We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!! Not Recommended”
Review of Hotel Berlino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berlino
Ranked #161 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed October 29, 2012

BE WARNED!
If you book this hotel this is what you have to do....

Request a kettle, tea, coffee, mugs, saucers and teaspoons as the hotel does not provide these essential basics in the room when you arrive...
Then...
Be prepared to wash the crockery yourself...."this is not the chambermaids job"
Then...
Do not dare ask for more tea bags or coffee...you will be told how lucky you were to get the first ones!
Then...
Do not ask for the iron......wait for it.....they HAVE to monitor you using the iron (company policy) IN THE BASSMENT, where nobody goes, in case YOU set the place on fire!! Oh and iron is out of bounds in the evening..(when you are most likely to want to use it)
Then...
Dare you ask if you can have a drink at the bar......As the bar is not in use and hasnt been for a very very long time....
Then...
Dare you call reception after midnight to ask for blankets because you are freezing....No one answers the phone.
And Then, Finally........
THIS HOTEL IS ADVERTISES ITSELF AS A PART OF THE BEST WESTERN CHAIN OF HOTELS....
LIES LIES LIES....
This used to be owned by Best Western and is no longer part of Best Western and has not been for a very very very long time, so do not expect Best Western customer service as this does not exist...Travel Republic are looking into this now!

ALSO....its more than 20 minutes on the 90 bus to reach the city centre....very unpleasant journey...

Rooms are in general condition. Bedding is not changed regular. And breakfast is OK nothing amazing.
This reminds me of a good hostel....Would be great for a budget holiday, no airs and graces here!!

Wait a minute....The best thing about this hotel is the internet which is of average speed (good for Italy) and its free....And there is a tiny shopping mall nearby...Other than all this misery Milan is a lovely historic city to visit...

So dabble as you please, you cant say you were not warned....
AND I AM AN ITALIAN :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dan2k9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Proprietario at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thanks for your review .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 586 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is a standard of quality, the rooms are clean.
The advantage of the hotel garage (18 EU / day).
Breakfast is good
Close to the tram station, 20 minutes from the city

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank NERMIN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Proprietario at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Tanks for you reviews .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Hotel Berlino. A quick journey on the tram brings you to the centre of Milan and the famous Duomo Cathedral.
The staff were fantastically helpful. The breakfast was simple and delicious - especially the bread rolls! The rooms were spotless (we only had a small issue with the extra pillows being slightly stained, but the night staff gave us clean replacements).
The Wifi works brilliantly and it's free.
We were extremely well looked after and got great advice on travelling around the city. We will definitely go back to this hotel if we return to Milan. Absolutely fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the main road, so it was quite noisy if we kept our windows open. If closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Proprietario at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for your review.
The staff and I waiting for your return soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful from the first minute. The rooms are very nice.
If you go by car there is a parking house next to the hotel which is very good in this busy city. The nearby tram takes you in the center.

Room Tip: We had 2 double rooms. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. It was on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isi_99_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Proprietario at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Tkans for your reviews ,we are very happy that your stay with us was good.We hope you come again in Milano to meet us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a five night stay at the Hotel Berlino and were very pleased. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and tidy. Breakfast is included in the price and consists of toast, rolls, croissants, cereals, cold cuts, juice and coffee. Not stately by any stretch of the imagination, but very reasonable!

The hotel itself is situated north-west from the city centre and you can walk there in about 30 minutes or take a tram or bus from Piazza Firenze, which is 3 minutes walk from the hotel.

We can definitely recommend this hotel to travellers on a budget!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Proprietario at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thanks for your reviews .We hope to see again in our Hote.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Booked a trip to Milan for a few days and decided to stay at this Best Western hotel to use up my points. Took a while to get to the hotel, signage can be improved. Slightly disappointed with the breakfast options although the coffee was excellent. The only warm breakfast food available was toast. The receptionist was extremely helpful and patient. The room was nice, clean, brightly coloured and the air-conditioning was most welcome. Getting around Milan was easy. It was a straight bus to the city centre or a short walk and then the tram from the hotel. Unfortunately, there was no option to eat lunch or dinner at the hotel. Generally, a good experience. I would recommend the hotel as long as you can survive without a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eccentrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Direttore at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear Guest
We are sorry but we are not a Best Western Hotel .
But we are we gradfull for your opinion it helps us to change any wrong things.
We hope to see yuo again as soon as possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I believe this place was recently acquired by a Best Western, but it almost most definitely does not stand up to the qualities of one. When you enter the hotel, there is old, outdated furniture in the lobby with an awkward green colored wall that makes you feel like the hotel is extremely cheap and crappy. While the lobby isn't great, the rooms are indeed clean and functional. The bathroom is very spacious, great selection of TV channels, and definitely good amenities. The walls though, are really quite thin. I could hear people talking next door at night and their TV -- something should be done about this. Location-wise, this is definitely outside of Milan central. You get a good feeling for local neighborhoods, but in my opinion it is a little too far out of the city (20 minutes or more depending on time of day, enough for you to fall asleep on the train and wake up again). The nearby Hotel Certosa (on the main road right behind this hotel) has much bigger rooms at a lower price.

Best part of this hotel is perhaps the free printing available in the lobby, very helpful for flight check ins. Service wise, most of the staff was very nice and courteous... except for this one guy on staff (I believe on the night of 7/30), who was very rude and impatient. I asked him for the password for the computer (needed to login to windows) and he gave me a password for WIFI instead of the actual login. I immediately said no, I wanted the login for the computer, not the internet, he said with great impatience, "this will work this will work!" and shooed me away. Clearly, it didn't work, and he had a terrible attitude. Otherwise, everyone else was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilyiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Proprietario at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Tanks for your comment
I hope to see you again .
We are waiting .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#155 of 431 in Milan
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Edy
#244 of 431 in Milan
237 reviews
Bicocca
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
#184 of 431 in Milan
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berlino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlino

Address: Via Giovanni Antonio Plana 33, 20155 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $62 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berlino 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and dynamic, Hotel Berlin is located in one of the liveliest area of Milan, a few steps from Corso Sempione and from Mico Congress Centre. The hotel is located in a great location, not far from the city center and very close to lots of restaurants of Corso Sempione area, from which, through the park, you can easily reach the Castello Sforzesco and Cadorna Triennale. The hotel offers free internet WiFi connection and two internet terminals with dedicated printer located in the large lobby. All 47 rooms are equipped with the best amenities including air conditioning, electronic locks, internet WiFi, LCD TV, pay-per-view channels, mini bar, telephone and desk. Breakfast is included and on request it is possible to have breakfast direct in your room. The hotel is situated in an excellent position, thanks to efficient means of transport which links the hotel with the city center and all the strategic points of Milan, like Duomo Cathedral, Central Railway Station, San Siro Stadium and PalaSharp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berlino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berlino
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing