We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget and reliable hotel”
Review of Ibis Milano Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ibis Milano Centro
Ranked #164 of 426 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank HdsonNg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,289)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Milano Centro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 6,289 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived by train in Milan about midnight, it was raining, then caught a taxi (avoiding a drunk and noticing many homeless in the area) at a cost of approx 8 euro to be checked in quickly and efficiently. Must have been our tiredness, but we were not that impressed initially with our room or the location. However the dawn of a new day showed this hotel to be what it is, a great inner city hotel for the budget minded. Our room was small and basic, lacking the 'extras' but perfectly okay. Breakfast every morning was lovely with plenty of selection, lots of tables and chairs for the many guests and lovely fresh breads and pastries. The location was fine. We walked to the Cathedral/inner city area a couple of times and it took us about 20 brisk minutes, other times we took the metro. Was very easy to walk with our suitcases back to the train station. The hotel was always busy, but reception seemed to deal with everything very efficiently. We would consider staying here again if we needed to be close to the train station and were on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Motakkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel. Our room was reasonable, but I could not believe the rudeness of the counter staff and their lack of customer service. Check-in was okay, but when I called down to the counter a few minutes later to get the Wi-Fi code I asked one blond girl if I could get it and she replied, "Just a moment. I'll be back." She then went into the office behind the counter and I watched as she made a couple of phone calls and drank a coffee while chatting to other staff. Another girl came out from the office and I asked her for the sip of paper with the Wi-Fi codes. "Just a moment - I'll get it for you." She then disappeared and ten minutes later had not returned. I then interrupted one of the check-in staff as she was printing out a receipt for someone checking out and she picked one up from behind the desk and gave it to me. I would never recommend this hotel because of the lazy and rude attitude of its check-in staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astr0Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in late September. The location was very good with tram 5 going to central station and Tram 1 to the cathedral and central area. Just a few mins away past the handily placed supermarket was the stop for tram 9 which seemed to go directly to the canal area in the far side of the centre where we had been told there was some good nightlife (we didn't make it there so can't comment on that. Although the area looked a bit shady there were some good restaurants and cafe bars close by so we got breakfast from there. Decent nearby restaurants included Ristorante al Giardini, One Way Della speranza and My Summer Place, all within a 5 minute walk and with a main course and drink for two coming in at around 40 euros. Good places nearer the centre included a self service place called Poker (on Via Largo), downstairs but very cheap and good and a restaurant called Bella Vista on the #1 tram route one stop further on from the la Scala stop where the homemade pasta dishes were the best we tasted.

Our room was fine - comfy and good sized bed, decent telly, good shower once it got hot enough (we were on 6th floor and it took a while to run hot). The noise of the air conditioning might annoy some, but it didnt bother us. More annoying was the fact it seemed to stop working - I see another posting has explained this was because it was shut down come 1 October. Check in took forever and even though we were asked, and agreed to pre-authorise our credit card for extras while we were there, the message didn't get through to the breakfast room or the bar. Ho hum. On the plus side they were really helpful in arranging an extension lead since there was no PowerPoint by the bed and my partner needed to plug in a sleep machine. I don't want to give the impression the staff were rude or horrible -they were actually really nice but just very slooooww!

Milan as a city isn't the prettiest, but going onto the cathedral roof was special, and the museums in the Castello are excellent value. The ancient trams were fun and once we'd realised that the stops are listed from the bottom upwards, they were easy to negotiate and frequent. On the way back we got the airport bus which dropped us right outside the terminal and saved what had seemed a long schlep to/from the train platforms at the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EurogirlBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dilip Pratapsin... M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

PROS: the room is visually appealing (basic/modern/clean), the bed is soft & comfortable by european standards, the location is central & close to metro.

CONS: staff is pretty rude & lazy. there were always about 5 people behind the desk, but they will do everything they can to not be the one to help you. the person i checked out with didn't say thank you - or even look at me - when handing me my receipt. the first room i was given was right above construction/jackhammering ALL afternoon. it was very loud through the closed window but you have to keep the window OPEN because the central air in the room is DISABLED simply out of cheapness. so i asked to move rooms, and was moved to a quieter room, but the room smelled STRONGLY with the stench of SEWAGE. i realized this was why the hallways smelled so strongly of perfume, the whole hotel stinks of sewage backup & is constantly covered by odor covering spray. you can hear EVERY word spoken through the walls by your neighbors. the wifi is okay, but is slow at times, logs you out constantly, and you have to keep asking for "charge-up" vouchers at the front desk...which, as stated earlier, takes forever. the water pressure is very low, and the water only gets warm, not hot.

i survived a couple nights here, but would not return. maybe if it cost about half the price i paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 426 in Milan
6,613 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Milano
#65 of 426 in Milan
1,283 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#81 of 426 in Milan
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Milano Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Milano Centro

Address: Via C. Finocchiaro Aprile 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Milan
#24 Best Value Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $82 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Milano Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Milano Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Milano Centro Hotel Milan
Ibis Hotel Milano Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing