We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, but low value for money”
Review of Hotel Fenice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fenice
Ranked #139 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The hotel is located a few steps from the Venezia metro station, which is 2-3 stops from the major sightseeing places. The room was a bit old, had an old wooden floor, old furniture, but the shower was renovated (no tub). The hotel's breakfast is nice, although there were no vegetables, and it would be great to have eggs other than boiled. There is no coffee/tea maker in the breakfast buffer, instead it was served upon request by the waiters, which conducted a very good service.

We did have one misunderstanding - since there was no coffee/tea maker in our room, we asked to take one tea cup back to our room after breakfast, and only upon check-out we discovered they charged us 5 euros for it.

The hotel does not provide free wireless access in the room or public area, but they do provide 15 minutes of free wireless in the room, and after that period it costs 3 euros for 2 hours, which satisfied our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdoFlatow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 465 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

Nice clean hotel with spacious enough rooms and located at the entrance of a metro station. The staff were nice enough and the rooms were fine. The bathroom is a little small, the shower a little tight and the mirror unusually a little high? The toiletries offered were only one combination shampoo/body wash and the blow dryer in the very light hose type.keep this in mind when you're packing, I usually carry my own supply but it is nice when you can take advantage of the hotels offerings. The breakfast buffet offered a nice selection of pastries, cereal,cheese and meats . As usual the fruit is limited in Europe, but they did have apples and oranges every day. They also offered a choice of juices. The nicest thing is that the Pt Venezia train station is at your front door, this will take you anywhere you need to be in Milan
The street you are on Corso Buenos Aires is very good for shopping but I didn't come across any restaurants, we did have to walk 10-15 minutes to get to areas that offered a selection of dinner spots. Both the duomo and Brera were nice places . I would recommend the hotel good for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasto5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This hotel has a good location. In front you got the metro and close to the hotel there are several restaurants and shopping possibilities. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was average in size but clean. The breakfast had a lot to bring those that like sweet thing but had little that gives your stomack something to work on. All in all the hotel can be recommended when staying in Milano.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ors99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

To be honest, I'm pleased we got a very good deal on price. I would have been a little upset if paid full rates. There's nothing to fault the place, just doesn't greatly impress. I normally laugh when poeple moan on here about front desk service and think you're only there for 1 minute, who cares. On this occasion however, we were a little disappointed. We had booked a twin room, the room we were given was a double. I had sent an email the week earlier confirming the type of room we required, which was confirmed. Granted the hotel was busy and we were told the room could not be changed. There was however no real applogy or sense we had been let down. Hotel very very clean, good location, half way between centre and train station. Overall good for a night or two, if you get a good rate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Milan. The hotel was well located and the subway system right at your door was excellent. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellight4489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I visited Milan with my family to celebrate my birthday during this November. Stayed at Hotel Fenice for 4 nights. Excellent location. Easy access to Metro, Tram and other modes of transport. Delicious buffet breakfast. Good housekeeping. Excellent customer service. The staff at the reception were the most polite and helpful staff that I have met in recent times. Rooms were spacious and clean (we stayed in a Double Classic room). Great location to shop. We will stay here every time we visit Milan.

Room Tip: Double Classic room is spacious enough for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Fenice Milan in October 2011 for 2 nights.

While the room was a little small, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the location is fantastic, and the room was clean and modern!

A decent walk from the main train station for us as we had a lot of luggage with us, so I suggest catching a taxi which should cost anymore than 10-15 Euro.

The hotel is on a nice busy street full of shops and bars, and is an easy walk to the main square, shops and Duomo cathedral!

Breakfast was ok, and the WIFI connection was fine.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Milan!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asweeney15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
EuroHotel
EuroHotel
#122 of 431 in Milan
766 reviews
Citta Studi
Mercure Milano Centro
Mercure Milano Centro
#103 of 431 in Milan
688 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#20 of 431 in Milan
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Plus Hotel Felice Casati
Citta Studi
Best Western Hotel City
Best Western Hotel City
#106 of 431 in Milan
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fenice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fenice

Address: Corso Buenos Aires 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Citta Studi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $113 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fenice 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fenice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenice Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing