We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monopole de la Gare
Ranked #361 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed August 12, 2013

we stayed 4 nights in the hotel in July and double room had dirty walls, ceiling, and bathroom with very dirty shower curtain.. After shower of 2 people, we have to dry floor with towels, because the base of shower was 15 cm high. Refurbishment supposed to start at 9am but workers started at 8am. Very bad area, didnt felt save at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt3ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Monopole de la Gare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 329 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Decent room for the money, very clean lovely staff . I would recommend this hotel good price for for the location :) the station is literally minutes away you can nearly see it because we have a young baby it was perfect for travelling we also got offered a cot free of charge.

Room Tip: I would recommend this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I selected this hotel from the reviews being not to bad but was very disappointed because it was terrible. We booked a superior room and it was disgusting dirty carpet and walls also very small. I went to the reception to ensure we were given a superior room and told the receptionist how disappointed I was with the room she gave me a room on the 7th floor which had a balcony slightly better. The breakfast was average. When we came back from sightseeing the room was so hot we turned the air conditioning up and nothing happened so my daughter called the reception to complain they told her they will turn it up so be warned they control the temperature in the rooms and do not like to use it to much. Overall a very bad experience and I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor at least you have a balcony which seems to add to the feeling of space
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary2091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We wanted a hotel close to Milan rail Station and not too far from the old Church where you can view the 'Last Supper' by Leonardo, so my husband thought this hotel was a goer. As far as being close to the station, yes it is an easy walk to the station from this hotel even with luggage on a reasonably hot day. The staff we encountered were helpful, but not helpful enough to give us help with taking our luggage up a flight of stairs to an unsecured luggage holding bay. They would not give us our room as there was still an hour and a half to check in time. We left our luggage but not a heavy bag containing our valuable that could not be left in an unsafe place which made the rest of the day less comfortable.
Our room while very clean, fresh clean linen which is important, was not in the best condition. It is in great need of major repairs, the shower was so small and had a flimsy shower curtain that meant the shower leaked water all over the floor as you showered. No where to put the soap or shampoo so you had to reach out to the shelf over the basin for those things.
The staff on the desk was very helpful with suggesting a good restaurant for a meal which turned out the be one of the best meals we have enjoyed since leaving home. Other than that we did not think it a great stay. Would we stay there again, possibly not, there are other hotels in the same area and they can't all be in such disrepair.

Room Tip: If you go to this hotel, make sure you take ear plugs, it can be noisy. Also expect the rooms to be...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

it was a night stay before departed to doha. overall the hotel is average for 3 stars hotel it is quite good, not as good as garda. the room is quite spacious and clean with 17 inches tube TV, its okay. the staff is very friendly, not as friendly as roberto from hotel garda. they were very helpful. however, i was very amazed with their brass keychain, one of its kind. the location of this hotel was very strategic about 2 minutes away from milan centrale.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazmyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel was very close to milan central e station which was best for us as we needed to leave early in the morning to catch our plane after just one night staying here. We unfortunately did not get in until 4.00 pm so had little time. We were hungry so we found somewhere locally to eat which we realised was a mistake.
There are metro stations all over the place and we went down to duomo (the closest 'attraction' on the map provided by the hotel) which can not of taken us more than 10 minutes to get to. It was well worth it to! At duomo there is a fantastic cathedral/church and plenty of bars, cafe bars and restaurants, an art gallery (which is well worth the €5 for over 25s) and the main shopping strip is just through the big archway where you will find Prada and all the other big fashion brands.
Sadly we missed breakfast in the morning but, it looked to have lots of cake and pastries on offer. I would stay here again. It was excellent value for money! And the man on the bar was extremely helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hpw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We chose this one as we had a quick train turnaround in Milan. We would not recommend because :
1. We stood at the front desk on arrival while the attendant carried on a very long phone conversation without even acknowledging us!
2. They were renovating on the floor above us - NOISY till 6pm, even thought the sign said it was going to be noisy till 5pm
3.We had NO water in the room on arrival
4. The room was very very old and poorly kept and you have to wonder at hotels that have gold shiny reflective ceilings above the bed!!!
5. Noise from the adjoining lanes etc woke us up very early.
6. Had to pay for an extra coffee in the morning with the breakfast.
7. Breakfast was average in total and it wouldnt hurt the attendant to smile once in a while.
8. You have to cart your luggage up and down a flight of stairs if you want to store it and NO_ONE offers to assist you.
9. Just a bad experience overall all
10. if this place has ANY STARS, THEY SHOULD BE STRIPPED OF THEM.

Room Tip: Choose again
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llewelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
43 Station Hotel
43 Station Hotel
#149 of 426 in Milan
84 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel Madison
Stazione Centrale
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#269 of 426 in Milan
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Cityhotel Central Station
Cityhotel Central Station
#379 of 426 in Milan
72 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ada
Ada
#243 of 426 in Milan
37 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Demo
Hotel Demo
#312 of 426 in Milan
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopole de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopole de la Gare

Address: Via Fabio Filzi 43, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $73 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monopole de la Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monopole in Milano is a transit place, few steps away from central station, the most important crossroad in town. People lodge in our place for short or long stays creating a mix of different energies. There are two typologies of rooms, in order to accomplish different tastes and needs: the economy rooms and the superior rooms. All rooms have private facilities, air conditioning, safety box, tvsat and direct dialing telephone. Superior rooms havefree wi-fi and lan connection in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Monopole de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopole De La Gare Hotel Milan
Monopole De La Gare Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing