We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful experience in the centre of the city.”
Review of Hotel Cavour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Cavour
Ranked #79 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful experience in the centre of the city.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel place the guest at the center, taking care of your needs. I had a little terrace in my room, could see the top of the Duomo. I received a beautiful welcome. I did not want to leave.
Beautiful breakfast every morning, many delicious items on the menu. Few steps from the
public garden and American Embassy. I did not consider the rooms small based on other
hotels.Management is excellent and I recommend Hotel Cavour

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comment very helpful to better understand our guests wishes.
we are happy you found pleasant your stay in our Hotel and we hope to have the opportunity soon to let you have a very nice stay in Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    310
    118
    35
    13
See reviews for
99
220
38
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed one night in Milan at Cavour Hotel. The staff were friendly, room very clean and very well presented. Ideal location, within a few minutes walk of a train station (probably 20 minutes walk of the central station), the duomo and main shopping district. Breakfast was a continental buffet with some hot eggs and meat but plenty to keep you going and lovely service. There are plenty of places to eat and lots to do nearby which is a plus.

Wifi advertised is misleading in that you can get it in the rooms at a charge but for those wanting free access there is two computers opposite the reception desk which has it for free for 20minutes per guest.

It is a lovely hotel, but I personally think it is overpriced for the facilities it has. You are paying more for the location which was great and I would recommend it for that reason only otherwise if ever visiting Milan again I would possibly look to stay somewhere cheaper and a little further away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastMidsTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comment. We are really happy you appreciated all our effort to let have to our guest a nice experience in his staying in Milan.
About the rate we just would like to point the attention to the fact that, due to the fashon events, this is one of the few very high requested period. By this reason, for your next visit i Milan, before you choose another area, we suggest our rates. Probably you will find really lower rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here with my family back in June of 2012. We stayed overnight on our way to France to break up the trip and to allow my sister and her husband to see Milan and a bit of Italy. We drove our car and had a bit of trouble with our Garmin finding the hotel, so be sure to print out the map and don't rely just on a machine to get you there. The hotel has some parking, but it is not guaranteed, so ask before you come. We got the last spot. If you go by train/plain, you'll have no problem. Once you get to the hotel, you don't need a car anymore. You are basically within a few minutes walk of all the high end shops, the Duomo, etc. Easy walking. The hotel was fine for the price - we had a very nice room, small but efficient, clean. The breakfast buffet was great! We had no problems with noise at all. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again. So a good deal for the location and the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barber25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you for your comment very helpful for us in order to understand aspectative of our guests and request for new service. We hope to have you again at Hotel Cavour. We shall have the opportunity to show our effort to improve our service

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

_ This was our second stay at the Cavour - we left the first time because we could hear the the television and conversation in the next door room - hotel web site now advertises " sound proofed rooms " - this is not the case as we had to change rooms on this second visit in order to avoid hearing both the conversation and the television next door
_ we felt that the mid week rate of Eur 240 was very poor value given the tired , slightly down at heal appearance of the hotel
_ I agree with the other readers who say that the front counter staff are condescending and unfriendly .
_ Hotel advertises free Wifi in rooms but it simply does not work - front counter staff told me that it was a fault with my computer

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no adjoining neighbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comment very usefull to improve our service. We advertize "sound proof rooms" as we did an oustanding work that copletely cut the noise from the street. In fact, after accurate studies we mounted two double windows with 4 glasses of different size to cut every different noise frecuency and our guests are very happy for the great result we achevied. With your comment we acknowledge you had problem with internal noise form other rooms. This is new for us but we take note about it and we shall work on it too.
About wi-fi, even if we have no other malfunction reports by other guests, we checked with three differnet PC and we have to confirm our wifi is working corectly. Some computer have hard restrictions for privacy or security as non permission for pop up or no permission to connect to the net excepted the one setted in your security area but these option can be handled only by the PC owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My four month pregnant wife and I stayed for 5 nights at Hotel Cavour. Before our arrival, I had several e-mail exchanges with the reservation desk as well as the hotel manager who responded positively to our specific requests.

Although I agree with several Tripadvisor members that the rooms are small (probably around 15-16 square meters), I know as a frequent Milan traveller that hotel rooms of several comparable hotels are even smaller. During the last five years, I stayed at other 4 star hotels, such as Carrobbio, Crowne Plaza City Centre, Starhotel Anderson,Sir Edward (now closed) and their rooms were even smaller than that of Hotel Cavour. Therefore, I do not consider the room size of Hotel Cavour as a shortcoming or whatsoever.

Regarding the location and friendliness of the staff, however, Hotel Cavour beats all of these hotels which I mentioned above. The hotel is only 2 minutes away from Via della Spiga, 7-8 minutes walking distance to Brera and Scala Theatre, and 12-15 minute walk to Duomo.

The breakfast is served at a mezzanine-like floor, and includes lots of cereals, fresh fruits and cheese. Nevertheless, there are no tomatoes or any other kind of vegetables which I consider a minor shortcoming.

Overall, I would strongly recommend Hotel Cavour to business and leisure travelers alike, and salute the management of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gezgin_dromedary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you really much for your comment. We are very happy you felt well on our hospitality and we promise your to do our best to make pleasant your stay in Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A nice old style city centre hotel room Okay, Ideal hotel for touring the shopping scene, found the service a bit aloof, and stuffy not the personal touch you would expect from this type of hotel, however the other F1 enthusiast staying in the hotel made the stay amusing,
We did make the mistake of ordering room service,it was inedible some sort of veal embalmed in salt quite disgusting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carbostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir,
we thank you very muche for your comment very usefull for us. We take it in great consideration and we are striving to improve our service. A loto of work already was done from your last visit and we hope to have the opportunity to show our improvement during your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Attracted by Brera neighbourhood, enchanted by the elegant and refined lobby and fascinated by the history of the famous Italian hoteliers, we anticipated to find a hallmark of quality and hospitality. Well, surely not a disaster but nothing really to enjoy.

Apart from well-appointed lobby, there is not much to say about the amenities. The rooms are spacious but dated, rather scarce breakfast and mediocre choice from the hotel bar. Surprisingly, we found the staff standoffish and neither friendly nor helpful; the receptionists were indifferent and bordering on surly at times.

Disappointing is the word. We definitely would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaNW87RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Ms. Helen, We thank you very much for your comment very helpful to improve our service. We are pleased you appreciated our lobby as its eceltics style can be difficult to be understood. About the room we hope you will give us the opportunity to try our new executive rooms: a real 5 star Luxury standard situation. If you can e-mail me (manager@hotelcavour.it) I shall be happy to know your suggestion for our stock in bar and, if it is possible, to include in our list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Hotel Manin
Hotel Manin
#88 of 428 in Milan
637 reviews
Brera
NH Milano Touring
NH Milano Touring
#49 of 428 in Milan
985 reviews
Brera
Senato Hotel Milano
Senato Hotel Milano
#41 of 428 in Milan
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#40 of 428 in Milan
780 reviews
Brera
Carlyle Brera Hotel
Carlyle Brera Hotel
#113 of 428 in Milan
663 reviews
Brera
Hotel Milano Scala
Hotel Milano Scala
#23 of 428 in Milan
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavour

Property: Hotel Cavour
Address: Via Fatebenefratelli 21, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#76 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cavour 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavour is a 4 stars Hotel Cavour in Milan city centre, 125 rooms just few steps away from Via Montenapoleone and the Fashion district.Built in 1959 and renovated in 2012, is the perfect solution for those who appreciate the charme of the 60's Classic or Superior Rooms and 5 Suites, all rooms have a well-stocked fridge-bar, 32” LCD screen, multi-tongue satellite TV, high speed connections for your PC, air conditioning with individual adjustment, a safe box, coverture, laundry service and room service from 7 am to midnightThe Conte Camillo Restaurant is a great location to experience the real Italian cuisine in a refined atmosphere with attention to detail.Regarding Meeting & Events possibilities, 3 meeting rooms with capacity from 8 to 80 persons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavour Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing