We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Ranked #43 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had initially booked for a Superior Room. Upon seeing our room, we decided to upgrade to the Deluxe Room for an additional EUR 50.00. Not that the Superior Rooms were bad, but they were definitely small with an outdated room design.

The Deluxe Rooms was a world of difference. Modern design and definitely larger. I suggest immediately booking this room type. My only complaint about this room was its rustic design on the wallpaper which crossed over to the main mirror of the room. It seemed as if the mirrors were old and stained. Of course, it was just all part of the design.

This is a full service hotel with a location that is probably compared to none in Milan. You're right next to the Duomo and all of the city's best shopping. You can't go wrong with Rosa Grand in terms of location.

This is a very basic hotel, fairly new and well designed Deluxe Rooms right in the heart of the city, with disappointing buffet breakfast. Yes, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Big difference between he Superior Room and Deluxe Room. I suggest booking the Deluxe Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SXMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    697
    197
    73
    39
See reviews for
323
484
58
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novara, Piemonte, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I spent 1 night in star hotel rosa grand in october 2013.
Rosa grand is a modern hotel, well furnished, modern, spacious and, of course, in a perfect location in Milan: just behind the dome! From the highest floors you can see a beautiful view of Milan and dome's skyline! Staff is very professional, always ready and kind. My room at 4th floor was very large and confortable, with a lot of space, a beautiful bed, tv, a/c, courtesy set, kettle with tea and coffee, unfortunately without a view of Milan. My bathroom was large, with a phon, with a beautiful bathtub, bathrobe and slippers. Breakfast was Also generous and good quality.
The only partial negative thing was the wi fi. So slow and in my mobile it wasn't working at all.
I spent a very pleasant night here and I highly recommend this hotel, in this dreamly location!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have to apologize in advance, my review consists of 2 part, for tourists and for the hotels management.
Tourists:
The spot is perfect. The hotel is right behind the Duomo and 2 min away from Duomo subway station. And thats pretty much it.
The room vary by the size and cleanness so hope you get lucky but one thing is for sure - the higher floor you get the better. Also try to get something closer to the elevator because the building is old and unless you want to waste some time wandering around the corridor curves you are better of closer to the elevators or as of that matter the stares.
Dont expect any great views, in this area buildings are all very close to each other.
The gym is actually not bad, small but maintained. Gets a bit crowded around 6-7 pm so try to manage your time. Towels and everything else you need including lockers you can find there. If you go and cant open the door just ring the bell, usually it works. Otherwise try to knock maybe if there is already somebody else inside, they will help you too.
Also the hotel offers a pretty wide vary of bathroom amenities. They are not all displayed in your room though. If you shall need anything else, just ring the reception and ask for it specifically.

To the management:
I work in hospitality and consider myself eligible to give you following advices, apologize if i come out a bit harsh but your hotel is my bleeding wound already.
1. Hire an effective shift leader to manage the breakfast. You cant have your waiters walking around with these frustrated faces and mumble complaints as they walk around. They lose a lot of time trying to pass guests order to each other, i get everything myself but i watch people and they wait and suffer. You cant have a waiter taking a tea order from a guest, turn their back and start loudly instruct another person what to do. You get a bad impression, you waste your time, the time of your colleague and the time of the guest. Especially when your colleague doesnt understand you and keep on doing something else.
Please add something new to the buffet. Impossible eating the same limited variety of food every single day for 6 months! Also you might want to pay attention to the person at the restaurant entrance. You lose lots of profit having a person sleepwalking through the day while your guests walk in and out unregistered.
Would be also great if someone took more care about the glasses at the fresh juice table. You run out of them very often and even more often they are bluer if not to say slightly not washed properly.

2. HK. I guess thats the aching spot in all hotels but please... At least teach them to say: Housekeeping!!! When they knock the door and if a sick person asks to make up the room it means that they dont open the window wide open and dont stumble on that person as they storm around. Also you would probably agree with me that when a guest calls a maid after she just replaced the towels and asks her to replace one of them, showing that its dirty, the appropriate response would be apologizing and changing the towel without making it a big deal or a personal insult. In my case i had an entire show or the maid gesticulations, mimics, scrubbing the spot and emotions and it all came down to this: apparently she could never do this, i ruined the towel myself. I was left speechless.
As to the sick people. Guys, i know that its high maintenance, requires a lot of thought and personal involvement but when 3 department of your hotel find out one by one that there is a sick suffering person at the hotel, someone at least gives the guest a call to find out if he/she needs something. Wont lecture you about everything else that could be done to show some care and hospitality.
By the way you have your service door on the 1st floor open for a week. Since monday and today is friday. You provide your guests with a stunning view of your service zones and also a full access to them.

3. Reception. I understand that they are busy but thats your job to create a comfortable working environment for them. Its not normal that you call the desk and no one picks up the phone. International standard is 3 rings and its never like this. The only two efficient people at your desk are Rosanna and a tall middle age gentleman, unfortunately didnt remember his name. And i mean from all shift. Except for concierge, i've never spoken to them.
Yesterday i was asking to send someone to clean my room for 2 hours! Only to send, not for hk to arrive. The young mister couldnt take such an important decision without passing it to another colleague who also preferred to have a team leader calling me. Needless to say that if they promise to return the call, they should do it, not wait for the guest to run out of patience and call some other colleague of theirs. And i have a lot of patience!
4. Great reviews to the technicians. Fast, efficient, many thanks.

Now of course you might consider my reviews and advices or ignore them but if you have any international ambitions i suggest you do because i am not an always complaining guest trying to get his moneys worth, but as a colleague to colleague i highly suggest you review your customer care skills as current system is a slap in the face of any professional who is staying here.

I welcome all the questions and will be happy to help as i can.

Kind regards

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliya212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosaGrand, Direttore at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mrs. Aliya212,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Milan and for sharing your detailed comment about your experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you appreciated our location, right behind the Duomo, our fitness facilities and the bathrooms amenities provided in-room or additionally upon request.
With reference to our rooms, we would like to clarify that they are divided into 5 typologies including Superior, Deluxe, Executive, Junior Suite and Suite which differ for size, furnitures, style, view and services provided. An appropriate cleanness is guaranteed in all our rooms as well as in our public areas.

Thank you very much for your management advices, which are taken in very high consideration, giving us the possibility to implement the corrective actions where needed.

With the hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you back, we would be more than glad to meet you in person to discuss about the hospitality that we strive to provide to our kind Guests.

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Service is good the Concierge
Was amizing (fabio) he give me a nice reccomndation and all it was good .. Rest. And cafe and things to do . Ispend beautiful days in milan .. Location is great also 2 mins you will be in heart of milan

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosaGrand, Direttore at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Abdullah A,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are very glad that you appreciated our hotel and our service.
Especially, your comments on our Concierge Fabio are very rewarding and motivating to continue on this way.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Either you are travelling for business or for pleasure , this is one of your best choice in Milano.
Design hotel in the very heart of Milano , walking distance from the Duomo , Via Durini and the ultimate shopping streets , it has very spacious rooms and vast and enjoyable common spaces.
A little pricy but , you are in Milano and that's a given.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okeanis57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
309 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed in room 408 (superior room) and room 507 (deluxe room) for 4 nights altogether. The deluxe room has a designer touch to it, with subdued colours and clean lines, and a marble-clad bathroom. But we loved the superior room more because of its spaciousness. The washroom (with only corian counter and tiles on walls) in 408 was almost twice as big as the one in 507. There was a big three-sitter couch in 408 that we loved. Both rooms are spotlessly cleaned and both rooms don't offer much of a view (you can see the tips of Duomo's spires over the opposite building from room 507, whereas room 408 opens to a light well).

As others have said, the hotel is centrally located and is a stone's throw away from Duomo, 5 mins walk from Via Monte Napoleon. The breakfast is also great by European standard.

I would've given 5 stars if the room rate isn't so steep...

Room Tip: Most rooms don't have a view. But we prefer superior (esp room 408) to deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosaGrand, Direttore at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Jaylowe,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are very glad that you appreciated our hotel and really hope to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a great hotel in a superb location. The hotel is situated a minute's walk from Duomo and is at the heart of the major shopping district in Milan. The hotel is clean and modern and the rooms very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good but the selection and service could have been better. Overall a good place to stay if you want to experiance the best of Milan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#23 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Rosa Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Rosa Grand

Property: Starhotels Rosa Grand
Address: Piazza Fontana, 3, 20122 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
#52 Family Hotel in Milan
#67 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Rosa Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosa Grand hotel perfectly captures Milan's mix of the innovative and the inspiring. The refurbished interior exudes Italian craftsmanship with each of the 330 rooms fusing impeccable comfort with chic Italian style. Widely acclaimed as one of the best hotels in Milan, the Rosa Grand puts you in the heart of the city's historic district with the Duomo and world-famous Via Monte Napoleone just moments away. Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels' offering. Eataly will create made to measure menus, events and collaborative initiatives with star chefs and also provide consulting on the selection of raw materials and products for Starhotels catering. Collaboration has begun at the three restaurants in the cosmopolitan Rosa Grand in Milan, where art, design, one-off details and creative recipes will give you an extremely enjoyable break. Open every day from 7am to 11 pm. The Wellness Center offers state-of- the-art equipment for a total workout and a relax area complete with Turkish bath and solarium. Your very own Personal Trainer is available upon request and must be reserved in advanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Rosa Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Rosa Grand Milan
Starhotels Rosa Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing