We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A modern and pleasing stay”
Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Ranked #39 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A modern and pleasing stay”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

First impressions were good, with a handy location very close to centrale station and it's metro stop. The reception staff were polite and efficient, and the rooms were spacious and modern, with excellent bathrooms, coffee making facilities and good curtains and double glazing. Tv was a good screen but only one or two English channels amongst a host of Italian channels(well I guess this is Italy)

I only ate dinner one night, using room service, and this was reasonable if not exciting. Breakfast was a buffet with a reasonable selection although the hot selections were a bit uninspiring.

I would have given 5stars if it were not for the daily 6€ charge for wireless Internet in the rooms, although free in reception.

I would have no hesitation in returning.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank redletterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    539
    94
    34
    41
See reviews for
194
480
54
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Looking for a hotel that was handy for Milan Centrale train station look no further than this hotel. It is a five minute walk from the station and about a half hour walk to the Duomo. The hotel is very modern and is an eco hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was perhaps a little on the small side but when you are in Milan you don't spend much time in your room!! The bathroom was very luxurious with 2 showers!! Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of food even sausage and bacon!! I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 190728Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very stylish hotel with great ethics, but that doesn't mean you feel like you're losing out on anything!
The rooms are on the small side, but very tasteful and comfortable. Right next to the central station so perfect to get around the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahandRichP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Modern and immaculate, with courteous service catering to individual requests, this hotel is conveniently close to the central railway station. Our request for preplanned room service due to a late arrival was looked after perfectly, and a late dinner in the bar area after a delayed return from La Scala was produced without fuss. The breakfasts were super, and the quiet room and the comfortable beds were the tops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbotourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We found the convenience of the hotel, just 200m across the roads from Centrale Station as its main factor. We flew into Milan Malpensa, took a Malpensa Express train from the airport to Centrale (one hour) and walked into the hotel. On the way back we took a bus, same place, much cheaper, more scenic!

The hotel is recently redecorated and this added to the freshness and cleanliness of the hotel. The lobby and breakfast areas were bright, smelt great (lemongrass) and clean/tidy.

The rooms are excellent, well-spacious and equipped. If you are green conscious, as we are, then the LED lighting, temp controlled bathroom etc really made for a good hotel.

We only wished to use the hotel for overnight (2 no) and used the city's excellent Metro and Tram service to access the sights and attractions in the central area / old town, via Corsa Venezia / Buenos Aires.

There were plenty of resturants in walking distance of the hotel, so we cant comment on the food. Breakfast was continental style (the cooked breakfast was not "English" or "American" i.e. only bacon (sliced parma ham), sausage (frankfurter type) and egg (scrambled sweet) so if you dont like the sound of that, dont take...the rest of the food was fresh, healthy and plentiful.

We would come back to this hotel, simply because of its good location and fresh clean condition.

Room Tip: As for a room on a balcony. That also seemed to be on the hotel's "back side" quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beefmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This modern hotel is across the road from from the magnificent Stazione Centrale in Milan. Simply exit by the LHS from the station (or the RHS facing the front of the station) and look up and across the road and carpark. You will see the sign. We loved our stay in a modern, very comfortable room with a luxurious bathroom and huge KB. The staff were very helpful with our requests for assistance with a new SIM card and a wonderful suggestion for a local restaurant for dinner. Breakfast next morning was very good. We only wished we had more time here. The subway is close by and we managed a comfortable walk back from the city centre via many old and interesting streets. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Milan, especially if you are using the trains for your trip. Trains and buses connect with Milan Malpensa airport from the station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay in in Milan, especially if you're taking the train or coming from the airport. It's stylish, clean and comfortable, and located directly across from the Milan train station. It's easily accessible from the airports if you take an airport bus that drops you at the train station. I was a big fan of the room service menu at this hotel - the restaurant is absolutely delicious. Breakfast in the morning was included in my rate and it had a wide range of options. The wi-fi was fast, but the connection process was annoying. The hotel employees were very helpful and managed to grant all of my requests. I would definitely stay at this hotel again - the area may not have been the prettiest, but you can't beat the price, convenience of location, decor and comfort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelNYCsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#56 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#78 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#48 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Property: Starhotels E.c.ho.
Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Milan
#27 Business Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#33 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#47 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.C.Ho. Has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar (the Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels’ offering.)5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing