We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Galles
Ranked #49 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for a short stay”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I say "excellent for a short stay" because the rooms are smaller than we have experienced in other 4 star hotels in Italy. But to be expected in a big city. I would not want to be in them for more than a few nights. Air conditioning works really well.

The staff I find very helpful and friendly. The restaurant has excellent food but a but lacks atmosphere.

The location is also excellent with 15 min walk from train station. A metro stop right outside the front door. If you are into shopping it is also in a good part of town.

Only one minor flaw which nothing can be done about. The noise, can hear the metro trains go under and trams go by. The outside street can be noisy, even on the 4th floor.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 572JosephS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Joseph,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very pleased to know that you did enjoy your short stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles. Hotel Galles resides in a 19th century palace, completely renovated to bring you all the comfort and elegance of the modern age. Rooms vary according to size, color and style, depending on the room type reserved, being classic, superior or suite. If you wish to have a larger room and on higher floors, please do not hesitate to contact us on your next visit and we will do our best to meet your request. Kind Regards, Andrea Vedovotto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    944
    246
    71
    42
See reviews for
507
678
85
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel was recommended by our neighbours. While the location is good, the rooms are poorly laid out, bathroom (especially shower space) too small, room service limited, no milk provided with tea and coffee making facilities, minibar not restocked in the 3 days of our stay and suspect hadn't been properly stocked before we checked in.

Self service laundry handy but 50% not working one day and 100% not working the next. Pool, etc. facilities nice, though compact as you'd expect in city living.

Don't think they understand the meaning of Happy Hour; no free or discounted drinks, just the same expensive ones during the 2 hours of Happy Hour.

Some staff OK, others defensive and unhelpful.

Asked for a quiet room location and had booked and paid about 5 months ahead. Allocated a room on a low floor in the middle of the corridor where room attendants and/or repairs (drilling, hammering, nail gun) occurred from @9am-5:30pm every day. Understand the need to do maintenance in off season but that was relentless. And do cleaners really need to be banging about one floor the whole day? (Yes, we did get out sight seeing but nipped back to hotel for rests in between; did a heap of walking. Also used to work in hospitality so understand good cleaning schedules and poorly planned ones.) People talking at normal volume in corridor at midnight and slamming bedroom doors.

On the upside, there's a metro right outside the door, along with ample shopping (high street prices) and food. It's also close to Central Station. Cost us about €10 to the hotel, but taxi driver didn't return our change in full. He also quoted a couple, who enquired as we vacated the taxi, €20 to take them to the station. Dodgy, ripping off tourists by charging double. Can't stand that. It's only 2 stops on the metro so if you're happy to lug your suitcases then it's the cheapest option.

Overall, will not stay there again and would not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't bother; unlikely to get what you request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraysAtLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
I do thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles. However I am very disappointed to know that we did not entirely meet your expectations. We wish every stay at our Hotel can be memorable for guests like yourself who travel miles to visit Milan. We do understand that every single glitch if not properly handled can lead to dissatisfaction and we do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. Regarding our free self-service laundry, we do apologize for the machines, as unfortunately 2 machines stopped working just before your arrival on December 17th 2013 and they have been replaced on December 19th 2013, the day before your departure. In Italy Happy Hour is an aperitif usually lasting 2/3 hours with a buffet finger food and a free drink given at a certain price that vary from place to place. However everywhere the price for any extra drink is at the usual price list. As per your request we have given to you a quite internal room on the second floor. During the time of your stay, maintenance has been carried out only one day on December 19th 2013 on the first floor. We do apologize for it. We do try very hard to limited any maintenance but there are no really low or high season in Milan as the market attracts leisure or business travelers every single day of the year. The hotel is very well located right next to the metro and to Corso Buenos Aires, one of the main shopping street in Italy. Here you can find many shops for all sort of budgets. Regarding the inconvenience you had with the taxi driver, I am very sorry for that kind of people as they do overshadow the good Italian people who work honestly. I really do wish you may reconsider to stay with us again, as I am sure we will be able to provide you with unforgettable memories. Kindest regards, Andrea Vedovotto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Overall this hotel is great.The rooms are beautifully furnished and very clean.The location of the hotel is very central for visiting anywhere in the city.The breakfast had great variety and the staff behind the bar were pleasant and helpful.
The only downside to the hotel was the lady on reception.On check in she told us that our room was unavailable but would be ready from 2pm.We returned at this time for her to tell us that it was still unavailable and that we would have to wait while she tried to find another room.On check out she attempted to charge us for 25 euros of drinks from the minibar which we had not used.On both of these occasions she was incredibly rude and made no apology for the mistakes.This was a real shame as she is giving a bad impression to otherwise very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent stay at the Hotel Galles Milan. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel’s location. We often receive very good praise on our Reception personnel regarding their kindness and helpfulness and I am really sorry to read such feedback from you. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience. Additionally if you will be so kind to provide me with little more details on your stay and contacting me directly at generalmanager@galles.it, I will be able to personally investigate on this matter further. Looking forward to your email and next visit to Milan. Kind Regards, Andrea Vedovotto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

2A+2Teens stayed overnight on 19Nov in room 146.
Chk in was brisk with little or no service from front desk. Very standoffish attitude. Restaurant was the same. We were informed by the front desk that the restaurant closed @ 2:30pm but we arrived @ 2:20pm & was turned away.
Very nice suite that comes with a price tag. Plenty of room for 4 with very extensive closet room & bathroom space. 2 single beds (2 Sofabeds convertible) + a KS bed in a another room separated by a sliding partition. Free wifi & desk top iPad helps with entertainment as TV programs were in Italian. There were enough toiletries for 4 but the shower area tends to flood if you use the rain shower. The pressure in the hand shower works fine for us. Safe was embedded in the walls of the closet. Nice touch.
One of my teens was disturbed by the subway sounds & had trouble sleeping as the hotel was directly above the Lima Metro. The rumbling sound stopped @ midnight & started again @ 6am. But I slept like a log. Chk out was a breeze. Arranged a pickup to MXP airport in the morning that arrived like clockwork. Efficient hotel. Not much warmth though. I would probably try another place next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Langetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hotel Galles. By letting us know what you did enjoy and what we could have done better, it help us improving the experience we deliver to you and other guests. We do our best to enhance warmth, great Italian hospitality and welcoming feeling as we do understand the importance that a nice and friendly smile can make when guests check-in at the Hotel. We often receive high praise on our welcoming hospitality and we are sorry to hear that we did not entirely meet your and your family expectations. Each room is equipped with over 50 international free channels and over 12 Sky channels in Italian & English including Fox and Sky Cinema for a perfect and relaxing entertainment time with your family in the comfort of your own room. Despite the glitch, I hope you and your family did enjoy your stay at Hotel Galles and it will not deter you from staying here again should you find yourself visiting Milan, as we are sure we will be able to deliver that great Italian hospitality that we are well known for. Best Regards, Arnaldo Sbarretti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

You can hear the subway noise coming from the ground. The window was broken and room card key does not work every time you need it.
The room is tiny as grave.
The stuff is pretty welcome that's why I put 2 stars...

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank poleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We are terribly sorry to read your recent experience at the Hotel Galles. Rooms are sound proofed and vary in size, style and color. Our Housekeeping Department control rigorously each room in order to have everything in a working status. Unfortunately we did not have recent feedback regarding room’s broken widow or key card issues . If you wish to contact me directly with more details on your recent stay I will be personally be able to investigate on this matter further and understand better what had happened in order to improve our guests’ experience. We are very eager to meet our guests’ expectation and we would have been more than happy to meet yours and find a suitable room that would have meet your taste and expectations. In the hope of having your kind reply, I remain at your full disposal for any further assistance. Best Regards, Arnaldo Sbarretti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have just stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. This was my third visit to Milan and so far this was the best hotel. Rooms are perfect with big bathroom and sky on tv. The room are always cleaned perfectly. Breakfast is above standard especially for a hotel in Italy. One can eat an English breakfast or else some local crossiants with nutella!!!! After a days of shopping, the hotel SPA was the best way to relax..... Decent indoor pool with jacuzzi, sauna, steam bath, massage showers, gym, and one can have free tea. Hotel supplies with towels and robes for the SPA.

The biggest plus in this hotel was the reception staff. They booked a different restaurant every night, gave me information for trains, and even bought football tickets on my behalf. Well done to Marco, Francesco, and their teams.

Highly recommended for a visit in Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a higher level due to the rumbling of the Metro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidmizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are absolutely delighted to read such a wonderful review. On behalf of the entire team at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, I do thank you for choosing our Hotel and I will look forward to your next trip to Milan. Kind Regards, Arnaldo Sbarretti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My friend and I stayed 3 days in the hotel. I definitely would recommend in to a friend because of the good location, cleanliness of the room, friendly staff and good breakfast. There is only one restaurant next to the hotel called Sabatini. Even though it was very good, it would have been convenient for the guests who stay longer to have a better option of places to where they could have their lunch and dinner. I was not able to use my IPad as the Internet connection was very slow. But there weere computers on the ground floor next to the reception. Overall, we had a very good experience for the money we paid.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SvetlanaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for you valuable feedback. We are very pleased to reading your review. The Hotel is located in one of the main shopping street in Milan, Corso Buenos Aires. The Hotel is surrounded by exclusive shops as well as many cafes and restaurants. Additionally if guests wish to taste a true hint of Italian cuisine they may enjoyed the fine-dining cuisine of our Chef Moreno at our restaurant La Terrazza, located on the 6th floor. Exclusivity in location and excellency of ingredients will make it a truly unforgettable culinary experience. In the hope of welcoming you and your friend again, we send our Kind Regards, Arnaldo Sbarretti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 427 in Milan
1,819 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#78 of 427 in Milan
2,610 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 427 in Milan
6,546 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#38 of 427 in Milan
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Galles

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Galles
Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Milan
#17 Spa Hotel in Milan
#41 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#46 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#51 Family Hotel in Milan
#56 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles is located in Corso Buenos Aires, one of the most important and lively shopping street of Milan, just in front of the Metro Lima and only 10 minutes walking from Central Station. Situated in an elegant fully restored eighteenth-century building, the hotel has 200 rooms among classic, superior, suite and family, each one individually designed with its own particular style, elegance and unique personality to make your stay as comfortable as ever before. The hotel is perfect for business and leisure guests, thanks to its many facilities offered: enjoy a rich buffet breakfast with a wonderful view over Milan, in our restaurant "La Terrazza," to start a brand new day in the most perfect way or enjoy a full relaxing day in our Fitness Centre & SPA with indoor swimming pool, sauna, Turkish bath and massage centre. Furthermore, there are free Wi-Fi and Sky in all rooms and common areas and a useful Internet Point and iPad Corner located in the Lobby. On sunny days, you can enjoy a drink of our American Bar in the garden or relax on our roof-top terraces, perfect for sunbathing or for an aperitif with your friends. Upon request and at extra charge, garage, meeting centre, bike rental and special rooms for pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing