We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Hotel silence rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Major

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Major
Ranked #157 of 429 Hotels in Milan
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel silence rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Hotel Major is situated next to big round about where in evening and morning is traffice Jam.
So when I got the key from a room on street side, on the 2nd floor I was not that amused.

at 17:00 traffice jam, and Italian car drivers showing their frustrations........

In the room it was silence!!!

Perfect!

Rooms are small, but nicely decorated, FlatTV, Minibar, little desk to work on, what do you need more!

Next time Milan, I will go to Hotel Major again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 73Roland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    163
    79
    16
    4
See reviews for
52
71
22
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The hotel is very nice and clean, and comfortable to sleep in. It was quiet also.
The breakfast is quite ok as well.
The hotel cost some 100-150 EUR per night through booking.com.
The hotel is around 30 minutes walk from Duomo, or 5-minute metro trip (4 stations). The metro station at hotel end is very close.
Service is kind.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Espoo_FinlandMeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Came to Milan on business Sun to Fri. The hotel layout is odd: only 7 or 8 rooms per floor, but with 8 floors, has 60 rooms in total!

Hotel location is good: several places to eat within minutes walk, and access to buses / underground train within 50 metres... you can be in the city centre in 10 or 15 minutes at a cost of only 1.50 euros.

The room was pretty quiet (apart from the noise from a droning fan or similar outside, plus noise from the waste water system), clean, and furnished to a good quality. The room wasn't small, but not big either. The bathroom, however was TINY: at less than 6ft x 6ft (yes, I could easily touch both walls at once!) it contians a loo, a bidet, a sink, and a shower... and there's less than 6 inches between the loo and the shower! Although tiny, it was done nicely, and the shower (think small shower base, with a shower curtain around it!) worked well with plenty of hot water, although it was far too easy to hit the shower tap & turn it off!

There's a flatscreen TV (not that I used it!) and free Internet, which worked very well at all times.

Breakfast is included, and is a very good quality continental breakfast (which means the only hot food is boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, and sausages or bacon).

The reception staff were all very helpful and polite.

So, apart from the size of the bathroom, I was very happy with the Hotel Major!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_blitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed in the Hotel Major for 9 nights with my girlfriend in the month of august 2011.
The listed price for each night was 99 euros, which is not too bad, but I had found a special summer offer online, so I paid 79 euros per night. Check in was fine, I got a standard double room on the first floor (which actually is the second floor) which left me a little worried because it was facing the street, but this was not a problem, you could not hear the traffic at all. After two nights we were upgraded to a junior suite on the fifth floor, which I thought was excellent service from the hotel and very good value for the money being paid, thus leaving me to extend my stay with 4 nights. This was a spacious room with jacuzzi and a small balcony.
Rooms and hotel in general seemed newly refurbished, the staff in the reception speak english and are friendly and helpful. All rooms have a flatscreen tv with a wide selection of channels (over 150), I found 3 english speaking channels + channels from france, germany and spain. Aircondition in the room was very good, the beds and pillows are a little on the hard side, but I know this i typical in Italy. The breakfast room is in the basement, seems more like a basket court than a hotel breakfast room, but the food was ok, though they only had bacon with the eggs on one of the 9 days I was there. Maybe someone went there early and ate it all! :)
The hotel is located right next to the subway entrance, so it is very easy to get into the Doumo, only 4 stops, and the area of Lodi is very nice. A very good supermarket within a shopping centre is located just up the street. Right next to the hotel entrance is a very nice little bar, with a maritime theme.
I was very happy with my stay in the Hotel Major, and I have no problem with recommending this hotel, or returning here on my next trip to Milan.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ichi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and booked directly via hotel's website (promotion, 95 EUR, incl.breakfast, free WIFI (quite fast speed) in room, and daily tickets for subway), I think it's really worth.

Room size's big enough for Milan at the same price range and location (I've searched a lot but didn't find good one at acceptable price). Hotel's not next door to Duomo but it's very convenient to travel there and anywhere else in short time since it's just next to subway (less than 5 mins walking from hotel to the platform, and the train takes about 2-3 mins to Duomo station, train comes about every 4 mins). Room was clean, cool and quiet (6th floor on the side that not facing the road) with good curtain so it's dark enough for sleeping. Staffs at reception were nice and friendly at the right level, not too less or too much, and very helpful. Breakfast was very good (or probably because we just travelled in Switzerland previously :), other than typical cold food and beverages, they also had ham, good small sausages and eggs. Parking at the hotel costs 20 EUR/day, but it costs 10 EUR/day to park at 1 parking nearby (the same building as Coop, about 400 m.away) but be careful to park at the right floor ( -3 or something should check when you park, not the ground or 1st floor), otherwise you'll be charged with very high hour rate (instruction about this is in Italian only, but you can ask from staff at the office on the way you drive out)

I will stay at this hotel again if I come to Milan with similar budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We -2 couples at 50's- stayed here for 2 nights at a weekend. We knew that Milano was quite small compared to where we live, and we should not expect much on our Monday. Though the hotel seemed a bit far from the city, we found out that there was no need to worry. We bought daily ATM cards from the reception and started our adventure. We could do everything in our schedule, visited 4 street markets, saw every important building / monument and even attended the international celebration of Italy's union. We walked through the famous golden quartier, saw designer stores, etc. The hotel was only 4 stops, 7 minutes away from the Duomo, center of the city. The entrance of the yellow line was 20 steps from the hotel's entrance, lines 90, 91, 92 were available right across the street, and S lines were 10 minutes away, if you need. Although the rooms were not large, they were comfortable and well equipped. Not trendy maybe, but clean and tidy. The staff were helpful, although some were not very comfortable with English or German. Breakfast was not exagerated as in some hotels, but more than adequate, in a small room at the basement. Hotel's parking place was very secure, but not accessible from inside. So, if you wish to go about with a car, be aware that it takes 10 minutes or so to get your car and bring it to the front of the hotel, because you have to drive around the block to come back. And the closed garage is so narrow that you will probably need assistance to get in.

Room Tip: Front rooms are not very noisy but hot in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CemKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The hotel stuff were extremely helpfull - they found realy nice restaurants for decent money, they answered every question with smile and politeness.
Hotel is extremely close to the tube station, easily accessible from the airport. Breakfast are nice - good that continental
I loved staying there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divinacommedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
UNA Hotel Mediterraneo
#124 of 429 in Milan
3.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Hotel Piacenza
#248 of 429 in Milan
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ascot
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ascot
#283 of 429 in Milan
3.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#38 of 429 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
Hotel Five
#39 of 429 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Major? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Major

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Major
Address: Viale Isonzo 2, 20135 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Major 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Major is located close to the historical center of Milan (outside the Ztl Area C),in Porta Romana, near the Centro Leoni Business Building in Via Spadolini ( special shuttle service nearby ),Bocconi University and Fondazione Prada The Underground is just beside the Hotel Entrance ( subway stop "Lodi TIBB" Line 3 yellow ) The Hotel (4 stars) has been renovated to meet excellent quality standards and to offer a pleasant experience, in a beautiful design setting, easy reachable from the motorways, the airports , the Central Railway Station ( Linate and Orio al Serio shuttle ), Milano Cadorna (Malpensa Express Train) and Milano Rogoredo (Freccia Rossa - Italo). Book your parking directly and use the underground, you can reach easy and fast the city center ( Duomo, Teatro la Scala, Palazzo Reale,Museo del Novecento, Gallerie d'Italia ), la Triennale, the shopping area ( via Montenapoleone and Corso Como ) . The "metro" is also the best way to reach the Milan Trade Fair (Fiera Milano) and MICO Europe 's largest Congress Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Major reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Milan
Best Western Major
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing