We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”
Review of Hotel Berlino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Berlino
Ranked #151 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a five night stay at the Hotel Berlino and were very pleased. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and tidy. Breakfast is included in the price and consists of toast, rolls, croissants, cereals, cold cuts, juice and coffee. Not stately by any stretch of the imagination, but very reasonable!

The hotel itself is situated north-west from the city centre and you can walk there in about 30 minutes or take a tram or bus from Piazza Firenze, which is 3 minutes walk from the hotel.

We can definitely recommend this hotel to travellers on a budget!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Proprietario at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thanks for your reviews .We hope to see again in our Hote.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 574 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

Booked a trip to Milan for a few days and decided to stay at this Best Western hotel to use up my points. Took a while to get to the hotel, signage can be improved. Slightly disappointed with the breakfast options although the coffee was excellent. The only warm breakfast food available was toast. The receptionist was extremely helpful and patient. The room was nice, clean, brightly coloured and the air-conditioning was most welcome. Getting around Milan was easy. It was a straight bus to the city centre or a short walk and then the tram from the hotel. Unfortunately, there was no option to eat lunch or dinner at the hotel. Generally, a good experience. I would recommend the hotel as long as you can survive without a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eccentrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Direttore at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear Guest
We are sorry but we are not a Best Western Hotel .
But we are we gradfull for your opinion it helps us to change any wrong things.
We hope to see yuo again as soon as possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I believe this place was recently acquired by a Best Western, but it almost most definitely does not stand up to the qualities of one. When you enter the hotel, there is old, outdated furniture in the lobby with an awkward green colored wall that makes you feel like the hotel is extremely cheap and crappy. While the lobby isn't great, the rooms are indeed clean and functional. The bathroom is very spacious, great selection of TV channels, and definitely good amenities. The walls though, are really quite thin. I could hear people talking next door at night and their TV -- something should be done about this. Location-wise, this is definitely outside of Milan central. You get a good feeling for local neighborhoods, but in my opinion it is a little too far out of the city (20 minutes or more depending on time of day, enough for you to fall asleep on the train and wake up again). The nearby Hotel Certosa (on the main road right behind this hotel) has much bigger rooms at a lower price.

Best part of this hotel is perhaps the free printing available in the lobby, very helpful for flight check ins. Service wise, most of the staff was very nice and courteous... except for this one guy on staff (I believe on the night of 7/30), who was very rude and impatient. I asked him for the password for the computer (needed to login to windows) and he gave me a password for WIFI instead of the actual login. I immediately said no, I wanted the login for the computer, not the internet, he said with great impatience, "this will work this will work!" and shooed me away. Clearly, it didn't work, and he had a terrible attitude. Otherwise, everyone else was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilyiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Proprietario at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Tanks for your comment
I hope to see you again .
We are waiting .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at Hotel Berlino in July 2012 for 5 nights.

Location
On the outskirts of Milan, but with a great access to public transport. Not more than 5 minutes walk to trolleybus, bus or tram stop.

Room
Good size, a little bit too dark for my liking. Mattress very hard even for me (and I can sleep nearly everywhere). Very clean! And trust me, I am very fussy when it comes to cleanliness. I even checked underneath the bed and could not fault it.
Facilities: mini bar, in-room safe, TV with international channels, complimentary Internet, air-conditioning (thank heaven for that!, as it was over 30 degrees every day). For tea and coffee tray (with fresh milk!) you just need to phone reception.
Bathroom - very clean shower, good water pressure, bidet and all the necessary facilties: shower gel & shampoo, shower cap, hair dryer, even make up mirror. And plenty of towels.

Breakfast
Great choice: white and brown bread, bread rolls, salami, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, selection of croissants, cakes, jams, fruit, grapefruit/orange/apple juice, good coffee and tea selection. A brilliant start to the day.

Staff
Very polite and attentive. Especially Aurora at reception was very helpful and informative. We kept bombarding her with questions and she had patience of a saint.

Thank you all the staff at Hotel Berlino for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank opuncjafigowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Proprietario at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear gust
Tanks for your comment .
We hope to see yuo again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We found this hotel located in a nice residential area of Milan to be a perfect launching point for our explorations around the city. Just a hop on the tram and you are on your way to all sorts of great food and neighborhoods to explore. Breakfast is more than sufficient, and the rooms were clean and well appointed. Staff also very helpful and english-speaking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwkendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Proprietario at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank for your reviews ,we are happy that your stay at our Hotel was nice.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sesisa, Proprietario at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed with a friend for 3 days recently, and although it was a trek to get there initially, it was a pleasant surprise to get to the hotel and check in. We got a 4th floor room which had all the amenities required, and was very clean, although they missed a trick with the tea and coffee making facilities. We also were pleasantly surprised with the balcony, which was a nice touch to the room. The weather was great, the staff very friendly. The breakfast buffet although cold, was ok. We got toast which was good enough for me. Not great choice for vegetarians, but it's buffet, there is plenty of fruit and pastry, and tea and coffee. It is a very small dining area, so be prepared if you go peak time, as I am very sure that it would get very busy.
Eating wise you would need to go into the town centre, the number 14 tram would get you there, only a 5-10 min walk to the stop, and 10 mins away on the tram.
The staff were very friendly, and although there were so many mixed reviews we were pleased with this hotel. What do you expect for the price?? Enjoyed my trip

Room Tip: ASk for fourth floor room with balcony, not much of a site, but you could quite easily chillout ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchkinBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesisa, Proprietario at Hotel Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear guest we are happy that your stay at hotel Berlino was nice.
We thanks for your comment and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#152 of 428 in Milan
249 reviews
Hotel Edy
#239 of 428 in Milan
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bicocca
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
#190 of 428 in Milan
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berlino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlino

Address: Via Giovanni Antonio Plana 33, 20155 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $60 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berlino 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and dynamic, Hotel Berlin is located in one of the liveliest area of Milan, a few steps from Corso Sempione and from Mico Congress Centre. The hotel is located in a great location, not far from the city center and very close to lots of restaurants of Corso Sempione area, from which, through the park, you can easily reach the Castello Sforzesco and Cadorna Triennale. The hotel offers free internet WiFi connection and two internet terminals with dedicated printer located in the large lobby. All 47 rooms are equipped with the best amenities including air conditioning, electronic locks, internet WiFi, LCD TV, pay-per-view channels, mini bar, telephone and desk. Breakfast is included and on request it is possible to have breakfast direct in your room. The hotel is situated in an excellent position, thanks to efficient means of transport which links the hotel with the city center and all the strategic points of Milan, like Duomo Cathedral, Central Railway Station, San Siro Stadium and PalaSharp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Berlino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berlino
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing