We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm and luxury close to the train station.”
Review of Hilton Milan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Milan
Ranked #76 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Booked this hotel through Priceline for $140 USD/night for a total of $175 including all taxes and fees. Arrived on a 10:30 a.m. train from Switzerland.

Thanks to a previous reviewer who gave excellent visual directions to find the hotel. To repeat: leave the front of Gare Centrale and walk to the right and look for the Sixth car rental office on the corner. Once you reach the Sixth car rental office it is easy to look down the street and see the Hilton sign. The hotel is less than 5 minutes from the train station.

Check in went smooth with Sara, on the front desk, allowing my son and I to check in early. I showed my Hilton Honours card and even though we booked through Priceline we were given a room (room 463) right away. It wasn't until I arrived at the room that I realized that we must have been upgraded.

The room was huge with a massive 120 square foot balcony that overlooked a quiet side street. The room had a wall of windows and two large glass doors that openend up onto the balcony. The room has a queen bed, sitting area at the end of the bed facing the large flat screen T.V. There was a large separate entry area with wardrobe. The wardrobe contained a kettle, coffee and tea supplies, robes, slippers, umbrellas, cloth shoe bag, hair dryer, shoe shine pad, in room safe, and the usual mending kit.

The double sink washroom had two rooms: one area for the sinks and one for the toilet, bidet, and shower/tub combination. From the bathroom it was possible to hear the T.V. by way of the undercounter speaker that was hooked up to the television in the room. Complimentary bottled water was in the room.

Turn down service was provided while we dined in the hotel's restaurant. The house keeper left chocolates and a bag of panatone cake as we were staying around Christmas time. A sheet was left outlining the forcasted weather for the following day, which I thought was helpful.

The food in the small lobby restaurant/bar was delicious and the service excellent. The prices were fairly standard for hotels (read: expensive). However, we had already explored the Duomo and galleria Vittorio Emanuele II and La Scala. The area around the train station is sketchy so we decided to stay in the hotel for dinner as everything else around the hotel was closed.

Internet service is available in the lobby for a fee of .35 euros/minute.

Interesting fact about the hotel's room service is that prices for the food were identical to if you ate in the hotel's restaurants. The was a delivery charge of $4.50, but a cover charge of $3.50 if you ate in the hotel lobby. (it seemed every restaurant in Italy charges this "cover charge" no matter where we ate). Considering room service was only 1 euro more, I would consider this option next time.

Like other reviewers, I found the price of the breakfast a bit unreasonable, but the other meal prices were in line.

Overall, I was impressed with this hotel. I have read other reviews and seen other pictures, but this just was not the experience that I had at this property. I was very pleased and considered it one of the nicest rooms that my son and I stayed in during our two week trip to Europe.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank YYZAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,720 - 1,726 of 2,697 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2009

Admittedly I don't have a lot of experience with Hilton's in Europe, as the ones I've stayed at ranged from Budapest (one of the best stays I've ever had), to Dublin (a budget hotel pretending to be something it clearly wasn't. The Milan Hilton seemed somewhere between those extremes.

In fairness, It was everything you'd expect from a chain hotel, clean, decently appointed, and on the edge of being accessible to the town centre, and yet...

Pros include:

- A very nice buffet breakfast, the eggs were even done right! But, get it with the room otherwise you're paying way too much.

- Room was decent temperature (see con below)

- Very nice size room, this is a post WWII building, as little survived the second WW, so very modern in size and amenities.

- Wake up call was prompt. Amazing how many places get this wrong.

- Check-in staff were very helpful.

Cons include:

- Lack of restaurants nearby. After a full day of sight-seeing and shopping, it's a long walk to someplace decent on Buenos Aires Blvd.

-Side facing street is noisy, no hope of keeping window open for fresh air, unless you wear ear plugs.

Neutral:

- Really firm mattress, if you like that, the bed is great.

- Is nearby the train station, and neighborhood is better then say Rome's, but still not great.

TIP: If you like a kettle in the room for tea, forget it in Italy. They will bring you water, but you'll get charged for it. That seems really "cheap" to me.

Overall, a decent nights sleep, at a expected rate. You get your moneys worth, but not a cent more.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

We arrived at Milan through the Milan Central Train Station so the hotel was an easy 5-10 minutes walk even with luggage. Check-in was a breeze and hotel staff were polite. Rooms were not very big - which is to be expected in Milan. Typical Hilton standard. Good breakfast spread in the morning. Getting to various sights in the city was also convenient as the underground train station was very near. On the whole, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaywai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

I booked my stay with my Honors points for a week end.
I must say, this hotel is not value for money.
As a Diamond member (the highest status at Hilton), we were not upgraded (although there were rooms available). Below some more details.

First the location: far from the real city center, you need to take the subway or taxi in order to reach interesting places.
The room we were originately given did not match with our booking (single beds vs. king size beds), changing it costed us 1 hour.
Room equipment below standard (old furbisishing, molded tiles over the thumb, door frame falling apart when opening the door, awful carpet color but... flat screen TV) and, as it gave to the main road, it was noisy
Personal always disturbing (some highlights: delivery of the weather forecast at 8 pm on Saturday!!! Check of the mini bar at 10 am on Sunday!!! One call to remember to check out on Sunday at 12 am although offerings say we can check out at 6 pm!!!)
No complimentary water (although diamond)

Despite detail feedback, I am still waiting for the hotel manager´s call.

In total, a very disappointing experience. I have experienced different Hiltons so far, but this one is the worst ever. To be avoided in any case

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toto_munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Having read the reviews AFTER booking a bargain of a room on pricline. com (stupid, I know), I braced myself for the worst. I expected some dank, dingy basement room with a view of the HVAC unit. Wrong. Upon arriving, I was greeted warmly by the doorman and then the front desk agent, Ariane. She asked me if I had a Hilton HHonors card and upon presenting it she upgraded me to an executive level room. The room itself was spacious, immaculate, and well-appointed. As I arrived late and then had to catch the Malpensa shuttle (only three blocks to the east, on the far side of Stazione Centrale) early in the morning, I didn't have time to enjoy many of the amenities. However, the Milan Hilton upheld, if not surpassed, the expectations of a Hilton Hotel. Of course, the neighborhood has little to offer and Milan, in general, is an big, ugly city but the Milan Hilton provided an elegant and comfortable respite. If you're on business or you have an early morning flight or train to catch, I would make Milan Hilton my first choice.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJA3840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

I stayed at the Hilton Milan from Sep. 19 through Sep. 23. I used Hilton Hhonors points to book my room. My first pleasant surprise was being given a room when I arrived at the hotel around 8am. The second pleasant surprise was that I was upgraded to an Executive Room (I have Hilton Diamond status). In the short time it took them to give me the key to the room, they sent me to the Executive Lounge for breakfast, and the staff in the Lounge gave me my key when the room was ready (I waited less than 30 minutes for the key). Everyone that I encountered from the check-in desk at reception to the breakfast and evening staff in the Executive Lounge to the staff in the hotel restaurant was extremely friendly and helpful. Each evening until 8pm, the Executive Lounge offered an array of appetizers, cheese, crackers, fruit and many different drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic). The breakfast in the Executive Lounge was excellent as well with a variety of breads, two hot items (changed on a daily basis), cheeses, fruit, cereal, yogurt, etc.

You are provided with two free bottles of water each day in an Executive Room.

The only complaint that I had was the price of Internet access - it was perhaps the most I have ever paid (27 euros per day) anywhere in Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cls4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Hilton Hhonors GOLD member staying on award points. That said, I looked at how much it would cost to stay with a normal booking, and this place is EXPENSIVE (about $400 per night!!).

GOOD
- Very nice and friendly staff that spoke perfect English
- Location VERY convenient to train station - about a 5 minute walk if you take a right as you exit the terminal and follow the main road.
- As a Gold member, we were upgraded to a VERY nice room, given access to the Executive Lounge (free drinks, free snacks, nice rooftop terrace), and free breakfast.
- Room was everything you expect at a Hilton. Stylish and luxurious. Large pillowtop comfortable bed. Huge bathroom (double sinks, separate shower and bath) with very nice amenities. Plasma TV. Plenty of lounge chairs, couch, and working desk. Very clean. Good Air Conditioner. Quiet so you sleep well.

BAD
- I would classify these as minor quibles, but our room had a view of a back alley, we had to wait 15 minutes for our server to bring coffee at breakfast, and this location is a little far to walk to most of the big tourist attractions. We took the subway, which was very painless and easy. You could walk, but it would take about 25 minutes.

BOTTOM LINE
- I would stay here again if I have the points. This place was very nice, very convenient to the train station, and the staff were superb.

OTHER TIPS
- Book your tickets to see Da Vinci's Last Supper IN ADVANCE. We did it, and many tourists arrived and sad that it was sold-out. Personally, we found Milan to be very nice but only a 1-2 night city for tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank usflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#11 of 428 in Milan
6,685 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#36 of 428 in Milan
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#38 of 428 in Milan
1,873 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Stazione Centrale
c-hotels Atlantic
c-hotels Atlantic
#63 of 428 in Milan
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milan

Address: Via Galvani 12, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#80 Business Hotel in Milan
#84 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#95 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $150 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1 block from the Central Train Station and airport shuttle buses, the Hilton Milan boasts an Executive Lounge with an outdoor terrace, and wireless internet access throughout.All Hilton Milan hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Step up from a Hilton Room to an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy appetizers at the Cosmopolitan Lobby Bar Lounge or dine on international and Italian favorites at the Hilton Milan hotel’s Pacific Milano Restaurant. There is fantastic shopping just 2 miles away and Milan attractions like the La Scala opera house are on the hotel's sightseeing tour. When you've explored the city, find peace at Lake Como, an hour away by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milan Hotel Milan
Hilton International Milan
Milan Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing