We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go for deluxe room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Ranked #37 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't go for deluxe room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Booked through hotel.com. We stayed in deluxe room since standard were pretty full and just 20 euro difference. First impression to this hotel is definitely business type and cozy decoration. Which I quite like modern after 2 weeks 'ancient' and 'antique' style in other cities. But they just failed me by saying only one device WiFi for 24hr. And u hv to ask again the password next day. The room definitely same as standard room picture on the web and we ask if they got us a wrong room. They say deluxe room only different by free WiFi! But 24hr WiFi only cause 5.5 euro! What's the point? Overall is ok with the price and location; just next to centrale station. But the minor points make the impression bad.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herowind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    531
    92
    32
    39
See reviews for
185
474
52
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at the E.c.ho on the 7th October for 1 night as we were going to the Derby at San Siro. Very modern comfortable hotel. Staff cannot do enough for you. Just across the road from Central Station and the Metro. Only 5 minutes (4 stops) to the Duomo by metro (M3 yellow line to San Donato), and, of course the obligatory shopping you must do whilst in Milan! If your ever going to the San Siro for a match, then it would be metro to Duomo then connect to the red line (M1 to Molino) and get off at Lotto. It is a 10 minute walk or in our case, buses were laid on just outside the metro to take us to the San Siro. Would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkieBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our last night in Italy. We wanted to be close to the train station and found this to be a perfect choice. We were literally across the street from the station which made it very easy for our early morning flight out of Linate. We took a bus from outside the train station to Linate - easy! The hotel itself was extremely clean and very modern. We asked for a high floor based on some of the other reviews and didn't have any trouble with noise. The room has a nice large shower, luxury linens, a flat screen tv and a balcony. We didn't have time to make breakfast so the front desk made us a box breakfast to take on the bus ride to the airport. The only downside is no free internet in the rooms, only the lobby. I would definitely recommend this hotel for stays close to Milan Centrale. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and box breakfast for early flights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBX_Fan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
354 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Like many travelers, our party of four chose this hotel for its proximity to the Milano Centrale train station. We weren't sure how seedy the station area would be, so we figured a chain hotel was preferable. Turns out the area is not seedy -- and so we wish we had chosen a less expensive hotel. The area abounds in them.

That said, Starhotels Echo was a quiet and comfortable place to recover from jet-lag after a red-eye flight from EWR. We'd hoped to check in early, but that wasn't possible.

Yes, rooms are on the small side. The lighting was confusing -- it's one of those systems where you have to stick your room key into a slot, but one light in the bathroom refused to shut off. Our friends asked for two separate beds -- this was specified in the written booking we'd made six months prior -- but the room wasn't made up that way. It took two hours for housekeeping to show up to do that.

Breakfast was top-notch, and the lobby with its "green" photo murals is just lovely. Staff was helpful, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is modern but you couldn't tell if you were outside looking at it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Internet is free if you use your own devices in the lobby area. They do charge you if you use it in your room or use their business center. Internet is very slow around 3pm-8pm because alot of people are using their bandwidth during this time period. The lobby area is nicely decorated with lots of couches and chairs to lounge in. The room is average size and is very clean. The train station/metro is across the street and the city center is about 3-4 stops from where the hotel is. The mattress is not very comfortable to sleep on. If you are looking for a soft mattress you won't find it here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVD408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Perfect location, kindly and friendly staff, modern design, very clean and quiet.
The room was wonderfull but I think it was a little bit small. Also the wardrobe was too small. The bathroom was perfect. The breakfast was excellent, delicious and plenty.
In the future, yes I stay again even it is a little bit expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIKET14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We selected this hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews and due to its close proximity to the Central Station. We were only in Milan on a stop-over so this was an ideal choice. It is a modern hotel with comfortable bed, in room safe and mini bar and an excellent en-suite. The rooms are small however and there is no in-room kettle which we found is quite common in Europe. The room we were allocated even had a nice balcony with table and chairs which was an unexpected bonus. The breakfast was very good with the usual selection of cereals, fruit, breads etc. We would stay again if in Milan, and if you are only looking for a hotel for a short stay I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#60 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#69 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#46 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#15 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Property: Starhotels E.c.ho.
Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Milan
#27 Business Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#31 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#47 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.C.Ho. Has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar (the Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels’ offering.)5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing