We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see it!”
Review of La Scala Opera

La Scala Opera
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.02*
and up
La Scala Theatre and Museum Tour in Milan
More Info
$99.71*
and up
Discovering Milan Walking Tour
More Info
$48.10*
and up
Skip the Line: Duomo Cathedral and La Scala Theatre
Ranked #15 of 821 things to do in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This world-renowned opera house was built in 1778, where many composers wrote and conducted works including such greats as Rossini, Puccini, Verdi and Toscanini.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Must see it!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Sadly we didn't get to see a performance, just a tour round La Scala. Amazing place and can only imagine how amazing it must be to see an opera here. Certainly on our list of things to do when we return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimandsimone1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,434
    1,374
    637
    147
    79
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CANADA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wasnt dreaming”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

If you look at the older movies the opera houses / theaters are these magnificent places with stunning chandeliers, beautiful red velvet chairs with detailed ceiling and walls. those little windows, with curtains .... I thought I was in the movies....the place is soo authentic ....the costumes of the Ushers are fantastic ...if you get a good opera night... get a decent seat its worth every penny

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChanyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Magnificient”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I am not now, nor probably ever will be, an opera or classical music buff.

All of that changed when I visited La Scala recently. Unassuming (only on the outside), you have to see the interior to know what craftsmanship at its finest is all about.

Acoustically perfect, it is a jewel all done up in reds and plush velvets. Try to catch a production there to truly enjoy the experience. It is something you will never forget.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“See a performance. Once in a life.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

A performance was a priority. We were blessed to see two, both an opera and a concert (filarmonica). Felt like we won the lottery. (Must have been all those spins on the bull at the Galleria!)
We saw Les Troyens and Filarmonica della Scala with Conductor P. Jordan.

Tickets in general: For both, we hit the box office at La Scala before the performances. One hour before, tickets are reduced 25%. Box office down left side of building when facing front side of La Scala (main entrance). Note: Two people will be working the box office. If one isn't accommodating in explaining available seats & pricing, get in line for other person. First person encountered for us was useless. Other person right beside him was wonderful. Second evening, got equally lucky with another person.

Tickets for the opera: We opted for balcony seats 3 & 4 (second row of the balcony boxes). Much less expensive than seats 1 & 2 (front row). Seats 1 & 2 of balconies were same price as orchestra seating. We got lucky that no one sat in seats 1 & 2 of our box. So we sat in those seats the entire opera with the whole box to ourselves. This was the tip from the nice person in the box office. The opera was wonderful.

Tickets for the concert: We actually arrived about 20 minutes before the performance. We got row 2 of the orchestra seating, first two seats off center aisle. Walked right in. Sat down. Started. Felt like royalty. Conductor was so close, saw every bead of sweat on his face. Saw every string in detail of the first-chair violin. It was incredible.

Food/drink: Outrageous. 15 euros buys a glass of champagne. Though you stand with the season ticket holders and ... well, feel like one. Or skip the champagne and stand among them anyway.
Staff: Hit or miss.
Dress: A few dressed in formal gowns & tuxedos. Others less formal. Go nice yet don't worry if traveling and you don't have your best. Own it.

Museum: If you make a performance, skip museum. No question. Know this. Do not be disappointed. Otherwise, go to the museum purely to walk into the balconies to see the opera house stage/seating. It is elegantly stunning. This is at the very beginning of the museum entrance to your left immediately after they scan your ticket.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Dylann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ultimate destination for a musician”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I am not the one, but my wife is a professional musician, and according to her words - this is it. You have to visit the museum and the remarkable hall.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank homerti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scala Opera also viewed

 

Been to La Scala Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing