We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monopole de la Gare
Nearby Hotels
$226
$211
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$140
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$322
$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
nhow Milano(Milan)
$147
$137
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Berna(Milan)
$120
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Yard Hotel(Milan)
$267
$213
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$713
$239
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chateau Monfort(Milan)
$221
$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$323
$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
25
91
105
50
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
91
105
50
59
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 330 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Other than it being extremely close to the train station, everything about this stay was awful. The hotel isn't in a very nice part of town, and as two girls traveling together we didn't feel very comfortable.

When we first got here they put us into a dirty room. Beds unmade, towels on the bathroom floor. When we nicely complained, all the woman had to say was "oh, sorry" and gave us a new room. Then, when taking a shower, the entire bathroom flooded. Water doesn't drain properly and soaked everything in sight including seeping out the door and onto the carpet. Not to mention that we were only in the shower for approx. 5 minutes before it flooded. Once again, politely complained and all they did was send some guy up to towel the floor. thats it. Honestly? we should have been upgraded for no extra charge. but nothing. The rooms look nothing like the pictures, no nice wooden furniture and chairs, but dirty 1960's style chairs and wooden/plastic type furniture. extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: just...dont stay here
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laddymischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Hight lights on the Monopole in Milan
Rooms were like new - nice size (not tissues - take you own) - very clean
Free internet in the room
Had to walk up a significant number of stairs to get to room - or take a very small elevator - but it really was not a problem
Close to the Train station (We took a train to the Lake Como area - beautiful lakes and mountains) just spent the day but it was very nice and lots of fun - (about a 1 hour trip)
We used the tram - subway - hop on and hop off bus - and walked a lot - all were easy to do
Free breakfast - not huge, but plenty of food
I would stay here again.
Milan tips:
We saw the original Last Supper by Leonardo da Vinci = worth seeing, but you have to make reservations months in advance - it is painted on what to be a dining room in a convert
Going to the roof of the Cathedral was something I really enjoyed! We stayed up there for an hour just looking at the city and you are up close to all of the details of the spires of the Cathedral - very interesting.
Restaurant - the one that stands out in my mind is Le Chalet - food is Italian (not French!).. It is a very short walk from the hotel - we like it so much we ate there twice.
Also good was 'Friends' Just a few doors from the hotel. Great Italian food - huge selection and everyone in there was Italian - no tourist for lunch anyway -

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Hotel Monopole in Milan is in a great location around the corner from the Central Train Station. It is easy to find, priced very well, has a wonderful breakfast buffett which is included in the cost of the room, and allows free WiFi in every room. From here, one can get anywhere in the city in a matter of minutes. The Metro is below the station so if you are staying in the city, all parts of it are easily accessable. If you are leaving for other parts of Italy or Europe, tickets can be purchased via kiosk or travel bureaus on site with trains going everywhere just a flight or two above you. Trams, buses, taxis are also avialable at the station as are shops, banks, ATM machines, and restaurants. By staying at the Hotel Monopole, all of Milan is close to you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRichards_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Staff was very helpful. You can choose between the newly refurbished ones or the cheaper older ones. We opted for the older ones. Very spatious rooms. Furniture was old but the bathroom was good. Very very clean. Location is excellent being just a couple of minutes walk from the main train station Milano Centrale. We had to leave before they would start serving breakfast so they offered to prepare a breakfast bag to go for us (juice, biscuits, croissant/muffin, fruit, jam and toasted bread) and they remembered I am coeliac and packed a gluten-free muffin in the breakfast bag. Thanks again! We'll definetely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PacalitaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It was really not a very pleasant experience.
Me and my friend chose the "economic" room which is like in a normal hostel. Not very clean, noisy and the staff wasn't very friendly either. The only "thing" that separated us from the other room was a door which couldn't be close entirely and therefore we understood everything our neighbours did. Also, we weren't allow to speak very loudly because our neighbours were sleeping on a Saturday night and they came to our door to tell us to shut up.

But worst of all was the hotel's location. Ok, it's close to the metro station but it's near the train station and we arrived at night and there were males and females hookers at every corner of the street. And group of "strange" and dangerous-looking people next to them. I was feeling like in a ghetto.
Me and my friend (2 females) were really scared to go out after a certain hour or even to check in our hotel when we arrived.
Also, there is a ENORMOUS difference between the "economic" rooms and the normal rooms. Anyway, this hotel does not deserve the 3 stars because an economic room in a 3star hotel doesn't look like this one.

I would never return here and I think the price is too high for what they can offer. I prefer to go to a B&B rather than here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreeaP257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews