We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, Cool Design”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Ranked #36 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very friendly, Cool Design”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great location looking right on to Central Station, this hotel is new, very stylishly designed and constructed out of as many sustainable materials as possible. It’s also really friendly and welcoming.
I booked a ‘Junior suite’ for 225 Euros a night, although I personally would not call it that!
It was more like a double room divided by a half wall – with the desk and sofa at one end and the bed the other – it was a lot smaller than I would normally expect a small suite to be – even in central Milan – but it despite that it was a really nice room.
Two large windows looked down on the street below (it was on the fourth floor) and let in plenty of daylight. It was tastefully decorated in neutral tones and nicely designed. The bathroom (it had a shower rather a bath) was off a narrow corridor and it too was quite tight, but well-proportioned and designed by someone who’d actually used a bathroom – with everything you needed there and in practical places!
It was a cozy room, the temperature was just right – not too cold which I often feel - the lighting was good, I felt very comfortable there and slept very well. I was only there for a couple of days and on the first day it was only the evening.
The corridors on the room floors were nicely lit, but a bit claustrophobic and you once again felt a bit squeezed in – but I am sure for the price of the real estate in that part of town … there was plenty of squeezings!
The WIFI was free in the rooms and they gave you a bunch of vouchers so you could connect as multiple devices … but it was really flaky!!!
The free line was desperately slow, the upload was throttled at 50Mb and the download to I think 250 – either way – I hammered that in about 20 minutes! I had about a 400Mb upload of photos to push to my FTP so I bought the ‘business’ package for 8 euros … and the upload on THAT was also restricted to 250 Mb I think … anyway, I called down to try and get the restriction lifted – you can usually do this, but in some places it’s a real hassle …. So I ended up also purchasing another 8 Euro business package for my other laptop!
I did eventually manage to get all of the images there .. but it took two machines that had to be constantly monitored, a stupidly long amount of time and a load of hassle!
Also, the WIFI signal kept oscillating wildly at certain times of the day and dropped out completely at some points so you’d have to keep reconnecting! It could do with some sorting out!!! I meant to argue to get the 16 Euros of charges wiped off the bill, but in the morning when I came to check out I was in a real hurry … and to my great annoyance later – completely forgot!!!
I ate in the bar both evenings as there was such a nice vibe in there and the restaurant, and the food was delicious.
I would definitely stay there again – it’s a cool place - and I’d recommend it … and hopefully by the time I return, the WIFI may be a bit more civilized!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    530
    92
    32
    39
See reviews for
185
474
52
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

"Echo" is an excellent choice if you want to have a "cosi", comfortable and ideal "value for money" stay in Milan. Helpful staff, excellent service, wonderful design, delicious breakfast with excellent quality and quantity, ideal location, quite spacious and absolutely clean rooms. Looking forward to geeting back.

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms really "rock"...superior and deluxe rooms have no important differences, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skieswanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We arrived via train at the Milan Central Station. The hotel was located very, very close to the station. We were able to walk with our suitcases to the hotel. Our room and bathroom were both exceptionally clean and furnished with upscale taste. The bed was extremely comfortable.

The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. We stayed in Italy for 5 weeks and had our best meal at the Starhotel Echo. I ordered a steak; and our waiter suggested that if I wanted meat, we should order another steak that was on the menu and split it between my husband and myself. The meat was cooked exactly to order. It was served with bacon and grilled vegetables on the side. Wonderful combination! Plus it saved us money by splitting the meal. The restaurant also provided some extras (complimentary wine apertif and appetizers, plus waiter gave us two free glasses of wine with our meal). Breakfast the next morning was tasty and plentiful.

Check-in and check-out procedures were quick and efficient. Front desk staff called a taxi for us while we checked out and the taxi was waiting for us when we walked out the door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently visited here for a romantic city break away. It is in an excellent location if you are arriving by train or by transport bus from the airport, you can easily see the glittering lights across the road when you get off the bus. The welcome upon arrival was warm and welcoming and we were easily allocated to our rooms. The room was on the 5th floor and absolutely beautiful, the bathroom was as big as the bedroom and was the highlight of the room. The shower was large and beautiful, the mirror lit up around it which was great for applying makeup. The tv was its only let down as there werent any channels in English, and the remote didn't work too well, but we weren't staying in the room much so it was okay. The breakfast was continental and very good quality, with cappucinos etc on offer. I had a strawberry Martini in the bar and I think it's now my new favourite drink! The barman was really friendly and checked to make sure my drink was to my taste. The decoration inside of the hotel was very relaxing and natural and helped you to unwind. The hotel was quiet and we were completely undisturbed throughout our 2 night stay.The checkout was quick and efficient and we were able to leave our luggage until our transfer bus back to the airport. The city tax was well explained and checkout was smooth and friendly. I would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma-Bubbles-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

With it's beautiful, clean interiors and proximity to the central train station, this is a great stay in Milan. We stayed for one night before taking the train to Florence. The interiors are upscale and the room was very nice. The complimentary breakfast was very good and we had a lovely stay. Such a great location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akc375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My family and I went to there for 2 nights. it was in a good location, very close to the train station!!! and major buses to airport. we booked 3 rooms with Ecohotel, all rooms are nice, large and clean. (bathroom was the best) I like its breakfast too!! I will definitely consider this hotel if I ever go back to Milan again. I really would like to give 4.5 stars, but TA doesn't have have half point! but anyway the only thing I didn't like is I would have to stay in the lobby for free wifi access, and need to re-login the password every 30 minutes!!! it would be nice if we can use in the room cause there were just too many mosquitoes down there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is right next to the Milano Centrale train station - normally a no go area in most Italian cities. However, it is clean, bright, with good service and rather good value for money. It isn't luxurious but they get the details right. Good food, clean rooms, reasonably well appointed for the price and service that is on the spot and attentive. I would stay there again despite the not so glamorous location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#61 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#68 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#46 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Property: Starhotels E.c.ho.
Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Milan
#27 Business Hotel in Milan
#30 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#47 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.C.Ho. Has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar (the Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels’ offering.)5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing