We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apprehensive but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ADI Doria Grand Hotel
Ranked #113 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed May 21, 2013

When I first booked the hotel, I didn't realize how "far" it was from the city center until we started walking from the train station. But it ended up being about a 7 minute walk (with a 6 & 8 yr old) so it wasn't bad. The Metro station was a little over a block away so very convenient. We hopped on that to get in to town and it worked well. I enjoyed our room arrangement. We had adjoining rooms. The bathrooms are well done and our rooms were new. Breakfast was delicious. It worked well. The staff was incredibly friendly & helpful. They parked our bags before check in and after check out. They also helped us to get dinner reservations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFroehlich70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear “CFroehlich70”,

I would first of all like to thank you for writing about the Doria Grand Hotel. When I saw your opening title, I too was apprehensive as I thought I was about to read an account of a client who was not completely satisfied with his or her stay at our hotel. This soon evaporated as I read through your message and realised that you were highlighting the close proximity of our hotel to the main train station ( close but not too close, if you see what I mean ), even if one is laid down with luggage and small children. The proximity of the other two metro line stations is a definite plus with many of our guests as it makes visiting any part of Milan so easy and quick.

Thank you for your kind comments about our “Liberty” style bedrooms and bathroom and appreciate your comment on our breakfast, where we aim to offer the “best breakfast in town”.

In the hope of welcoming you back to Milan some time in the near future, we send you our

Best regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late April 2013. The hotel is very conveniently located near the railway station in Milan and was only about a 5 minute walk away.

The check in was a breeze and the room was very nicely appointed. The hotel is located on a main street about 2 minutes from the closest Metro station. There is a grocery store across the street and many restaurants in the area.

Hotel staff were excellent. Both at the front desk and in the lounge. No problem with English when we checked in.

We ate in the hotel bar when we were there as it was a national holiday in Italy, resulting in virtually all shops and restaurants being closed for the day.

The menu in the bar was quite extensive however, and we were able to have quite a lovely dinner there. Normally they have jazz music on Thursdays, but since it was a holiday, there were no performances that night.

Breakfast was included with our room rate and we enjoyed a sumptuous buffet with great food and many choices.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear “Roy E”

It was such a pleasure reading your comment on Tripadvisor and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and informative description.

It is a pity that you missed our Jazz night as, after 13 years, it has created quite a following and the atmosphere is fairly unique.

I noticed that you did not mention the hotel’s main restaurant “Il Capriccio” which serves a wide variety of Italian specialities, but I imagine that you sampled one of the many restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, which are equally good.

Thank you once again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Doria Grand Hotel some time in the near future.

Best regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, who quickly processed our booking to allow an early room access which we greatly appreciated having travelled throughout the night.
The hotel accommodation was very comfortable and very clean, without any trace of cigarette smoke.
We found it within easy walking distance from Milan Centrale station and close to subway travel and shopping.
We did find the room was very warm and we could not adjust the air conditioner, however, we would not hesitate to stay here again.
Sandra and Ian... Australia

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Sandra and Ian,

we would like to thank you first of all for taking the time to write about the Doria Grand Hotel and your comments are most appreciated.

We were pleased to read that our training regarding the allocation of rooms to early arrivals is working. We have instructed our front office staff to “casually” enquire where our guests have arrived from and to offer the first rooms available to clients that have travelled overnight and who may be suffering from jet lag. I hope that the black out curtains which we have installed in all our bedrooms, came in useful, if you decided to catch up on some sleep.

I am sorry that the air conditioning was not to your satisfaction however we are experiencing some very unusual climatic conditions this year. The weeks seem to oscillate between November and June weather within the space of a few hours and we are trying our best to anticipate the right basic air temperature which can then be further regulated from each individual room. I trust this did not mar the rest of your stay.

Thank you once again for writing about us and we look forward to welcoming you again some time in the near future.

Best regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked to stay two nights in May for my birthday. The hotel is in a perfect location a couple of minutes walk from Milan central station. Check in was quick and easy and the staff very helpful. The room was lovely, clean and spacious even including a King size bed.

The hotel is also 2mins away from the Metro station providing access to all the sights within minutes, there is even a supermarket across the road. On the sat night we visited the bar across the road (next to the supermarket) we never left all night. Cocktails and a vast range of free food provided all night.

Breakfast was varied and plenty of options to suit all. My partner was astonished by the number of guests looting the breakfast selection in order to cover meals or snacks for the day.

I would not hesitate suggesting this hotel to anyone staying in Milan.

Thank you for a great stay and thank you for putting me in touch with myspecialguest as the tickets for the San Siro were top class.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaw0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear “Jaw0205”

we would like to thank you for the time taken for writing about your stay at the Doria Grand Hotel in Trip Advisor and to thank you for your kind comments.

Apart from the hotel facilities themselves, we find that many of our guests choose to stay with us because of the easy access they have to which ever part of Milan they wish to visit. With all 3 metro lines in easy walking distance, nowhere is very far away and if one wishes to take the more scenic route, there are also a number of busses and trams which stop right in front of the hotel’s front door.

We trust that your birthday celebrations went well and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Now that the football season is over, you may want to go back to San Siro for one of the music concerts that are held there over the summer months, Robbie Williams, Depeche Mode and Bon Jovi, to mention but a few, are creating quite a buzz in Milan at the moment.

Best regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is at a v convenient location. We stayed for 2 nights and had a fantastic stay. The front staff was v helpful, always making helpful suggestions and flexible to make arrangements. You can use 2 metros, though Loreto is better option - you can reach Duomo in under 20 min from hotel including walk and metro.

Rooms are done in classic style so its a matter of personal choice. There is a superstore right opp the hotel so that also helped. Would definitely recommend it if you want nice neighbourhood and less crowd

1  Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear “Sanjay S”

we would like to first of all thank you for taking the time to write about the Doria Grand Hotel and about your holiday in Milan. Your comments are most appreciated.

We have passed on your complements to our front office staff who were thrilled to read that they were singled out and comments such as yours make their efforts worthwhile.

We agree with you entirely that the room décor is a matter of personal choice. The “Liberty Style” of the hotel contrasts quite dramatically with the ultra modern styles preferred by other hotels. However we feel that our décor is in complete synergy with our company philosophy of offering a home from home service with all the trappings that a 4 star superior hotel should offer, as opposed to the internationally branded hotels ( which have their own, well deserved, advantages of course ).

We hope you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the near future.

Best regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The room was huge compred to the hotels we stayed in Paris,Rome and Venice at same price level! and the staff allowes us to have a really early check in even before breakfast, how nice of them!! I will definitly go back to this hotel if i will be back to Milan.

Location wise, this hotel is 15 minutes walk from termini, 10 minutes walk to the nearest Metro station, and 15 minutes walk to Buenos Aires street which is the popular local shopping area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandV1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear “KandV1984”

we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doria Grand Hotel in Tripadvisor. Your comments are most appreciated.

We were especially pleased to read that you were given a room as soon as possible as we try to offer the first rooms available to people who have travelled far and may be suffering from Jet lag.

I noted that you wrote that the hotel was a 10 to 15 minute walk to the metro stations. It is a pity that you did not ask reception for directions, as the closest metro is just 2 minutes away and the other, a mere 3 minute walk which is also the time it takes to get to Corso Buenos Aires. I agree with you however that the walk to Milan’s Central station may take up to 15 minutes, however it is a lot quicker if one is not loaded down with one’s suit cases.

Nevertheless, we are pleased to read that you intend coming back to us, should you return to Milan and we look forward to welcoming again very you soon.

Best regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I had a very pleasant 3 nights Stay at the hotel from 13th Untill 16 April . Though on a business Trip my young daughter had accompanied me who also enjoyed a lot . Very friendly front desk always eager to help .
Rooms good and spacious compared to European standard .

About 7 minutes walk from Central Station and good connectivity with Metro .
Surely I stay here in my next visit .

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Aruproy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear “Aruproy”

we would like to thank you for taking the time to write to Tripadvisor about your stay at the Doria Grand Hotel.

It is most gratifying to read that your daughter enjoyed the hotel too and I hope that you managed to get some quality time together.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Milan and I would also like to mention that we do have special family packages available for those travelling together which you may find more convenient.

Best regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Andreola Hotel
Andreola Hotel
#94 of 430 in Milan
906 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 430 in Milan
1,931 reviews
Citta Studi
Starhotels Ritz
Starhotels Ritz
#108 of 430 in Milan
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
C-Hotels Atlantic
C-Hotels Atlantic
#59 of 430 in Milan
1,023 reviews
Acca Palace
#56 of 430 in Milan
802 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#37 of 430 in Milan
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ADI Doria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ADI Doria Grand Hotel

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 22, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Bicocca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#93 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#112 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $92 - $791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ADI Doria Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Milan's business and shopping district, close to Corso Buenos Aires and Central Station. Nearby the new Porta Nuova district, easily accessible with the three underground lines.Art and cultural events are hosted in the hotel. We are the ideal choice for business travellers and for tourists wishing to enjoy a nice vacation.124 bright and soundproofed rooms, white Carrara Marble bathrooms. Delicious buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ADI Doria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Grand Milan
Hotel Doria Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing