We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ritter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ritter
Ranked #134 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just returned from another trip to Milan and we stayed at the Hotel Ritter again (we stayed here in June '13) and was able to get a room again last weekend. From entering the hotel, the reception staff were helpful and polite, the rooms are clean and the breakfasts are excellent value. Because of the location which is in a chic part of the city and only a 10 minute stroll from the Cathedral and the main shopping area, we have already recommended the hotel to friends and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

I want to echo everything a previous reviewer wrote. The upside down American flag was a real shocker. Maybe they don't realize this is an insult to US citizens. Or is this their way of saying they don't want our business? Or was it the rooms that needed updating, painting, and a good cleaning? Or the fact that the air conditioning works only from noon to 3 p.m. (who is in their room for those hours)? Or the two desk clerks engaging in a loud argument when we were checking out?
The bathroom WAS clean, and the bed linens seemed to be also. The maid was very pleasant. But we won't be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatriarchInTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

First thing to greet us is an array of flags outside the hotel entrance and the USA flag is hanging upside down. Despite our companion telling them about this twice, after two day stay, it was not changed. Hotel is about 10-15 minute walk from Milano Garibaldi station. Its a pretty good location for walking to Duomo and shopping area. Lobby is nice and well kept up. Rooms not so much. Dirt in corner, room is dingy, walls need painting, floor needs replacing, worn furniture, hallway also not looking well kept. Bathroom was clean and shower good. Air conditioning only works minimally and only certain hours and you need a special key to get it to work. Desk clerk pleasant on check-in but not helpful when asking questions. Night clerk more helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twominks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good spot for trains, shopping, quiet street.
Rooms clean, bathrooms very modern, little balcony to your room, beds BIG.
More of a business trip type place but lots of room for a couple who need a little space!
Great location for Milan.

Room Tip: Don't bring a car to Milan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant central location-20 mins slow walk to Duomo, bars, restaurants all around you, seemed fairly affluent part of Milan, never felt safer in a big city, 1.00am in the morning, no drunks around, jus people smiling chatting and eating ice creams!! If u want a nice room in a great part of the City, come here! Of course it is not cheap, but what in Milan is?? #2backpackingbrits

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulzinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I was spending a weekend in Milano and this hotel was perfect for its location nearby the center.It is located in Brera quarter, re-styled place at 5 minutes by walk from the main square of the city "Piazza del Duomo". For this reason we where in the centre for shopping and for dinner all the times. It is so easy and so convenient.This is a good reference in the city center.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Federicoangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

As soon as we entered the hotel, the first thing we were told is we are not allowed to bring the car in Garibaldi street and we will be fined 94 Euros. We found out the next day from another tourist that the hotel maintains a list of cars that came in for loading/unloading and those are exempt from fines. We approached the reception about it and it was done and confirmed.

We were provided two single beds for a couple in a room that was shabby and looked very under maintained. The bathroom was upgraded. While we didnt care much for utilities like coffee maker or A/C, for people that do, those were non existent or in bad shape. The breakfast was the worst we have ever had in a hotel. Our friends visited us and they were not allowed in the room by the receptionist.

Overall, I would recommend staying a little further from the center if you want to be cost effective but pick a better hotel. Daily passes are very affordable for trams and Milan has excellent connectivity.

Room Tip: Choose a better hotel instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurabh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Carlyle Brera Hotel
Carlyle Brera Hotel
#112 of 427 in Milan
687 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#164 of 427 in Milan
6,344 reviews
Brera
NH Milano Touring
NH Milano Touring
#49 of 427 in Milan
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 427 in Milan
838 reviews
Brera
Hotel Cavour
Hotel Cavour
#90 of 427 in Milan
690 reviews
Brera
Hotel Manin
Hotel Manin
#92 of 427 in Milan
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritter

Address: Corso Garibaldi 68 Brera, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $87 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ritter 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ritter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritter Hotel Milan
Comfort Inn Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing