We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Any other location, you wouldn't go in - so don't do it here.”

Teatro alla Scala Il Marchesino
Ranked #36 of 157 Coffee & Tea in Milan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centro Storico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Any other location, you wouldn't go in - so don't do it here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was our worst experience in Milan. We had booked tickets for Tosca at La Scala, starting at 8pm, and as we'd been on an afternoon tour of Milan including the Last Supper, hadn't got back to our hotel till after 6.30. We changed quickly and went to the area round the opera house to find a pre-theatre supper, accepting we would pay over the odds for the location.
Our initial impression of Il Marchesino was that it was a slick operation, well used to catering for pre-opera meals. They found us a table and we had given in our order within five minutes. Twenty minutes later, we had bread and water and two rather small glasses of wine. Forty minutes later, after we complained, the food was forthcoming. My husband's veal was ok, but was overwhelmed by a brown gravy: his mixed vegetables all tasted the same. My sorrel salmon was under-cooked for my taste - I like my fish opaque - and my vegetables were two slices of courgette, both cut in three.
For this feast, plus three glasses of house red and a bottle of water, we were charged 94 euros.
A complete rip-off, and to be avoided at all costs.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGVAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    117
    68
    50
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Le Tignet, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Adequate but overpriced.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We ate there before a performance of Don Giovanni at La Scala. They are well used to serving dinner at 6.30 so one is in plenty of time for the opera. However, the food is really nothing special and the portions are meant for midget mice. My wife's had tortellini in broth that was no better than you can buy in any Italian supermarket. My Stinko (knuckle of pork) was served with an ill fitting salad of fennel. My wife's tiramisu was just about ok and, still feeling hungry, I had the cheese of which there was plenty. The cheapest half bottle of red wine was 16 Euros. The service was just about acceptable. Altogether the bill came to an excessive104 Euros. You can eat much better for half the price in Milan though if you're going to La Scala afterwards no other restaurant will be as conveniently situated.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“There is a typical Gualtiero Marchesi creativity in the choice of the dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Gualtiero Marchesi master chef’s il Marchesino is quite a pleasant restaurant. Beautifully located on the left side of La Scala Theater, It offers a very nice combination of style and good cuisine. From the inside you can enjoy a nice view of the Piazza della Scala and of Milan’s Municipio. The interior decorations are pleasantly minimalist combined with the original imperial style. Ceilings are high; there is much space between tables: there is no noise and that makes the place very suitable for conversations. The atmosphere is at the same time stylish and pleasantly relaxed. Service is good and discrete. Menu is presented on Ipads, which is quite entertaining. There is a typical Gualtiero Marchesi creativity in the choice of the dishes. All of them are well prepared both in terms of appearance and taste. Pasta & Rice, fish and meat are equally attractive with a few superb choices. Risotti, such as “at Zafferano” for dinner and “Milanese al salto” for lunch are great. The Breaded veal cutlet Milanese style represents a pleasant variation of a very traditional Milanese dish. The desert trolley is hard to resist; items such as Tiramisu, Cold Zabaione with Marsala and the Sacher Torte deserve a mention. Ideal both for a business lunches or a romantic dinners, although the former are a better value for money deal, while the latter might turn slightly overpriced.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulus_diaconus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
180 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“nice staff, simple but interesting food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The restaurant attached to La Scala theatre is a very good opportunity especially as an after theatre dinner. The staff is very nice, the food simple but attractive.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gianpaolo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunchtime haven of peace, good food and exceptional service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Milan is a great place to shop but ridden with touristy restaurants with mediocre food. Finding somewhere classy, not stuffy and 5 minutes walk from the Duomo is not always easy which is why Il Marchesino was such a treat to find, right next to the La Scala Opera House. The menu is on an iPads, the service outstanding and the young sommelier delightful and very knowledgeable--good wines by the glass and half bottle. When you are offered just a ball of mozzarella as an 'amuse bouche' you know that you are set for a great dining experience of very subtle, but exquisite tastes and flavors. Milanese food with modern twists--the salted cod and fried polenta was outstanding as a starter and the veal cutlet Milanese, light and melt in the mouth. The big fish ravioli, with pieces of lobster, was delectable. A wonderful wine selection, gorgeous selection of mignardises to end the meal and a fabulous selection of grappas and digestifs. A wonderful place for lunch to relax from the frenzy of shopping and sightseeing, right in the heart of Milan. Would love to go there for a pre-theatre meal. Definitely going back!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Umkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro alla Scala Il Marchesino also viewed

 

Been to Teatro alla Scala Il Marchesino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing