple food. This eatery is situated opposite Hotel Lloyd on Via Porta Romana which is the main road that leads from our hotel to the Duomo area. There is also a small shop along the same row as the hotel on your way to Via Porta Romana that sells fresh fruits which we had with loads of yogurt. I also found a small outlet selling gloves near the junction of Via Santa Sofia and Via Porta Romana. For visitors from overseas, if you want to buy local sim card for your mobile phone, the TIM shop is walking distance from the hotel. The receptionist will tell you the location if you ask. Wifi is free at the lobby area but you need to pay for wifi in the room. We would recommend this hotel to visitors to Milan. The only drawback is that there is no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. It is true that the wardrobe is small. But it was not really important since we were not in Milan for a long period.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uptownpalace, Operation Manager at Uptown Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind note.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Uptown Palace and are satisfied with our services.
Your words regarding our staff are the best compliments for us and rest assured that with joy I will pass on your compliments to my team .
Your review has fully reached the real purpose of this web site without limiting to express a vote good or bad exclusively on the visited property.
It is a great pleasure to have such wonderful guests like you and we are already looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon!

My best regards

Alfredo Petrone
Operation Manager
Uptown Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Although it was satisfying, clean and beautiful, after we left we were very dissapointed by the fact that the hotel employees were very uncooperative and refused to help us regarding our forgotten belongings in one of their rooms, during our stay.
Unacceptable lack of services for a 4 star hotel. I hope the hotel manager will get in touch with us soon, and resolve this.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank natalia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uptownpalace, Operation Manager at Uptown Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Dear Mrs Natalia,
as per my previous mail , the lost item was not found in your room, but we are still investigating on this issue. If we had received your claim not few days after your departure it would have been more helpful . I hope to be able to get back to you shortly with good news.

Best regards

Alfredo Petrone
Operation Manager
Uptown Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spent 5 nights at the Uptown while visiting the Saloni exhibition. Because of the demand for rooms during this time, the prices are extortionate but the hotel was very good. The hotel is new or newly renovated and the decor is superb. Rooms have all the amenities but small cupboard space. We were unable to empty our suitcases into the cupboards as there was not enough space. Staff were very friendly and helpful and all spoke english. The hotel is about 100m away from a Metro station which is just 2 stops away from Il Duomo and the red line which feeds directly to the Rho Fieramilano showgrounds. We will most certainly consider this hotel when staying in Milan again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Visited Milan for Design Week and spent our enitre days looking at the latest and best furnitures and interiors, The Uptown Palace still did not disappoint: nice modern design, large bathroom (in the superior room) with top outfit and a quality breakfast.

It's a 5 minute walk to the Duomo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_A_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 431 in Milan
1,931 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#105 of 431 in Milan
1,510 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Milano
#29 of 431 in Milan
2,045 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#36 of 431 in Milan
1,386 reviews
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uptown Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uptown Palace

Address: Via Santa Sofia 10, 20122 Milan, Italy (Formerly Uptown Palace MGallery Collection)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Milan
#44 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#51 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $157 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Uptown Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uptown Palace is a 4-star superior business hotel in Milan. It is modern and elegant and situated a short walk from the Missori metro stop (yellow line), from Piazza Duomo and from Milan's famous shopping streets. The carefully chosen and highly qualified multilingual staff guarantee high levels of service and care for every guest. The Uptown Palace has 165 fully soundproofed rooms. Floors in the rooms are parquet or carpet while those in the public areas are marble. Each room has LCD televisions and en suite bathrooms with shower or bathtub, together with fluffy robes, slippers, hairdryers and a stylish selection of toiletries. The Presidential Suite and four of the Executive suites have an atmospheric view of the Duomo and of the rooftops of busy Milan. Uptown Palace offers its guests a destination par excellence where every dream can come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Uptown Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Palace Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing