We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, But GREAT Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles
Ranked #51 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, But GREAT Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just spent 4 days at Hotel Galles when we were in Milan for a meeting. The meeting was held at MiCo (Milan Convention Center), which was completely across town from the hotel. The hotel is rated 4 star, but it is really just a 3 star in the States. The rooms are small but clean. You do get free WiFi and breakfast. The breakfast is nothing special at all. What makes this a very nice hotel is the subway station is right at the front door! To get to the MiCo, all we had to do is walk outside of the hotel and immediately go down to the subway. Then a straight 30 minute train ride and you are there. Every hotel is expensive, and the Galles is no exception. But Milan is expensive. We would stay there again just because of the fantastic convenience to the subway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyedoc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review BW Hotel Galles and for choosing us to stay for your business trip.
We have stringent cleaning measures in place in order to ensure that the highest hygiene standards are maintained at all times and we appreciate that you did find the room clean.
Breakfast is usually appreciated by our guests, offering a variety of savory, sweets and healthy choices and we are sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectation. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities, including access to Fitness Centre & SPA, iPad Corner, Internet point and many more, contributing to the star rate.
We are glad that you like the location as it allows easy access in & around the city.
We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    886
    232
    69
    40
See reviews for
470
635
78
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you ar ein Milan for shopping or for business, this is a great hotel. It is not very expensive, the location is great, very nice breakfast.. Hotel team is helpfull. Try to reserve rooms above 3rd floor, if you have serious sleeping problems. As this is just on the busy street and above the Lima Metro station, it can be a bit noisy.
Some of the rooms have very small bathroom. Small, but convenient... :)

Room Tip: Mre quiet on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PelinUlger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

best hotel I stayed in Milan, right in the center with a walking distance to almost everything, a lot of food options around with a decent room and service. Much recommended out of all the hotels I stayed in Milan

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_Hashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are very delighted to hear your positive feedback and hope to welcoming you again to Milan.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and was disappointed with the service particularly staff at reception. Only one person could speak English at reception desk and was not helpful at all. His mannerisms was appalling and disgraceful. When asked about the best transport to the airport he just listed ways and didn't provide useful information.

The most frustrating part of our stay here was when we were woken up at half seven in the morning by a member of staff to drop in toilet roll that we didn't request and had arranged with the hotel a late check out. We couldn't get back to sleep because of the staff making noise cleaning the hallway.

Overall its ok location and clean rooms but too expensive for what it offers. Would not recommend

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank griffin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay with us. All of our Front Desk staff speak English and wish you had mentioned the problems both in the location of your accommodations, and in the quality of service you received prior to your departure, to give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves. Please be sure that we will follow up with the staff members involved, in Housekeeping, the Front Desk, and the Service staff, to ensure that this does not happen again. Kindly contact me directly at direzione@galles.it so that I can review in details this situation and get back to you. We hope you will accept our apologies. We truly value your opinion and look forward to winning you back for the future.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is basic and functional. Our room was tiny! Had booked it through an agent and noticed that the rooms we booked ourselves in other cities had better rooms. Our room was in the annexe so make sure yours isn't. The bathroom was insanely small. Once in the shower you can't move much or at all. If your soap falls to the ground picking it up is a riddle. Out of the shower you are almost in the john. Otherwise it was sufficiently clean. Only place the hotel wins is the location which is on the street with lots of budget shopping stores and a popular gelateria 'Grom'. Further down that road was the more upmarket high street, name of which I forget. Reception service was friendly. But next time around another hotel for sure. I'm sure there were better rooms but overall it just wasn't very comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the Annexe. And ask them the size of the bathroom and try to compare with ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank himalayanodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Galles. We are very sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations, each hotel room is individually styled allowing guests to relax in total comfort. However we are really happy to know that service, hotel’s location and cleanness were positive.
We really do hope to host you again and improve your first impression.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during a recent trip to Italy. The check in staff were friendly and efficent and gave us loads of information on where to go and what to see. The hotel is right beside a subway stop (Lima) which makes it the perfect spot from which to explore Milan. The room was clean as was the en suite and the only minor complaint i would have is with the sound proofing. We could hear other guests in the surrounding rooms but nothing a pair of ear plugs wouldn't sort out. Breakfast was varied vast and tasty. My traveling companion celebrated a birthday while we stayed here and the staff had left a card and small gift in the room which i thought was a lovely touch as they had only realised the birthday when photocopying the passports. Overall worth a look in if you are considering visiting Milan and want to stay in the heart of the city with excellent transport connections on your doorstep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donegalboy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a delightful review of your recent stay with us. I was really happy to read your feedback about your experiences in the hotel and how happy you were with the service and surroundings that we provide.
I really do hope that you can join us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

In order to save my employer some much needed cash, I opted for the cheapest room, which was described as a "single room". In reality the bed would have been big enough for two, but it was the only thing that was. The bathroom was so small, it compared unfavourably with a bathroom I'd had a year or so ago on a major cruise ship. I couldn't use the shower without banging elbows, knees or other parts of my anatomy and in virtually every shower I had I ended up turning the water off by mistake at least once.

Other fundamental problems - poor soundproofing, such as this morning at 05:00 when some delightful fellow guest decided to turn his TV on for 45 minutes. Worse than that, though - this is yet another hotel built over a subway station. Not a distant rumble or a slight vibration here, but a deep, sonorous rumbling which shook the bottles in the minibar and the hangers in the wardrobe.

Other than that, the place was OK - a nice restaurant, friendly staff (particularly Raj in the bar) and an excellent location (see comments re the subway above!) and if I had enjoyed a room built for an only slightly overweight person rather than the cupboard conversion I did book then I would probably have rated it much higher - but I can only review what I experienced against my needs and preferences...

Room Tip: Don't book a single room unless you are very small and flexible or you will struggle to shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorganmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Jorganmeister,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Galles.
I am so sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay with us and felt the room did not meet your expectations. Each room has been recently renovated for a truly comfortable experience.
We are very happy to hear that our restaurant and staff made quite an impression on you and I will share your comments with the rest of the hotel team.
We really thank you for your feedback as it help us improving the service we deliver and we look forward to winning you back for the future!
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,143 reviews
Citta Studi
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
#83 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#59 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles
Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Milan
#17 Spa Hotel in Milan
#44 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#46 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#51 Family Hotel in Milan
#56 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles is located in Corso Buenos Aires, one of the most important and lively shopping street of Milan, just in front of the Metro Lima and only 10 minutes walking from Central Station. Situated in an elegant fully restored eighteenth century building, the hotel has 200 rooms among standard, deluxe, junior suite and family rooms, each one individually designed with its own particular style, elegance and unique personality to make your stay as comfortable as ever before. The hotel is perfect for business and leisure guests, thanks to its many facilities offered: enjoy a rich buffet breakfast with a wonderful view over Milan, in our restaurant "La Terrazza", to start a brand new day in the most perfect way or enjoy a full relax day in our Fitness Centre & SPA with indoor swimming pool, sauna, Turkish bath, chromotherapy with Himalayan salt and massage chairs. Furthermore, there are free Wi-Fi and Sky in all rooms and common areas and a useful Internet Point and iPad Corner located in the Lobby. On sunny days, you can enjoy a drink of our America Bar in the garden or relax on our roof-top terraces, perfect for sunbathing or for an aperitif with your friends. Upon request and at extra charge, garage, meeting centre, bike rental and special rooms for pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing