We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Cavour”
Review of Hotel Cavour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Cavour
Ranked #86 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our room was nicely appointed. In our travels in Italy the beds tend to be hard - this one was very comfortable. The bathroom was small but the fixtures were good. The breakfast bar was complimentary and the "fixings" were plentiful. The location is less than a mile from the Duomo and Galleria Vittorio Emmanuelle so it was perfect in being walking distance to those places and other points of interest. It is a little pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: We got this hotel through booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Sir, we thank you very much for your comment. We are very happy you enjoied your stay in Milan and enjoied Hotel Cavour hospitality.
We hope to have again the opportunity to make pleasant your stay in Milan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 704 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. Inviting relaxing bar with complimentary snacks in the afternoon.
Rooms are large with walk in closet and sitting room. The video on the bathroom mirror was unusual but easily disabled! Rooms are very well appointed-great bed- generous toiletries. The lighting took a little time to figure out...there is colour mood lighting in the bedroom if desired.
Great location. 5 min walk past the Giardini Pubblici closest metro (Palestro)
A short walk past good shopping to La Scala and the Duomo and Galleria Vittorio Emanuelle II. Lots of good restaurants and bars close by. I had the BEST buffalo mozzarella salad at the La Scala restaurant before the tour.(Also recommended)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your kind comment. We are very happy you had the opportunity to know a lot of nice places of Milan and faeatures of our Hotel and service. We hope to have again the opportunity to make pleasant your stay in Milan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We chose the Cavour because of its central location (5-10 minutes' walk from the Duomo).

We travelled by car and arrived very late in the night. Unfortunately, there was no parking space inside the hotel and the Garage Suisse nearby was closed (supposed to be open from 7 AM to 1 AM - price for hotel guests EUR 40 instead of EUR 70/24h). We parked in the blue zone in front of the hotel (you can pay by credit card and pay EUR 31 for the day), which was very good.

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The non-smoking room was nice and contained all we need (comfortable bed, little bathroom with good shower and bathtub, flat screen TV, safe in the cupboard) and even if it was on the street side, it was quiet.

The WiFi costs EUR 8 for 24h and is quite slow. I think that in the year 2014 you shouldn't have to pay for WiFi in a hotel (any BnB offers it for free)...

The buffet breakfast is very good and the service is great!

The furniture in the hall could be refurbished.

All in all, we had a great stay and can recommend this hotel.

Thank luisinho
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Sir,
We thank your very much for your kind comment. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel Cavour. About WI-FI connection we are served by a guaranteed HDSL line that I check constantly and I never find speed lower than 7 Mbps on the peak time too.
It would be very helpful for me if You you can communicate me (manager@hotelcavour.it) further detail as room number and time of your internet use so We can find the way to more improve our service under this point of view too.
we thank you again and we hope to have again the opportunity to make pleasant your stay in Milan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Milan is full of great, expensive hotels- the trick is to find a good one for a reasonable price. My recent stay at the Hotel Cavour convinced me that it's still possible.

The location os very good: near the Brera district, the public park, and Via Montenapoleone, and not more than a ten minute walk to the Duomo.

Inside, the hotel shows its age, but not in a horrid way. The lobby is clean, if not overly comfortable for lounging. Despite getting the last room available that weekend, I had a good sized, well appointed room, in the inner courtyard, with a balcony. The bathroom was also well proportioned, clean and had the full complement of amenities.

Breakfast was included, in the mezzanine overlooking the lobby. There was the usual fare, with plenty of fresh fruit and scrambled eggs and bacon. Be sure to ask for a coffee or tea from the waiters- the coffee is well made.

I found the staff to be helpful and efficient. All in all, the Cavour is a good choice at a moderate cost.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner courtyard are quiet, and some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rascal_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed here 3 nights whit my wife. Location was great - we walk everywhere. Hotel itself is out of date, but clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. A nice little accommodation near Duomo but out of swarm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed 2 nights in this a hotel for a quick trip to Milan and wanted a reasonably priced hotel.
The hotel location was really good, nice walking distance to a lot of attractions. The hotel itself was outdated and in need of serious refurbishment. The lobby, the rooms and the breakfast areas. I understand that some rooms are recently renovated, but the rest of the hotel should follow.
The room size was good, the bathroom and shower was completely outdated.
I don't think i would stay again at this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akasmaa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here for 1 night, the hotel was wonderful, room was a nice size. Staff was friendly and very helpful, restaurant served very good food and had a very nice breakfast the next morning. The bed was very comfortable I would recommend this hotel for anyone planning to stay in Milan.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank JoJoe0093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your kind comment. We hope to have soon again the opportunity to make pleasant your stay in Milan.
We remain at your disposal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
NH Milano Touring
NH Milano Touring
#53 of 428 in Milan
1,112 reviews
Brera
Hotel Manin
Hotel Manin
#98 of 428 in Milan
666 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#35 of 428 in Milan
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Carlyle Brera Hotel
Carlyle Brera Hotel
#114 of 428 in Milan
696 reviews
Uptown Palace
#62 of 428 in Milan
1,619 reviews
Centro Storico
Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavour

Address: Via Fatebenefratelli 21, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#76 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $150 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cavour 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavour is a 4 stars Hotel Cavour in Milan city centre, 125 rooms just few steps away from Via Montenapoleone and the Fashion district.Built in 1959 and renovated in 2012, is the perfect solution for those who appreciate the charme of the 60's Classic or Superior Rooms and 5 Suites, all rooms have a well-stocked fridge-bar, 32” LCD screen, multi-tongue satellite TV, high speed connections for your PC, air conditioning with individual adjustment, a safe box, coverture, laundry service and room service from 7 am to midnightThe Conte Camillo Restaurant is a great location to experience the real Italian cuisine in a refined atmosphere with attention to detail.Regarding Meeting & Events possibilities, 3 meeting rooms with capacity from 8 to 80 persons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavour Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing