We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Mokinba Hotel King

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mokinba Hotel King
Ranked #337 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed March 12, 2012

long weekend in Milan with partner and this hotel is worth using. Rooms aren't huge, but they are fine and modern enough, particularly the bathroom. Shower cubicle is small but was fine for us. Everything was clean, room serviced, safe in room, plenty of room for clothes, temperature of room was fine.
Staff were friendly enough and one or two very helpful. We didn't opt for breakfast so can't comment on it, bit all in all, worth the money and well located for you to be able to get around
Internet access was 5 euro for 24 hour access period which was good value compared to other places.
Ordered a taxi through desk as they have their own linked driver, although this proved expensive compared to just picking one up from the street,
Short walk to a choice of 2 Metro stations

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Mokinba Hotel King
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 502 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is probably one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at.
It looks like it hasnt been updated since the 1970's with heavy carpets and formica furniture.
When I reached my room it smelled so bad that I thought someone had just gone to the toilet before I arrived.......
I was in the city on business so fortunately was out for the rest of the day.
When I returned I realised that it was impossible to sleep as the hotel doesnt have any air conditioning - as they turn it off in the winter and only have heating which cant be turned off.
So to try and cool the room you have to open the window but it is directly on the street and the Tram runs right next to it - compounded by the fact that it is also a busy road (in Italy they like to use their car horns frequently).
As far as I can work out the Tram starts at about 5am and runs til after 12 so the only time you can get any sleep is between those times!
I do not know how someone gave this 4 stars as it is an absolute misrepresentation - it wouldnt even be considered 2 stars.

Room Tip: do not get a room here....
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Our hotel in Milan was walking distance from the train station and was fairly easy to find. It was pretty close to the city centre (walking distance) and the hotel itself was very fancy and nice inside for the price we paid for it. The issue was that no one informed us that Milan was pretty much closed in August when we traveled there so not much was open during the time that we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I travel a lot and am not picky but I hate being cheated and appreciate value for money, which this hotel is not.
The hotel needs refurbishing. The furniture, carpets everything is old and tacky. The area around the hotel is quite bad and dodgy. It is close to the metro though.
The room was absolutely freezing. The airco was not working and the hotel claimed there was heating in the floor(not true, there was a carpet in the room and the tiles in the bathroom were cold).
They forced us to use the hotel taxi and refused to call a normal taxi as I insisted. They charged 22 euros for a ride of 8 minutes. They saw we had no other choice as we had to be at an event on time and did not know Milan. Next time we just hailed a cab outside the hotel. They were also rude about it but I guess they do this to all guests who need a taxi.
Very poor value for money and being forced to use the hotel taxi service is very unprofessional.
The only positive point was the elderly gentleman that services the front desk during the night. He was always very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cleo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Our family stayed there for 8 nights in January 2012. We got two rooms on the top floor (the 6th).
The hotel is only 500 miters from Cadorna train / Metro station; and the tram is right in the front door, and Duoma is within the walking distant. So the location is one of the best in Milan.
During our stay, our next rooms had 3 groups people moved in-and-out during that time. We could easy to hear their normal conversation; one of them came back at 2AM and woke us up, another day they got up 5AM and we got the unwanted 'wake-up call', too. The street traffic noise got into our rooms even with the window close, so we couldn't sleep late in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Everything was fine. Hotel, Room, location, kindness at the reception.. Everything.

we stayed from 28-30 december..the location is great just a few minutes to the famous shopping area by tram..the room is quite big for 3 of us and the breakfast is also 'okay'..but unfortunately we have to pay for the internet connection...and the charges is quite expensive..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartRusli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I really wanted to give this hotel 3.5 stars but there isn't an option. King Mokinba is in a relatively quiet section of Milan, and about a 10 minute walk from the Cadorna underground station, and to the Cathedral Il Duomo. It's a "European 4-star", which can mean a pretty wide range of quality. I will say that King Mokinba is probably a little better than the middle of that range, which is pretty good for Europe. Rooms are clean and in nice shape (a lot of red for some reason). Beds were pretty comfortable, better than average for Europe. Service at reception was friendly and helpful. There is a small (very small) bar in the lobby area, where drinks were quite cheap. The room also had a really nice balcony, which was surprising. All rooms in the hotel don't have this. Not that it was a big deal, but it made for a nice view. There's not much to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, but again it's only about a 10 minute or less walk to either the underground or to Il Duomo and all the shops and restaurants around it. All told I would recommend King Mokinba, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try for one facing front with a balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikevegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Palazzo Delle Stelline
#197 of 426 in Milan
678 reviews
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Navigli
Mentana Hotel
Mentana Hotel
#331 of 426 in Milan
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Hotel Carrobbio
Hotel Carrobbio
#232 of 426 in Milan
409 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Genius Downtown
Hotel Genius Downtown
#111 of 426 in Milan
701 reviews
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#134 of 426 in Milan
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokinba Hotel King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokinba Hotel King

Address: Corso Magenta 19 | Centro Storico - Duomo - Castello Sforzesco -, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $134 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mokinba Hotel King 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L 'Hotel King, without excitation, the king of the Mokinba Hotels Group. In the historic center, five minutes from the Duomo filled, offers its guests every comfort. It has been renovated over the years, while maintaining a style decor, offers guests an elegant welcoming environment with confortable and familiar atmosphere. Each room has a bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, radio, free Wi-Fi, air conditioning and minibar. What's better than a generous breakfast to start your day? You will be surprised by the variety of items on the buffet table. You need to park your car? No problem: there is a private garage just a few meters. The reception will be happy to assist you with a prompt service, available 24 hours on 24. Come and visit us, we will be glad to show our best Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Mokinba Hotel King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Mokinba Milan
Hotel King Mokinba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing