We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Milanese Style and Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Ranked #7 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Classy Milanese Style and Hospitality”
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights for work trip and had a very pleasant stay.

Check-in was smooth and we got bumped to a junior suite in the new annex. It was a bit of a walk to room but it was a good size consisting of lounge, separate bedroom, bathroom and a walk-in wardrobe/utility room. Decor was in an elegant, classic Milanese style, with good quality fixtures and furniture. Room condition was very good, very clean. Aqua di Parma toiletries reinforce the high standard of this hotel. I particulary liked the all in one TV/entertainment system al housed in custom made wooden shell. Very Milanese.

Ordered room service, it was expensive but huge portions and very tasty. Hotel was in area surrounded by office buildings, so there wasn't much there in terms of bars, restaurants or supermarkets. But concierge is excellent for restaurant recommendations, taxis plentiful and and they did provide a limosuine service in to the centre of town and back which we used. Service was top notch and very helpful throughout stay.

The only criticsm I have was the shower, it could have been newer and more powerful and I agree with previous reviews - 8 Euros for a bottle of a 1L bottle Aqua Panna was far too expensive. (But I still paid it as I had no time to pick one up in town).

I liked Principe Di Savoia. It exuded old world Milanese charm, was traditional yet the right side of modern. Service was excellent throughout. Commended

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezzydez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    349
    80
    31
    24
See reviews for
242
645
112
588
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

First time in Milan and I am not a fashion-addict so I guess we missed the whole point and spirit of fashion week in Milan. The hotel is beautiful and has a lot of character. Large lobby, endless corridors but beautifully maintained. Many rooms (probably 70%) of the hotel was recently renovated (2 years at the latest), especially he bathrooms which look very nice. The staff was friendly and tried their best to speak in English (which was largely acceptable). The restaurant has an excellent buffet/bunch on sundays. The hotel was inundated with fashionistas so we felt a bit out place but all went well.

Very friendly concierge who event booked opera tickets for us.

The location was a bit odd as there's not much going on around (no stores, just a handful restaurants) and you have to walk 15 to 20 mn without seeing much.....You can walk 25-30 minutes to reach he Gold Square of Milano.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynegomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We were in this hotel for my birthday. My husband and I booked a double, we had the surprise to be upgraded when arriving!
Extraordinary entrance, beautiful flowers, beautiful garniture, perfect welcoming.
The room was large and comfortable. Very clean place.
Manual Hairdryer at disposal, shower stuff, creams, shampoo...nothing was missing. Very well insonorisated, no noise eventhough our room had view on the street. Very close to the center, and, above all, le luxe du luxe : a limousine was at our disposal as a shuttle between the Hotel and the center of Milano. Perfect.
We had breakfast buffet the morning : everything was very good and fresh, planty varieties of food!
There is a swimming pool with jacuzzi on the roof, and a sport accomodation.
The price was very correct for such a prestation, thanks! we will return there, no doubt ! I highly recommand this hotel, thanks !!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liliwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. The location is ok, not the most beautiful area of the city, but very close to the main station, about ten minutes' walk from the main shopping area, and fifteen minutes' from the Duomo etc. Service is very good, just what you would expect from this sort of place.

However, the standard of our room was *very* poor for a 5* hotel - the decor was drab and tired, and the furniture looked like it would be more fitting in an old people's home, and was certainly not luxurious.

The room cost wasn't too bad, although we paid for a "Tower Suite", which wasn't worth the extra (because of the poor decor - as described above - we didn't really want to spend a vast amount of time in there).

We'd also recommend if you do stay here, don't pay for the breakfast - we had the "continental" breakfast the first day, but it really wasn't worth the money, just some small pastries, brioches and rolls (none of which were fresh), and some juice and coffee. Much better value and quality to go to a local café or bakery (we'd recommend Princi).

Not planning to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leopardskin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Hotel Principe Di Savoia is a truly 5 star property. The service was friendly and accommodating all the way and the room was perfect. It is expensive (think about 47EUR breakfast) but you get Moet champagne and Cristofile silverware for this. If you value the elegant and sophisticate style, expensive furnishings, absence of “blue jeans/baseball caps/shorts wearing” loud and obnoxious patrons-this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariyaChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I arranged a trip to a design exhibition in Milan with our Executive team staying at the Hotel Principe Di Savoia. This hotel had been recommended to me as a 5 star hotel and I was not disappointed. The service we received from the restaurant to the concierge was impeccable, true 5 star service.

The lounge area is fantastic for informal business discussions, lunch and afternoon tea, a very relaxing place to spend time for business and pleasure.

Great location to access all areas of the city and airport. I would recommend this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne_watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2010

our stay at the Principe was outstanding : service , restaurant , bar was exactly what you should expect from a 5 star esclusive Hotel . Luigi at the Salotto was Fantastic and so helpful in many ways. We where stuck (my wife 4 and myself 7 extra days ) in Milan because of the Volcanic ash, the concierge went out of the way to find us new flights and everything that we needed. We are looking forward to be back next year in April

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Chateau Monfort
#12 of 428 in Milan
1,403 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 428 in Milan
1,652 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
625 reviews
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#5 of 428 in Milan
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Property: Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#5 Spa Hotel in Milan
#7 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#8 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing