We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of Ibis Milano Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ibis Milano Centro
Ranked #163 of 426 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Ibis continues to live up to its standard in Milan with high cleanliness and good service at the reception. Wi-fi was chargeable at £2 per 12 hours of usage but it was too slow to be worth any penny (unless u r really desperate). No frills here as usual, so we remembered to bring our own toiletries. Good English spoken and very prompt service at the reception. Comfortable and safe to stay. Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,303)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Milano Centro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 6,303 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during a 2 weeks trip to Italy. The good thing about it is that you have a metro station near by (La republica) so you can get to the city center quickly, only 3 stops. If you're traveling with car, you should know that they don't have a car park but just outside there is a city parking space and if you're lucky, you can find a parking there. The room itself on the other hand, was a disaster. First of all, when we made the order, in the description of the rooms it said that you get a safe (that was important for us) and we got a room without a safe. We called the reception and they told us that we can leave our personal belongings at the reception (a key safe). We weren't pleased with this sort of answer so after waiting for several minutes, we got a different room, about half size from the previous one but with a (tiny) safe. The room was tiny, the bathroom was clean but the toilette seat was attached to a thin wall so it made a really disturbing noise when sitting on it, which makes you wonder if it will hold you. Not the best way to start your vacation. Also, the water in the sink won't go down easily. What can I say, I'm pretty disappointed but on the other hand, it was cheap.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a safe if it means much to you.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr6633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

To be honest, my initial expectations of our stay at the Ibis Milano Centro were low - considering we only paid €59 a night (at today's rate, that's about £47!) and were using the hotel as a one-night stop gap between Paris and Rome each way. After a seven hour train journey from Paris, we arrived at Milano Porta Garibaldi station at around 21:30 then quickly hopped into a cab - €9 & just over five minutes later we were dropped right outside the Ibis Milano Centro. The hotel entrance and lobby were extremely clean and modern - check-in was super quick and easy (on the first night at check-in, we paid an extra €8.50/ea for breakfast) - the communal areas looked comfortable and all the decor/furniture looked brand new (this IKEA-esque). The mirrored lift and lighting is a bit unforgiving after a long journey(!) Our room was clearly relatively newly decorated - all the furniture, fixtures and fittings were in great condition - the room size was more than adequate for two people with a big case. The bathroom was spotless and had complementary soap (again; remember only £47 a night!) I jumped straight into a hot shower - water pressure was great; there was a spare bath towel provided in the room in addition to what was already in the bathroom - there was also a hairdryer. We were hungry so my boyfriend went down to the bar to order snacks & drinks and bought this up the room - the food was OK - and it does clearly state that it's frozen food on the menu, so you are already prepared for what you're getting. As we weren't staying long, we didn't use the Wi-Fi so can't comment on that. The bed was comfortable and there were black-out blinds provided (thought it was still night time when we woke!) It was obvious that the hotel was making an effort to accommodate guests of many nationalities from the choice of TV channels and they provided BBC World News - which was fine (after all, we didn't travel all the way to Italy to sit in a room and watch TV!) Had a good night's sleep, woke up and went down to breakfast (in our tired state the night before, we somehow missed the voucher the man on reception gave us to take down for breakfast - though we explained that we'd paid and it was fine - just a tip!) Breakfast was an all-you-can-eat buffet style with coffee, tea, juice, lots of pastries, cold cuts, cereals, cheeses, breads etc...all tasted good! The actual breakfast area/restaurant was great - clean, modern and the big windows let in lots of light and looked out onto the pretty garden in the entrance. We had a train to catch from Milano Centrale station to Rome at midday so after a leisurely breakfast we wandered around the area to get our bearings and work out where we needed to go - the walk to the station is straightforward (i.e. pretty much just down one road) and takes around 10 mins or so. We returned to the hotel, checked-out (again, very quick - staff were all nice enough and efficient). On the way back, we arrived in Milano Centrale at about 18:00 and we walked to Ibis. It was a bit busier at the check-in desk at this time but staff were still efficient and obviously making sure everyone was ok as quickly as they could. Our room was of the same good standard as before but on the sixth floor and faced the city (on our first night, we were on the fourth floor and our room faced inward toward the other side of the hotel) - whilst this view of Milan pales in comparison to somewhere like Rome it was still nice to see the sunset over the city! As we were already quite tired and had to get up at 4:45am the next morning to catch our return train to Paris we decided to eat in the hotel's restaurant. The restaurant was quite busy but service was fine - it cost around €28 (around £22) for two pizzas, two generous glasses of Merlot and a large bottle of still water - again, liked the decor and style of the restaurant, nice atmosphere, but food here was only OK - ate here as a matter of convenience - wouldn't necessarily recommend it on any other basis! We went back to the room, had another restful sleep and got up early - check-out took about 30 seconds and the man on reception checked that our stay had been ok and was courteous (more than I can say for myself at that time of the morning! haha). We were a bit concerned that we didn't seem to be able book a cab the night before, but there's a taxi rank right outside the front of the hotel and there were plenty of cars waiting so it became obvious why the staff looked a little bemused at our insistence! - before we knew it we were at Milano Porta Garibaldi station! The only minus was that we weren't able to grab a quick tea/coffee at this early time before leaving the hotel - the bar and breakfast area were closed - that said, we didn't actually ask at the reception so not sure if they would have provided us with something! As far as budget/business type hotels go, the Ibis Milano Centro far exceeded my expectations and whether you're travelling and seeking a stop-gap like we were or want a decent base at an unbelievable price to explore the city then I would highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: There are vending machines in this hotel - drinks (including still/sparkling water) are €2 each. At...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Je551e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hotel is located quite far from the airport. Dont even think of taking a cab as it will cost a lot of money. You can take the shuttle bus to central station and then take a taxi from there.
The hotel is quite big and grand however rooms are very small.
Good things: Very good breakfast, lot of variety. location is quite central in Milan, close to the train and bus station and tram lines. Bad things: Staff doesn't care about any issues the customers face.
Overall attitude of the hotel is very impersonal and not very caring.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

it's in the centre of Milan (more or less), the service is efficient, prices are reasonable, and the restaurant food is surprisingly edible.
Downside? Small things, like the bedroom window couldn't be opened to let in some fresh air, and you could spit peas through the tiny 'bath' towels. Pretty good for a couple of nights, but I wouldn't want to stay any longer - even in Milan.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms overlooking the trams
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triplover33
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you have a fat wallet probably there are better choices out there but if you are a budget (read: normal) traveler – you cannot go wrong with this hotel. Located in a walking distance (well it is maybe 45 minutes’ walk – but who minds walking through beautiful Milan) with excellent local transportation (tramway 1 will get you everywhere in a classy way). The rooms are not very big but comfortable and of a high standards (why would you need a big room in Milan anyway – just go out and explore this magnificent city or get into train (walking distance again) and go to the lakes)). WARNING: if you taste real Italian coffee you may not even want to see Starbucks anymore. For an excellent porcini try “Il CAMINETTO” at Via Felice Casati.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leszekml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 426 in Milan
6,621 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Milano
#68 of 426 in Milan
1,286 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 426 in Milan
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Milano Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Milano Centro

Address: Via C. Finocchiaro Aprile 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $81 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Milano Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Milano Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Milano Centro Hotel Milan
Ibis Hotel Milano Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing