We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pleasant last night in Milan.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione
Ranked #45 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The somewhat tacky name and the ugly modern facade of this hotel have always repelled me from staying there, until last December we decided to try it for a one-night stay, connecting to our Boston flight from Malpensa after a long sojourn in Rome. The hotel had some great rates at that time, and considering its fantastic location, we opted to give it a try.

Rosa Grand has pleasantly surprised and in many ways exceeded expectations. The reception area was in a subdued modern design, a bit claustrophobic with low ceilings, but when we entered our room #448, we sighed with relief – it was quite large, beautifully equipped with quality furnishings, with plenty of closet space and just an overall opulent look. The marble bathroom was shining of cleanliness and luxury; everything was made to please.

The bed was very comfortable and the quality of sleep excellent; we asked for a quiet room and ended up with a courtyard view, which assured total quietness.

The location is as central as it can be, close to every attraction in the city, including Duomo, Via dei Mercanti, Pinacoteca Ambrosiana, Teatro alla Scala, a walk to Pinacoteca di Brera, and also very close to the famous shopping streets. One can either walk or take a metro from Duomo station to fabulous sites like monastery of San-Maurizio with Bernardino Luini frescoes or Sant’Ambrogio basilica, an architectural wonder containing Carolingian medieval sculptural masterpieces.

The breakfast was excellent, varied and rich; it started early enough for us to catch it before departing to Malpensa airport; the concierge would first try to sell you a limo ride there (over 100 euro), but I insisted on learning a more economical way, and it turned out to be a taxi to Ponta Garibaldi train station, from where there is a train to Malpensa.

Thus, our stay in Rosa Grand was very satisfying. My critique would be a somewhat slow drain in the shower; perhaps it is by now addressed.

Otherwise, it is a high-quality hotel, as its rate would imply; recommended if you wish to pamper yourself with excellent comfort and to pay handsomely for it – most hotels in Milan are extraordinary expensive for what you get, and Rosa Grand is no exception. Yet on the Milanese price scale, it provides great comfort, especially if you don’t mind super-modern bare-to-bones design in public areas, which to me looks cold and impersonal, and not overly elegant for such a pricey hotel. We went for dinner instead in a restaurant in the Galleria Vittorio Emmanuele, which is conveniently very close to the hotel. That made our Milan one-day voyage complete, and left pleasant memories from our last night on the Italian soil.

Room Tip: Room 448 is facing courtyard and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Dear Mr. Gradiva,
We are extremely happy that you chose the Rosa Grand and also glad to learn you enjoyed staying with us!
We are pleased to know you appreciated the advantages that our Hotel offers. We strive to exceed our Guests expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with positive experiences.
Your nice words will gratify who works every day to deliver the best four star service and we can all learn from your notes how to work towards even better service in the future.
We look forward to your return, on the occasion of your next visit to Milan and we send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

I had the opportunity to stay twice at the Rosa Grand. My first experience was very good: a completely refurbished hotel room, with a nice room service. I was very impressed.
That is why I booked there a second time. Unfortunately, I didn't know that there were 2 types of rooms: the "deluxe" ones that were renewed and easily accessible and the "normal" ones. The latter ones are comfortable and nice but they look very old and to access them seems like being in a labyrinth.
But it remains a good hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredK1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Dear Mr. FredK1412,
Thank you for having returned to the Rosa Grand and for your feedback.
Our Hotel has over three hundred rooms that are divided into five categories of different styles. Superior of a classical style, Deluxe of a renovated and modern style and Executive, Junior Suite and Suite of an elegant and contemporary style in the brand new wing of the building.
We are glade for your positive impression of our Hotel and we do hope to welcome you back soon to the room category that suits your preferences the best!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

hotel is in the heart of the milan, very close to every where, renevatıon is good, rooms are very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Visiting Europe, me and a friend of mine with our families have stayed in this hotel for 3 days. This was a nice thought because this big hotel is in a very good and strategic location, and because from Milan we were able to visit Florence and Venice in a day.

Arriving we were impressed of how nice the hotel was and how lovely Milano seamed from what we saw. At the entrance there was a kind gentleman that routed us to the reception that is not easily recognizable. In a way for the poor light and mostly for the lot of people being there. Yes, since the very begging we find queues. We arrived 10.30 in the morning and we waited 20 minutes to be quickly dismissed because the check in was for the afternoon. We were routed by the unfriendly ladies working there to the concierge desk for the bags we lost in the trip, and we were told to come later. No need to tell you that there were more than 5 people queuing at the desk, and honestly we thought it was too much to wait. We had a walk and returned around 3 p.m, and after a queue we met again an unfriendly young lady that was speaking a superb English, and even more unfriendly lady with glasses that make us wait 10 additional minutes in order to know if our rooms were ready or not. I was trying to explain concerning our luggage, but those ladies didn't even let me finish to speak, I was told that they can not help us and routed again at the concierge, and guess what? there were more than 10 people around that desk again. The entry hall was full of different people, a load of people from Middle and Far East and a bunch of Eastern Europeans moving around with the IPhones and IPads allover (I discovered later why, the wifi is free only in the lobby, imagine?!). The hotel have few couches and chairs in the common areas and they were all full, and a hall was full of bags for people departing somewhere together, there was a bus in front. So, we queued again to the lift that took us to the 4th floor and we find hardly our rooms at the end of a very looong corridor. What can I say, we booked on the Expedia site and the prize was honest, but we get two standard rooms far away, with a red carpet threadbare in years, wooden furniture from the 80-es, but very clean and comfortable, I would be laying to say else, but we slept well, the bad and pillows were so good and it was clean and nice, but again, nothing to do with the way the hotel present on-line itself.

Queue for the breakfast, queues to enter, imagine you have to "register" with a very nice lady, than take a seat and wait so long to be served. Overall the service was good, but the restaurant is dark, strange and there was so many people that we four had trouble even speaking to each other. Queue again to the front desk, unsuccessful attempt to obtain some information, and we left the hotel frustrated. It has not been and experience that we would have expected, overall it was really the level of service and guest relation that you would expect in a such a place. At least Milano was fantastic, the weather so nice, later Florence and Venice too, Italy is such a nice country.

Sometimes I think that some things do not happen accidentally, sometimes there is a karmic force that provide quick changes and it is able to change things dramatically. That it what happened on a second day, we all met a young gentleman that turned our holiday in to a win. Thinking about this experience, in agree with my wife and our friends I have a moral debt to thank this person like this, I did it on departure, and I will do that again by mail to the management. As I said, some things work as they should, and returning to the hotel we met this gentleman called SavoV. I have no words to explain with what authority, knowledge and grace he moves, acts and manage guests and colleagues in that reception. He should be some sort of manager there, I did not understand completely, but believe me that for any kind of query you should ask him there. Suddenly our journey switch into a pleasant stay, suddenly the bags were delivered and we spoke to the concierge, they fixed the air conditioning in the room and the sink, but most of all we felt like well treated, considered and assisted guests. The queues were still there, the unfriendly staff too, but this gentleman did even more than his job. We were surprised of how he was able to suggest and explain us things we saw, and most of all how skilled and nice this person was, seeing him in the Rosa hotel shows how passionate you can be doing your job. After him we changed our mind and I decided to write here on Tripadvisor. This because if we knew what and who to ask we would have been able to avoid all the bothering.

After three days queue again on check out, we payed and left queuing again for the taxi. Overall this is a place to visit, hopefully no when is full. There is a lack of lite allover, and some persons should change their job, but the hotel itself is worth of visiting. if we would be able to we will return again, with no queues I hope.

John, Perth, Australia, stayed end October 2011

Room Tip: Please ask to have a room near the elevator and of a new category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnClaire264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear Mr. JohnClair,

Thank you for staying at the Rosa Grand and for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

Please be assured we read through your words very carefully!
In particular we regret to learn of your thoughts not very positive with regards to a few members of our staff who were probably so focused on their tasks that they turned the chances to assist you into missed opportunities to deliver the proper genuine four star service which we constantly strive to provide to all our Guests. Please accept our most sincere apologies for this.
Your review has been submitted to the attention of everyone including our colleague Savo.
We feel relieved by knowing that his good attitude turned your stay into a pleasant one.
We are glad to aknowledge you are considering to return back to our Hotel!
You can reserve any of our room categories according to your preferences. All the related pictures and descriptions are available on our official website as well as in the other e-commerce ones.
We are also pleased to be at your disposal for any inquiries.
We are very looking forward to welcoming you back and to offering you our best level of service.
Sincere regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Having stayed in this hotel several times I was without internet connection in the room for 3 days in early September. Nobody could fix the problem!!
Back for one day in early October exactly the same problem - no internet connection in the room was possible!
If you need internet don't stay here! (Staff always blames Swisscom service provider)

Hotel looks nice and is in a great location.
However, not for business people relying on internet connections for work!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter778899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Dear Mr. skierMilano,
Thank you for choosing the Rosa Grand when staying in Milan for work.
We clearly understand the high importance of internet connection nowadays, especially for business travelers. That is the reason why Starhotels rely on Swisscom, the leading Swiss provider of innovative communications and IT solutions.
We are extremely sorry to acknowledge your dissatisfaction with regards to this service.
Thank you for pointing it out. We have already provided to install few more repeaters in some areas of our Hotel in order to improve the signal and get a much better connection. Please be assured that we are very looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel and doing our outmost to assist you with any inquiries on the high speed connection service and with any other request of yours.
Kindly accept our sincere regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The Starhotel Rosa Grand is extremely well located, right next to the Duomo square. It has a glamurous entrance, with a fairly flashy lobby full of Arabs and Russians with their extravagant clothes and huge loads of luxury shopping bags. Now, do not be fooled by all of this: if you got a good deal over the internet, you are in for a surprise. After checking in, without much service or even a smile from the automats at reception, there is a chance that you are going to be put into the unrenovated part of the hotel. Just think super cheap wooden furniture, more at home at a Citadines hotel, cheap bathroom tiles imitating marble, etc. NOTHING to do with the rest of the rooms, which I assume must be reserved for the much wealthier and thus much more important Arab and Russian guests. And the shock is not over: pay 5 euros to use the wifi network, and pray to the gods that the heating/air conditioning or the room telephone actually work in that forgotten wing of the hotel! Chances are they will not. You think you had seen it all? The breakfast buffet has as much glamour as the McDonalds down the road, and pretty much as good a service from the waiters just DYING to take your dishes away as soon as you are done and to push you away from your table. Oh, and please please do not forget to talk to the concierge for the ultimate experience in 5 star service: he will be more than happy to simply give you a second hand map of the city and provide absolutely no indications when you ask him about the city attractions, restaurants, etc.
All in all, like many things in Milan, not everything that shines is gold. Hell, it is actually cheap tin.

Room Tip: Just make sure you actually ask for a room in the NEW and renovated part of the hotel. The other par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Spanishwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Dear Mr. Spanishwanderer,
Thank you for stay at the Rosa Grand and for your review which gives us the precious opportunity to experience our service though our Guests' eyes.
Our Hotel has over three hundred rooms divided in many categories. You can book any of our accommodation, starting by the Superior room type, elegant classical style rooms with warm cherry wood furniture and soft carpet, our Deluxe rooms, bright and modern with parquet floor and our glamorous Executive, Junior Suite or Suite located in the most recent wing of the Hotel, flooded with natural light, parquet floor, design details in leather and velvet. Your room will be assigned according to the category reserved, just following to your preferences.
We can assure you that we constantly pay particular attention to the cleanliness and maintenance of all our rooms and public areas. The Starhotels Rosa Grand takes extremely care of details to guarantee our best level of service. There is no trust of luck with regards to the quality of our facilities!
We regret to learn of our failure on meeting your expectations to the fullest, and we took good notes of all of your comments as there is always room to improve! We are very looking forward for a new chance to welcoming you back and show you what makes us proud of our property and our four star service!
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Very clean room, very nice hotel. The staff are extremely UN-friendly specially front desk.

Restaurant had minimum menu for lunch wrong price and menue was communicated to me and when this was brought up to the restaurant manager he did not care and did not do anything about it.
If you want just a nice clean room this hotel is ok. I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Dear Mr. bob S,
Thank you for writing about us on Tripadvisor after your stay with us.
Everyone at the Rosa Grand takes good note of all types of comments and suggestions as they represent a precious opportunity to improve our services.
We are sorry to learn you experienced services below your expectations. We do regret the impression you got of not being take care of. Please be assured we strive to deliver our best level of service to all our Guests. We will do our best to avoid these issues from happenning again in future.
We hope you will consider giving us one more chance to welcome you back in spite of your first impression.
We would really like to show you what makes us proud of our four star service!
Please accept our sincere regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 427 in Milan
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#21 of 427 in Milan
762 reviews
Uptown Palace
#61 of 427 in Milan
1,601 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione

Address: Piazza Fontana, 3, 20122 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
#39 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#52 Family Hotel in Milan
#67 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $228 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosa Grand hotel perfectly captures Milan's mix of the innovative and the inspiring. The refurbished interior exudes Italian craftsmanship with each of the 330 rooms fusing impeccable comfort with chic Italian style. Widely acclaimed as one of the best hotels in Milan, the Rosa Grand puts you in the heart of the city's historic district with the Duomo and world-famous Via Monte Napoleone just moments away. Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels' offering. Eataly will create made to measure menus, events and collaborative initiatives with star chefs and also provide consulting on the selection of raw materials and products for Starhotels catering. Collaboration has begun at the three restaurants in the cosmopolitan Rosa Grand in Milan, where art, design, one-off details and creative recipes will give you an extremely enjoyable break. Open every day from 7am to 11 pm. The Wellness Center offers state-of- the-art equipment for a total workout and a relax area complete with Turkish bath and solarium. Your very own Personal Trainer is available upon request and must be reserved in advanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Rosa Grand Milan
Starhotels Rosa Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing