We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Metro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Ranked #40 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Close to the Metro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is looking "modern" but rooms are pretty small, you got kind of camping feeling. Breakfast was ok. Breakfast room is pretty small as well. Staff is almost friendly. For one night it is ok, for a linger stay rooms are too small to be really comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Nannette C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    320
    109
    16
    11
See reviews for
82
281
40
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nice close location to the central station but the wifi does not work as advertised. Hotel front desk staff very arrogant and rude. There are many other hotels in the area with friendly reception and working wifi for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkusa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troisi, Direttore at Hotel Mediolanum Milan, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Mrs/Mr Kusa ,
Thank you so much for your stay in our hotel Mediolanum in Milan and your comment for our team and services. We have noted that the location was nice , the rooms and others services also , however the wifi and front office department did not works like they should.
We really apologize for inconvenient related to the wifi service , as soon as we have realized the problem we have informed the It department that investigate on it and a solution was found , after some days.
Regarding our Front-office team attitude , normally our team is very helpful and professional , however , sometimes , conversation in a different languages may be cause misunderstanding .
Looking forward to welcome you again in Milan with a better wifi services and Helpful front-office team, wish you a nice week end .
Mauro Troisi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights when we first arrived in Italy. The hotel was very close to the station, which is what we wanted as we got the train from the airport. We found it a pleasant place to stay - the staff was helpful, the room was quiet and clean, and breakfast was good. It was an easy walk to the city centre and we enjoyed wandering around the neighbourhood too. The close proximity to the station worked well for us, and the coloured lights were an interesting quirk

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxdebruyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my teenage daughter last weekend. It is ten mins walk from the airport bus terminus at Centrale Statzione. The welcome was warn and the room clean, modern and comfortable.

It is about half an hour's walk from the city centre but metro is nearby as are tram stops and bus stops. Get €8 48-hour tickets which can be used for any form of public transport - really good value. And download ATM app - it's brilliant and tells you metro and tram options, routes and timings. So easy to use.

The breakfast is in the basement, includes in price and a good variety of fruit, cheeses, cold meats, bacon, eggs etc, pastries, different breads and decent coffee.

If you're going to the San Siro, it's a 5-min walk to Lima metro then 20 mins on train to Lotto, then a 20-min walk to stadium.

It's not a 5-star hotel, but it doesn't claim to be and we both really liked it. Nice restaurants within 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

A bit far from all the touristy sights if that's what you're in Milan to see, but otherwise, it was an overall good stay.

Very quiet room, good heating/AC, EXTREMELY spotty wifi that was fixed after my second day of complaining, and decent breakfast. Everything is clean, modern, and spacious with good "colour therapy" wall decorations to contrast its otherwise-minimalistic setup.

The reception was polite enough. Perhaps the one quibble I would have is the fact that there is a pornographic channel that would come on after 10pm-ish...as a traveller, I have never come across this sort of free service, and so readily available--if I remember correctly, it was the channel right after the English BBC channel. It was quite a shock if I were flipping quickly!

Otherwise, good all around.

Room Tip: Not very family-friendly if you have kids, thanks to that free porn
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife & I stayed here 5 nights along with friends. The hotel is about a 7 minute walk from the main train station and a Metro station. There are 3 great restaurants within 3 minutes walk. The staff is most helpful, especially Matteo, and the lounge/bar area is very inviting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alabama742016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night at the beginning and end of a week in Italy. The hotel was very easy to find from central station, even in the dark.

Our first visit we were on the first floor. The room was modern and spacious although the bathroom was quite small with only a shower cubicle no bath. Similar to other reviews it was quite noisy with cars, people walking/chatting in the street and the bin lorries. The second visit we requested a different room based on the noise and were given a third floor room that was much better. This room also had a bigger bathroom and seemed a generally nicer room.

Breakfast was continental and had a very good choice. Staff were helpful although we had minimal contact. I would definitely visit milan again and would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper definitely ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmak808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#45 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#36 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,208 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#62 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#22 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediolanum Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediolanum Milan

Property: Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Address: Via Mauro Macchi 1 | Stazione centrale area, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#82 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#97 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediolanum Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mediolanum is a modern 4 stars business hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel has been recently renovated following the last trends of the international hotellerie. The common spaces show bright colours as prevailing and shapes inspired by the contemporary design: the interiors recall the style of famous architects like Zanuso and Le Corbusier.The Hotel is located in a strategic position thanks to the closeness of the Central Station (MM2 Green Subway Line): fulcrum of the city of Milano and Air Terminal. At a small range of few hundred of meters from Via Mauro Macchi you can find the subway stations of Porta Venezia (MM1 Red Line with direct connection to the congress center and exhibition quarter) and Repubblica (MM3 Yellow Line). The railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The heart of the city is reachable on foot: in 10 minutes you can arrive to the historical part of the town where the Duomo (Cathedral) and the Teatro La Scala (Opera House) stand.In the hotel's surroundings you can find the Garibaldi Station (high speed train terminal).The 51 Mediolanum rooms will put you in direct contact with the emotions caused by the colours: the light fills up the interiors which get painted of lively, passionate, relaxing colours. On this trail the Superior and Deluxe rooms were realized following the principles of the chromotherapy. This science links the psychical and physical wellbeing to the tones. The buttonhole flower of this rooms is the remote controller placed next to the bed thanks to which you can change the lighting in red, blue, green or yellow or mix them up. According to your mood and needs you can switch to a relaxing green, or to a concentrating purple. All the rooms All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and safe.Inside the hotel the guests can have a seat in the elegant lounge bar where a pleasant appetizer is served together with refreshing cocktails. At the light restaurant you can taste a special selection of the best Italian dishes enriched by refined wines. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. In addition at the Hotel Sanpi, located just 300 mt away under the same management, you have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness and to the meeting room Venezia.The Hotel Mediolanum Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or via gds or internet.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediolanum Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediolanum Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing