We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a excellent central Milan Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione
Ranked #41 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

It is difficult to top this hotel for location, convenience and quality. 1 minute to the Duomo; all of the great shops and sights, and a short walk to the Brera. Excellent overall, and we would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Shane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,863 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

Firstly, the hotel is a nice enough!

We arrived in Milan having booked a regular room, which we thought would be nicely refurbished like the website shows, or a plush looking classic room.

The classic room was the default room, which was tired, dreary and somewhat dank looking. We decided to upgrade our room to one of the nicer refurbished rooms which was worth the extra money or so we thought.

The mattresses were inordinately hard but after a whole day of walking around this did not matter much!! Come 7.30/8.00 am we were awoken by the cleaners banging and chatting in the store cupboard that was next door (avoid room 516). We were only in Milan for 4 nights and thought that seeing as we were up at 8.30 every morning that this wouldn't be an issue, but it was!

Having spoken to the manager at the front desk on out penultimate day, nothing was offered by way of remedy, all we received were denials, as apparently cleaning staff do not arrive before 8.30 am... well having once looked outside our room and seeing the cleaners in the store room this was clearly a lie!!!!

Breakfasts are only made up of pastries, ham, cheese, bread, scrambled eggs, processed chicken frankfurters and bacon, but alas, lots of cafes within whistling distance.

Get a nice room and this will be a pleasant stay, worth it and I would go back but not room 516.

Room Tip: Not room 516. If you upgrade your room, make sure you bargain on the nightly price, ours went from 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Mr. Dhalv,
We are very glad you chose the Rosa Grand on the occasion of your stay in Milan.
Thank you for writing about us on TripAdvisor and for giving us the opportunity to clarify with regards to your notes.
We are happy you liked the style of our Deluxe rooms altough we are pleased to inform you that the majority of our Superior rooms, by the classical style, have been recently renovated. We are also very pleased to have had the chance to offer you the Deluxe room type room at a very discounted rate.
Unfortunately, as you mentioned yourself, you made us aware of the noise which woke you up, just late in the evening of your last night stay, and the Hotel had no chance to move you.
Please be sure that the issue you reported is under investigation. As you have been told by our Front of House Manager, our chambermaids start their cleaning at 8.30 am (Italian time). We guess there should be a misunderstanding due to the clock setting.
Our staff knows the importance of keeping all common areas calm and quite, while on duty, and we do apologize if that did not happen this time. We are sorry that you did not notice our efforts, also in terms of your balance, and to learn you are under the opinion that nothing was done to make it right for you.
We really hope to have one more chance to welcome you back soon and to provide you with our best care and attention to recover from any negative impression of yours.
Sincere regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay in rosa grand hotel. The breakast is delicious, the elevators are many and new. The rooms are really nice with good air conditioning , and the bathroom is great. The location is very good. I advise you travelers to book in this hotel because it is not too expensive and it is really nice . Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majdcaracalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We booked a non smoking room witha a view for our anniversary for 4 nights ,, the lobby was very good .. But when we walked inour room it was terrible ,, it smells like someone has just smoked in then we contacted the reciption and they were so inpolite and told us that this is only the room with view they have ,, so we told them to forget about the view and give us a non smoking room ,, the room was so old and the carpet was disgusting ,, the furniture was broken and the bathroom with so many plumming problem ,,

When we call the house keeping to ask if they serve a complementry water for the rooms ,, they said yes in the first day only ,, and when i said we didn't have our water they tell me that this is oly for some rooms !!!!

Their AC doesnt work properly and it's lile a fan ,, we called them to come and check it out they didn't and ignore us and after 3 calls they send someone and he came finally and told us that there Ac have a fixed tepture and no matter we change it it won't ,, the lcation was the only thing was good ,,

There breakfast was extremly busy ,,, defently not staying again ,,

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Hadeel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Mr. Hadeel F.,
Thank you very much for choosing the Rosa Grand for your stay in Milan.
We absolutely regret to learn about your disappointment with concearn to our property and services.
Please believe that your feedbacks have been taken into very high consideration. Our staff is always very committed to our Guest’s needs and we are very sorry for any type of misunderstanding which seams have occurred upon check in or even when enquiring about the air conditioning system. We also ensure you that our housekeeping department takes daily care of cleaness and maintenace of our rooms and public areas and we very regret if you were under a different opinion.
We really hope we could just have one more opportunity to welcome you back and recover from these first impressions of yours. In fact we do have several categories of rooms suitable to any preferences. Although most of our Superior rooms have been recently refurbished, you migh prefer the style of our Deluxe and Executive rooms, modern and contemporary. By reserving these types of rooms you also have additional benefits included, i.e: free internet and complimentary bottle of water (executive, junior suite and Suite only). All pictures and descriptions are available on our official website.
We remain at your complete disposal for any of your request or need and we thank you once more for all of your notes that help us to constantly improve our customer care quality level and our property.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

if you have up to 2 days to visit Milan this is the hotel to choose. As lot of people is saying this is few steps or minutes from shops, restaurants, metro, tram and the Duomo and Gallery.
There are different type of rooms and hotel is under maintenance to improve some rooms... Choose from website according to the available budget you have. I stayed at a Executive and yes it is nice and modern but I would say a little expensive compared to the "deluxe Rooms". I guess the difference is executive has complimentary water but I was not told about that so not use the "advantage". So Deluxe rooms looks like to be a fair option. In future Superior rooms which are "rebuilt" can also be an option for budget.
It is a Global hotel: you see people from almost all world and so breakfast is a kind of United Nations... maybe it is so similar to UN that some "caos" in service can occur when too much people in place. Breakfast was good enough for a 4 stars hotel. Very nice the evening touch of a little "buffet" for those taken an aperitif /drink at the bar... by the way bar staff is friendly. All in all this is certainly an hotel to take into account when planning to stay in Milan.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOUREJIC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The location of this Hotel could not be better, as it is right behind the Duomo.

We were welcomed very nicely and overall staff appeared to be naturally friendly.

Our rooms were nice and comfortable. As we were travelling with children we had booked a triple room which was like a Junior suite.

The hotel has a nice restaurant onsite that served decent food in a stilish atmosphere.
Breakfast buffet is also at that restaurant and the quality and variety is very good.

Wireless Internet is available in the room. Although it appears costly at the beginning, we could get some vouchers at the reception for 30 minutes (each) free access.

Overall we had a great stay and would certainly recommend this hotel for any kind of traveller.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giappo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Rooms were nice but best part was the location directly next to all the best shops and restaurants. Milan was much nicer than Paris, cleaner, better food, nicer people. Dress well as everyone in Milan dresses like they are going out even early in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#14 of 431 in Milan
1,100 reviews
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#36 of 431 in Milan
1,386 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#105 of 431 in Milan
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione

Address: Piazza Fontana, 3, 20122 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Milan
#35 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
#67 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $237 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosa Grand hotel perfectly captures Milan's mix of the innovative and the inspiring. The refurbished interior exudes Italian craftsmanship with each of the 330 rooms fusing impeccable comfort with chic Italian style. Widely acclaimed as one of the best hotels in Milan, the Rosa Grand puts you in the heart of the city's historic district with the Duomo and world-famous Via Monte Napoleone just moments away. Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels' offering. Eataly will create made to measure menus, events and collaborative initiatives with star chefs and also provide consulting on the selection of raw materials and products for Starhotels catering. Collaboration has begun at the three restaurants in the cosmopolitan Rosa Grand in Milan, where art, design, one-off details and creative recipes will give you an extremely enjoyable break. Open every day from 7am to 11 pm. The Wellness Center offers state-of- the-art equipment for a total workout and a relax area complete with Turkish bath and solarium. Your very own Personal Trainer is available upon request and must be reserved in advanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Rosa Grand Milan
Starhotels Rosa Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing