We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover”
Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Ranked #37 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel doesn't look much from outside but once you are in your room things change. We stayed in room 216 which had a king bed. Both it and the pillows were very comfy. It had a great shower and amenities. There was a heated towel rail which was great for drying hand washing. Breakfast was excellent, with a huge variety and the best croissants ever. The hotel is very close to Central Station. Service is very good. We were very impressed by Luigi S. at reception.

Room Tip: Room 216 is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les6447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Starhotel E.c.ho. in April for 3 nights. The hotel itself was really great. The room was small but clean and very nice. The bathroom was a good size, and also modern and nice. We found the front desk staff to be friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast each morning.

Usually we prefer to stay in hotels that are closer to the city center, however the Starhotel E.c.ho. is not in the central part of Milan. The hotel is across the street from the main train station, which was perfect for our trip. We took a day trip to Lake Como (highly recommend) and also to Cinque Terre, so close access to the train station was very important to us. We felt safe even when we walked to/from the station in the morning and evening. It was easy to get on the metro from the station to go into the tourist areas of Milan.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel in Milan, especially if you are taking day trips from the city. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Good location (2 minutes from Milano centrale statation where you have submay and trains), helpful staff, new facilities with sustainable features, international breakfast style and a small but comfortable room.
I had issues with internet comnection log in but I believe it was specific.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dalva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Starhotel, was better than expectations of a boutique hotel. The check in staff were professional with added value to their service as the we were very informative about the city's attractions, dinning and shopping, quite a pleasant surprise.
The hotel itself also had a very nice relaxing ambiance in the lobby and there were lots sofas and space to rest and sit around, which is made it quite nice for the quests.
The rooms were well maintained with relatively quite spacious bathrooms.
We had a problem with the WI FI which was very difficult to log into as logging in was a problem, and we ended up with so may log in code to keep trying to log on, we brought this up to the front desk and they were very helpful and even sent a staff to the room.
We also had a problem with the bed as it was a twin put together instead of a double, to which there was a reply in writing from the management, explaining and an apology.
All in all, the staff and management was professional in the handling of our feedback and
that makes a real difference in a hotel, the people. Hope they stay this way.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineTan4004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a very new-looking hotel between the Centrale rail station (and associated metro / bus connections) and Caiazzo (which has metro, bus and tram lines). The area ia perhaps not the nicest, but it is very convenient for arrival from any of the airports and access to the city attractions (100m from either stop). The reception staff are friendly and efficient, though perhaps more orientated to business users than tourists. Nonetheless, they greeted us in English on recognition of this need, provided maps and suggestions to access the city by public transport, in addition to a booklet on shopping at our request.
We got a free room upgrade (though our room was not a suite, still a double of moderate size). We checked in at 1pm, and were offered checkout at 1pm (usually 12pm), since they needed the room vacant by then. No pool I think, and we didn't use the gym.
The breakfast was above average (included) - croissants, some English fried, fruits, yoghurt, juices. Wifi was free at standard speed (adequate for browsing and email) for 24 hours. The bar is quiet, but has lovely deep sofas that are comfortable to sit in, and food that is very good quality (recommend the tomato mozarrello salad).
Room decor is modern and clean. Bathroom similar. TV has USB port to plug in video / pictures, though the remote is not a Philips original and makes using it for this purpose hard to work out. The HDMI port is not accessible for your own device.
If you do go here as a tourist, I would strongly recommend taking Tram 1 from Caiazzo (towards Castillo) into the city (100m from Duomo, but no specific Duomo stop) and past the castle (you will see the new Expo 2015 entrance as you stop in front of it) rather than the metro (which is certainly faster). It is one of the old wooden yellow trams and worth the journey to see the city as you go by. Surprising the reception staff didn't mention it as an option.
Could this hotel be improved? Probably... But not by much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugm6hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Location is very convenient as it is close to the train station and all subway lines are going there. You are in duomo square in very few minutes. Inside the hotel everything is well designed from lobby to rooms. Tip: go up to the 7th floor in the fitness room and check the view from the terrace!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christophe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is great, within walking distance to Milan Centrale ( well across the street really ). The airport shuttles are all there as well. As Milan was our main hub and we travelled to lake Como, Cinque Terre and Venice it was the perfect location if you are using the Italian rail. It is also located on the main metro line for most of the main attraction in Milan eg. Duomo, The last supper
We had a family room for 2 adults and 3 children. The room was beautiful, modern and spacious.
The entire staff and especially the front desk were great and i could not have asked for any better service!
Breakfast selection was very good. We will be returning to this hotel !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peng Sze C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#69 of 427 in Milan
1,432 reviews
Stazione Centrale
C-Hotels Atlantic
C-Hotels Atlantic
#64 of 427 in Milan
994 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#11 of 427 in Milan
6,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#50 of 427 in Milan
1,318 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#40 of 427 in Milan
781 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#79 of 427 in Milan
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Milan
#27 Business Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#31 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#47 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $139 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.C.Ho. Has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar (the Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels’ offering.)5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing