We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ADI Doria Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ADI Doria Grand Hotel
Ranked #108 of 430 Hotels in Milan
UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

Stayed here in Jun 2009. Three of us so had to book 2 rooms but got a very good deal (3 for 2 nights) bu no breakfast included. Primarily chose the hotel because it got good reviews on Tripadvisor and also because it is close to Centrale train station which is where the airport bus for Bergamo terminates at - just 5-10 minute walk.
Hotel itself was good - room was big and clean. Staff were okay..not overly friendly but did their job okay. One of us wanted hot water to drink and the bar staff were always obliging. To get into the centre of Milan we tended to get the metro from Centrale - very easy to do. Area seemed okay - not too busy. There was a small supermarket across the road which was good for getting bottled water and snacks.
Milan itself was okay...didn't get to see the Last Supper but went up to the top of the Duomo which is very impressive and the Castle is also worth a visit. What I do recommend though, is a trip to Como - lovely place. Only about 1 hour on the train direct from Centrale. Well worth it....more laid back than Milan with lovely architecture and the lake as well!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terracotta_army
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    439
    162
    38
    31
See reviews for
121
337
55
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

This hotel is not safe at all. I stayed recently and had a real nightmare. My handbag was stolen in the hotel breakfast room while I put on my chair with a friend of mine sit nearby. Just less than 10 minutes it was disappeared and I had to take a flight just four hours later. It was real shock to me as my passport, cellphone, all cash are in the bag. The worst is that no one in the hotel gave their hand to me. I felt like alone to contact the police station and the embassy. They all are cold with the situation like nothing happen even the hotel manager named Lucia Oriani. My flight was cancelled as I found no way to depart without travelling documents and I had to stay there without even one Euro. The hotel persons refused to help all kind of things. They even asked me to contact the person I knew to get the credit card number if I have to stay longer in case of flight cancellation. They are totally cold and rude persons.

Pls post to the one you know. It is NOT SAFE to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharmTrevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanoDirezione, Direttore at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
We are able to answer this review only today, after subscribing this service with Tripadvisor. It will be useful at least for people reading now this opinion. At the time we were shocked for it, because we felt that the remarks regarding the staff's attitude were really not true.
After discovering the robbery, the hotel personnel including the hotel manager herself, spent 4 hours contacting guest's ambassade, helping blocking the credit cards and searching telephone numbers for the guest. We all were very sorry and concerned for the problem occurred to the guest lady and we tried all our best to help and assist her, to the point that after her departure she wrote us further emails which included expressions of gratitude.....
We would like to add to this review that, in the meantime, in order to prevent future robbery, we improved the functioning of control cameras in the hotel areas.
Doria Grand Hotel was and remains a safe hotel, in a safe neiborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

* large room with large beds
* pretty soundproof
* nice bathroom
* we took this hotel because of the breakfast > in other reviews we read that some hotels just give you a croissant and coffee
* breakfast was good: eggs, bacon, pastry, rolls, cornflakes, fruit, yoghurt, juices,...
* breakfast was only till 10 a.m. and 5 minutes after really everything was cleared > I would have preferred 10.30

* location: 2 min. walking from railway station (where shuttle bus from airport arrives) & metro station
* by metro: 10 minutes from city centre (cathedral & shopping area)
* metro tickets: only EUR 1 > you can use each ticket 75 minutes on as many lines as you want

  • Liked — breakfast and good beds
  • Disliked — EUR 15 for 1 hour internet! Too expensive!
  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow Region
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

I liked:
cozy rooms, good location:5 minutes on foot to Loreto station (both green and red lines, so very cool for RHO Fiera and centre like Duomo), a chance to listen to live jazz twice a week at least... breakfasts were also ok.
and a restaurant is wonderful! everything we tried was delicious! a note for russian speaking persons - there are ladies who speak Russian: in the restaurant and in the lobby.
and the shopping street Corso Buenos Aires is also close to the hotel!very nice!

I didnt like:
1)the ladies who clean the room DID ignore the switched-on red sign (do not disturb) and the paper-note "do not disturb prego!". they have cleaned my room inspite of all these signs.you need to warn the receptionist in the morning (DAILY!) not to clean your room.and then repeat and expain - neigther to clean your room, nor to enter it, nor to change linen and towels. otherwise it will be cleaned even if you put a banner 1*1m. size with the phrase Do Not Disturb. Im serious.
2)wi-fi. it costs you 5 euros for 4 hours of wi-fi using.you can spend this 4 hours during 2 days. I think that is ok - the price, the duration etc.. I did use this chance during my first 2-3 days of staying, it was ok - the speed was always high. but then I have lost the signal. and so did everybody in the hotel rooms. the connection was ok only in the lobby. but you understand that rooms are much more preferable.we had to go downstairs during our following days..

but in common, the place is really nice. if you are ok about everyday clean and you arent afraid of wi-fi problems - welcome! and you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somersetppl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the main train station and where the bus from the airport drops you. The foyer was welcoming and the staff were efficient. The room was lovely, we were given one with a kingsize bed. There was hardly any noise from the road below. The design was quite old fashioned looking but comfortable and clean. The bathroom was huge and had full length deep bath which you could lay down in. We were pleased with what we had got for our money. The hotel is not situated in the main area of Milan but walk about 2 minutes from the hotel and you are on the main road. As milans roads are on a grid system once on the main road you can walk to the main area where all the expensive shops and the Duomo catherdal is. It took us about 20-30 minutes to walk there. You can use the metro which is easy and cheap and Duomo plazza is only 5 stops away from the hotel. Visting Duomo catherdal and the glass covered shopping arcade is a must.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somersetppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

We chose this hotel after reading positive reviews about it and we were NOT disappointed. Lovely room with two single beds (that we pushed together), a table and two chairs, bed side tables, wardrobe, desk and chair with lovely ensuite with marble fixtures. Very posh appearance, clean and "up market". The sheets and towells were changed every day and room service didn't bother us as it has in the past. The room was warm and felt private, I think the walls are pretty sound proof as they were padded. Lovely bath with super strong shower, plus bidet - better than home which is what you go away for! The room was quiet without traffic noise from outside, a main road but not a busy one.

We chose this hotel partly as breakfast was highly recommended. Breakfast was fab! Croissants, pastries etc. fresh fruit & yoghurt, cereals and toast, sausages, bacon and egg with hot choc, etc. rolls and cheese and meats. Basically everything you could ask for with slight variances every day. So to sum it up - food was great. We didn't try the restaurant at other times as we were out during the day.

The hotel was only one tube ride away from the central station and we found it great for getting around easily. The public transport is much cheaper than in England and with one ticket you can use the tubes, buses and trams. It probably took just 5-10 minutes to get into central Milan.

The only negative aspect is that we would have liked a bit more guidance from the staff of the hotel as to where to visit, where to pick up trains/buses etc. but they did speak English and were friendly.

Wi fi could be accessed from the room by purchasing a card from reception for 5 euros which lasted for 4 hours.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite at this hotel, so that made is seem amazing value to us! The hotel is very nicely located within a short walk to shops and cafes. It is very close to a couple of train stations and we walked there from Milano Centrale. Our rooms were a bit out of date but very comfortable and luxurious. The bathroom was huge! Breakfast was good and the reception staff were excellent. After a long day of sightseeing, this was a lovely place to come home to. We would certainly stay here again if we returned to Milan.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmeraldDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Andreola Hotel
Andreola Hotel
#102 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#80 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#39 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ADI Doria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ADI Doria Grand Hotel

Property: ADI Doria Grand Hotel
Address: Viale Andrea Doria 22, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Bicocca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#88 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#90 Family Hotel in Milan
#112 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ADI Doria Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Milan's business and shopping district, close to Corso Buenos Aires and Central Station. Nearby the new Porta Nuova district, easily accessible with the three underground lines.Art and cultural events are hosted in the hotel. We are the ideal choice for business travellers and for tourists wishing to enjoy a nice vacation.124 bright and soundproofed rooms, white Carrara Marble bathrooms. Delicious buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking and ACCOR so you can book your ADI Doria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Grand Milan
Hotel Doria Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing