We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and so close to the station!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monopole de la Gare
Ranked #360 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money and so close to the station!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel was very close to milan central e station which was best for us as we needed to leave early in the morning to catch our plane after just one night staying here. We unfortunately did not get in until 4.00 pm so had little time. We were hungry so we found somewhere locally to eat which we realised was a mistake.
There are metro stations all over the place and we went down to duomo (the closest 'attraction' on the map provided by the hotel) which can not of taken us more than 10 minutes to get to. It was well worth it to! At duomo there is a fantastic cathedral/church and plenty of bars, cafe bars and restaurants, an art gallery (which is well worth the €5 for over 25s) and the main shopping strip is just through the big archway where you will find Prada and all the other big fashion brands.
Sadly we missed breakfast in the morning but, it looked to have lots of cake and pastries on offer. I would stay here again. It was excellent value for money! And the man on the bar was extremely helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hpw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    91
    103
    50
    59
See reviews for
39
94
44
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murwillumbah NSW
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We chose this one as we had a quick train turnaround in Milan. We would not recommend because :
1. We stood at the front desk on arrival while the attendant carried on a very long phone conversation without even acknowledging us!
2. They were renovating on the floor above us - NOISY till 6pm, even thought the sign said it was going to be noisy till 5pm
3.We had NO water in the room on arrival
4. The room was very very old and poorly kept and you have to wonder at hotels that have gold shiny reflective ceilings above the bed!!!
5. Noise from the adjoining lanes etc woke us up very early.
6. Had to pay for an extra coffee in the morning with the breakfast.
7. Breakfast was average in total and it wouldnt hurt the attendant to smile once in a while.
8. You have to cart your luggage up and down a flight of stairs if you want to store it and NO_ONE offers to assist you.
9. Just a bad experience overall all
10. if this place has ANY STARS, THEY SHOULD BE STRIPPED OF THEM.

Room Tip: Choose again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llewelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

rome
Level Contributor
334 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I've been here some years ago, and remembering a good experience I decided to come back. I booked a superior room, like the first time, but apart from the kindness of the staff and the location (near the central station) I didn't like my stay there, and here is why. 1. The A/C was broken, i was in a hurry so I didn't ask to change my room, but this should not have happened. 2. The building zone where the superior rooms are is divided from the other zone by the breakfast room, located at the first floor, and you have to climb the stairs to reach the lift (not comfortable with heavy luggage). 3. The key card didn't work properly so I had to come back to the reception desk to reconfigurate it. 4. The room was fine, the bathroom also, but the furniture was old and ruined (i.e. the toilet had tape on it to fix a break, the door bathroom had a scrap). I usually don't mention these details but if I pay 85 euros for a night in a superior room I expect it to be more than good. 5. The breakfast had bread, jams, boiled eggs, a kind of cheese, mortadella slices, 2 kind of cakes and beverages, but at 8.30 when I went to have breakfast the cakes were finished, the fresh fruit also, and I'd like to have a little bit more choice both on sweet and savoury items. The breakfast card that the staff gives to you, has the opportunity of having 1 coffee or tea or cappuccino, for the second one you have to pay, incredible!!! 6. They gave to me the wifi connection user id and password, but it didn't work at all!!! 7. When i left my luggage for some hours the day I left, I had to bring it by myself in the storage (more stairs..). So that's why I will definitely not come back to this hotel, sad but true.

Room Tip: If you decide anyway to stay at this hotel, be sure to have a superior room and not a normal one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romangirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A very good hotel, especially if you fly from Bergamo airport. The staff was very kind and helpful. Room was very clean and bed was very comfortable (for a 3-star hotel). On the downside, building is old with thin walls, so if you are not a heavy sleeper, you might have some trouble with noise from the train station. Great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiossesd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't recommend staying in Monopole,apart of location(aldough area is dangerous),hotel shouldn't be rated 3 stars,our room after renovation stunk terribly,view on the garages.
There is good transport link in the city,better stay away from central location and for this money find nicer hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night during our trip through Italy. It's a very nice 3* hotel with everything you need. The reception staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. Less than 5 min walk from the Milan central station and subway systems. The breakfast is basic but good. One drawback is that there was no shelf in the bathroom so everything had to stand on the floor...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EDR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were looking for a hostel in Milan and were surprised when this seemed to be a regular hotel with perhaps some "hostel-priced" rooms. We were not looking for a hostel atmosphere so this was fine. The room was spacious and clean enough, though the shower was small and the bathroom had a fairly bad smell but this wouldn't prevent me from going back again. We were very close to the train station (which is a short 3 subway stop ride to the Duomo), the only issue was there were not good directions to the hotel listed on the website and we had trouble finding it. It is in an obvious location though, once you go in the right direction.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
43 Station Hotel
43 Station Hotel
#180 of 428 in Milan
42 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel Madison
Stazione Centrale
NYX Milan
NYX Milan
#105 of 428 in Milan
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#265 of 428 in Milan
196 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Cityhotel Central Station
Cityhotel Central Station
#380 of 428 in Milan
70 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ada
Ada
#234 of 428 in Milan
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopole de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopole de la Gare

Property: Monopole de la Gare
Address: Via Fabio Filzi 43, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monopole de la Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monopole in Milano is a transit place, few steps away from central station, the most important crossroad in town. People lodge in our place for short or long stays creating a mix of different energies. There are two typologies of rooms, in order to accomplish different tastes and needs: the economy rooms and the superior rooms. All rooms have private facilities, air conditioning, safety box, tvsat and direct dialing telephone. Superior rooms havefree wi-fi and lan connection in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monopole de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopole De La Gare Hotel Milan
Monopole De La Gare Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing