We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has a great location for people, who want to see monuments, or do shopping.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione
Ranked #41 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

It is located near Il Duomo, La Scala, and the passage. The church Santa-Maria-della-Grazia is far, but you can always catch a taxi. The service takes your car to the undergroung car park, breakfast is included, the rooms have big beds, and there is Wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

I booked two nights in a supposed " Executive room" described as larger and glamourous...

Not large at all, In fact, a kind of chained hotel with a large window... a poor bathroom where the shower had been "repaired" with an adhesive tape...

Would have been perfect for 250 euros, not more! Cost of the room for two nights : 1057, 40 euros!!!! No need to say more.

For sure, you are 2mns walking distance from Duomo... So what?

Room Tip: Maybe the Royal Suite if they have one and you want a "normal "sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosami05, Direttore at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Mr RPluxe,
thank you very much for choosing our Starhotels Rosa Grand for your recent stay in Milan and for dedicating part of your precious time to share your review about our Executive rooms.
We regret for learning our failure in meeting your "price for value" expectations.
The hotel features 327 rooms including Superior, Deluxe, Executive, Junior Suites and Suites which differ for size, furnitures, style and services provided. Our glamorous Executive rooms, in particular, are absolutely stunning and flooded with natural light, thanks to their floor to ceiling windows. They perfectly combine elegance and hi-tech, with plenty of space to relax (about 300 sq feet / 25mq) or to work, being they provided with free WiFi Internet connection, a large writing desk, minibar and our soft Starbed.
Prices change according to seasonality, hotel's occupancy and time of booking.
Should you like to re-consider our hotel for eventual future stays in Milan, please do not hesitate to contact us directly for finding togheter the most appropriate accomodation as for your needs.
We do hope to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The location of the Hotel is great and is right next to the Duomo and best shopping areas in the city center. Overall the facilities are good, not great, but more than adequate in most ways. However, one of the front desk workers (Donato) was extremely rude and hung up on me when I called and asked for permission to enter the workout room 20 minutes early. He said, sorry the facility is closed and does not open till 7am, and when I tried to ask him if they could let me in a little early because I had an early meeting, he just hung up. Mind, you there really is no reason why one cannot use the room early, its a tiny little workout room with 1 treadmill and a few dumbbells, and no attendant. No idea why he treated me so rudely

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosami05, Direttore at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Mr. Jeff M,
Thank you very much for choosing our Starhotels Rosa Grand for your recent stay in Milan and for dedicating part of your precious time to give us a feedback.
The Guests' comments and suggestions are very important to us, and we regret for learning our failure in meeting your service expectations at front office during the night shift.
We assure that our staff is fully committed to deliver to our kind Guests the finest service, and any action needed to prevent the recurrance of similar events, such as yours, will be immediately undertaken.
At the same time we would like to confirm that our fitness room, which is provided with free weights, exercise bikes, treadmills, steppers and ab benches, is open on a daily basis from 7:00am to 11:00pm.
Hope to welcoming you back in the nearest future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was a spur-of-the-moment reservation when we realized that the hotel we had originally chosen had terrible reviews on TA. It was a good choice. The room and the bathroom were beautifully decorated, and the king-size bed had a mattress very similar to our TempurPedic mattress at home. It was also a short walk to the Duomo, the Galleria Vittorio Emanuelle, the Duomo Piazza, and good restaurants. The concierge and front desk staff helpfully answered our questions. The only downside was that my husband dropped his cellphone in the lounge area the first afternoon, and even though we looked for it within 15 minutes it was never found. We asked the staff for help, but I'm not sure anyone bothered.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSIslandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Two friends and I just spent an all too brief weekend in Milan and stayed at the Rosa Grand. The location was perfect with the Duomo, Gallerias and Castle all within walking distance. We found the breakfast offered a considerable choice and waiting staff were happy to bring refills of coffee and tea. Our room didn't have a great view but we were only in it to sleep, so really not a problem. More importantly the beds were extremely comfortable and the A/C meant it was wonderful to return to our room after our trips out. The concierge phoned a small trattoria a friend had recommended and made a reservation for us and the bar staff were pleasant when we had an apero before dinner. Our room, like the common parts of the hotel, was clean and modern and the tea/coffee facility was a bonus. I agree that it was a nuisance that wi- fi was not freely available in the rooms but it was actually quite nice to not be bothered with emails on our short break. I would definitely stay there again if there was a good room rate available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel was perfectly loaded for our 20 hour stopover in Milan. We were able to walk to the Duomo, La Scala and Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II as well as a power shop in La Rinacentre. The staff were very helpful and recommended a charming trattoria off the tourist trail for dinner, Il Coriandolo. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueKSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed two nights in this hotel which is in a perfect location to access the main attractions of Milan. Just near the Duomo, Galleria and La Scala.
The hotel appears to be recently renovated, certainly the lobby and bar area were very chic in appearance. Our room appeared renovated with nice furnishings and marble bathroom. It was an adequate size with glimpses of the Cathedral spires above opposite building walls. Our friends room overlooked a neighbouring wall and fire escape, really no outlook and the room lacked natural light. I notice other reviewers have commented on the lack of outlook of some rooms so it might be worth checking the location of the room you are booking. I suspect that the front rooms onto the Piazza Fontana are the only ones with a decent outlook. The corridors to the rooms in the hotel are a bit of a "rabbit warren" and can be confusing.
The bathroom and bed linen were quality, and bed was comfortable. Room cleanliness was good. Room lighting options were good.
Most of the staff we had contact with were friendly and efficient, with particular mention of the concierge who was very helpful.
The side was let down however by the breakfast staff who appeared inefficient and disinterested. We observed one male staff member being very rude to a customer who was a bit confused as where to be seated. Breakfast provisions were not great with limited healthy choices particularly cereals. Provisions were also not replaced efficiently( for eg, both mornings coffee machine had run out as had fresh milk, resulting in queues). I would suggest efficiency in this area needs reviewing.
Free Internet access is only available in the lobby, in room access is charged at six euro per 24 hours - I believe it should be included. In fact our written reservation confirmation stated Internet access was included but we were still charged for in room use.
So in general a pleasant stay in a very well located hotel in a great city and in which we would be happy to stay again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank davestan12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosami05, Direttore at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Mr. Davestan,

Thank you very much for choosing our Starhotels Rosa Grand for your recent stay in Milan and for dedicating part of your precious time to give us a feedback.
The Guests' comments and suggestions are very important to us, and we are very pleased to know that you have generally appreciated our location and the service provided by the staff. At the same time, we regret for learning our failure in meeting your expectations with the breakfast service. We assure that our staff is fully committed to deliver to our Guests the finest service, and any action needed to prevent the recurrance of similar events, such as yours, will be immediately undertaken.
With reference to the internet service, we would like to inform you that it is included in our public areas as well as in our Deluxe, Executive rooms, Junior Suites and Suites. The promotion does not include the Superior rooms for which we provide the service upon payment.
Remaining at your complete disposal for any further need, we do hope to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#14 of 431 in Milan
1,101 reviews
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#36 of 431 in Milan
1,387 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#104 of 431 in Milan
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione

Address: Piazza Fontana, 3, 20122 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Milan
#35 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
#67 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $244 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosa Grand hotel perfectly captures Milan's mix of the innovative and the inspiring. The refurbished interior exudes Italian craftsmanship with each of the 330 rooms fusing impeccable comfort with chic Italian style. Widely acclaimed as one of the best hotels in Milan, the Rosa Grand puts you in the heart of the city's historic district with the Duomo and world-famous Via Monte Napoleone just moments away. Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels' offering. Eataly will create made to measure menus, events and collaborative initiatives with star chefs and also provide consulting on the selection of raw materials and products for Starhotels catering. Collaboration has begun at the three restaurants in the cosmopolitan Rosa Grand in Milan, where art, design, one-off details and creative recipes will give you an extremely enjoyable break. Open every day from 7am to 11 pm. The Wellness Center offers state-of- the-art equipment for a total workout and a relax area complete with Turkish bath and solarium. Your very own Personal Trainer is available upon request and must be reserved in advanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Rosa Grand Milan
Starhotels Rosa Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing