We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese and classy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bon Wei

Bon Wei
Ranked #1,001 of 8,030 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Chinese and classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Best Chinese in Milan ! Nice elegant atmosphere and friendly staff....depending on what you order there might be a bit of a wait but that also certifies the freshness of their food, as everything is made to order.
Excellent blend of Chinese and fusion flavours , and good wine list. Not the normal Chinese so do expect to pay a bit more , but its worth it !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spitni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    255
    82
    50
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great chinese restaurant in Milan, at last”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is now my favourite chinese restaurant in Milan. Food is great and very well presented, and the overall atmosphere contributes to a very pleasant experience.
If you can, try to taste more choices as possible, to fully enjoy the cuisine and avoid to lose some hidden gems.
If you are a craft beers lover, you can also match the food with one of the wonderful 32 beers (Via dei Birrai, Treviso), I'd suggest Oppale or Audace.
Desserts are good, but you have also the option to pay your bill and have one of the best icecreams in Milan from the adjacent Massimo.
Perfect for a special occasion or a romantic dinner. Service is good, prices are reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Giorgio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine, stylishly elegant decor and first class service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My family enjoyed the traditional Chinese cuisine,but with a touch of class and sophistication. Lovely decor and very attentive service. We will definitely return during our week long visit to Milan. Menu in Italian and English. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank luxpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Truly Oriental Chinese!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have been craving for oriental food since I have been here in Italy for 12 days now. We went to a chinese restaurant in Florence but it doesn't taste Chinese at all! This restaurant serves fresh seafoods, delicious beef and good warm rice. I would recommend this restaurant to those who are looking for Real Chinese Food. One thing, not all their food attendants speak English

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Completely different from other Chinese restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

There have been Chinese restaurants in Milan for as long as I can remember, and they all seemed to be very similar in terms of price, decor, service and food quality. In the many years I'd eaten in them, there didn't seem to be any degree of "evolution" in what they offered. Then a few weeks ago a friend suggested we go to a Chinese restaurant that was very different from the rest and the experience proved very positive.

First of all, the decor and ambience were tasteful and elegant, the tables were large, well-spaced apart and elegantly set. Although the menu offered a range of dishes, don't expect the near infinite number you get in ordinary Chinese restaurants. I consider this something of a point in a restaurant's favour......after all, how fresh can the ingredients be if there are dozens of dishes on the menu? The service is efficient and staff are courteous. I believe that prices are a little high but only when compared to other Chinese restaurants - they are perfectly in line with good quality Italian restaurants in Milan.

It would be better to book as both times I've been, it's been busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy202021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Wei also viewed

 

Been to Bon Wei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing