We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old-world luxury and up-to-date quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Ranked #5 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Old-world luxury and up-to-date quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Precious wood essences, beautifully and admirably maintained, permeate the building and make it a treasure of old-world elegance and luxury. Yet the hotel is very up-to-date. The Ambassador Junior Suite, consisting of fully separate bedroom, living, and entrance, was perfectly functional in every minor detail. Superb bathroom. Magnificent sleeping thanks to tranquility and bed's high quality. A perfect stay.

Room Tip: Ambassador Junior Suite is a bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwalterRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear wwalterRo,
Thank you for sharing this review about your recent stay at Hotel Principe di Savoia and for your kind comments.
Bathrooms are no secondary aspect when it comes to travelling away from home. I am glad you appreciated the one in your room. Details matter and I am really happy you had the chance to take note of what you saw.

I do sincerely hope to welcome you back soon in Milan and wish you a wonderful 2014.
Warm regards,

Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    337
    79
    30
    24
See reviews for
224
621
110
568
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Having read some reviews of other travelers especially Jonathan R's review, I will be brief: Hotel and staff 5 stars. Old world charm, glamour and grandeur. Very nice rooms. The restaurant is somewhat contemporary but in an opulent way; excellent food. Yes, I agree the breakfast buffet is spectacular. The room rates are lower than what I would be willing to accept for a hotel of this caliber. I don't remember the prices I paid for drinks at the bar but assuming that Jonathan R is correct, those would be overpriced. We had a rental car which made it easy to get to the center of the city; without one, you will need to use cabs because nothing is within walking distance of 60 plus year olds. Did not see the spa - refer to Jonathan R's critic. All in all we love the hotel and have stayed there twice before this visit.

Room Tip: Since views are irrelevant I suggest a room at the end of a hall - one less neighbor and far from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolfsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Rolfsass,
Thank you so much for you lovely review. I am happy that you have read the other reviews and agree with what they have written. I do hope you saw the spa. If you do not want to drive, in the future, we have a complimentary car service that brings you to and from the historical centre.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon I wish you happy holidays.
Warmest regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were tired and cold after a long haul flight and did not suspect that we were anywhere near the hotel when the taxi took a sharp turn and pulled up in front of a rather lit up foyer where all of a sudden a man in a long green coat with a hat, who looked rather Russian was efficiently helping us out of the car. We were in front of the Principe di Savoia. Once inside, you feel that you are a sort of palazzo, with plush carpets, sweeping staircases, mirrors and chandeliers. It's a rather beautiful hotel and it manages to deliver what no new hotel can mimic - a sense of genuinely old class and style - but which is still really luxurious without looking aged. The staff were all friendly and all multi-lingual. The rooms are equipped with Aqua di Parma Products, amazing towels, slippers and bathrobes…it's difficult not to feel lucky to be there. We were a bit late to go far for dinner so went down to the Principe Bar to see if they were still serving - this is a gorgeous bar, somehow combining a Titanic style environment with feeling modern too. They apologised for not having a full menu available but were still able to deliver a "few items" which ended up being far from few and absolutely delicious. I had a lobster pasta and my companions a seafood linguine. It came with a great bread basket - we went to bed very happy! Breakfast the next day had a huge selection, which managed to stay true to Italy whilst also catering for more Western tastes. I honestly cannot fault this hotel for its service or its quality generally. If there were one thing, it might be that there is no double glazing in the windows in the room - but it was certainly warm enough, it might just suffer a bit from the noise if someone were unduly sensitive. But I went there 10 years ago and loved it, and 10 years later, a more mature me, still does!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear LuxinLondon,
Thank you so much for this beautiful review. I am delighted that after 10 years you still love the Hotel Principe di Savoia. It is so important for us to keep our old world charm but with a modern flair that I am happy you captured. I will gladly share this review with all my team as your words are a great motivator for all of use.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon I wish you happy holidays.
Warmest regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Got a really good rate at Expedia and spent two nights here last weekend. The room was nice, but even better was the pool and spa plus the breakfast. The breakfast was included in our rate and it was superb. Loved the cold cuts (Parma ham), the variety of cheeses and also the prosecco was a nice surprise.

The concierge provided vety good suggestions for restaurants and met our demands immaculatly. Very helpful indeed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Jenta,
Thank you so much for your lovely review on the Hotel Principe di Savoia. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of our wonderful penthouse Spa and pool. I will be sure to also pass your compliments to our Concierge team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon I wish you happy holidays.
Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Nestled in piazza di republicca around 1.5km from the world famous Via Montenapoleone the principe di savoia offers fantastic amenities and accomadation with an ambience of old world charm .

My deluxe room had great classical Italian decor , a bed so comfortable you'd not want to get up, a bathroom equipped with a fantastic triple shower unit and deep soaking tub and mosaic design mirror . Other amenities included a very well designed wardrobe ,large flat screen tv, a well stocked minibar and electrically operated window blinds and shutters .

The breakfasts here are some of the best I've had , with an amazing array of food from their buffet .

The hotel concierge are very helpful and attentive to your every need . The front desk staff are again kind and professional and service has been key throughout my stay .

There is a great and special ambience about this hotel , it encapsulates Milanese life for some of the rich , famous and fashionable and the bar principe and lobby are great places for people watching whilst soaking up the highlife.

I would definitely stay here again , as I think the hotel is generally sensibly priced in relation to the exemplary service given , however I have found the bar principe to be expensive on their drinks and food ( that whilst i am not criticising the quality , a small portion of tuna for example was 38 euros and a non alcoholic cocktail 19euros ). Laundry is expensive ( 20euros to wash and press a shirt!! ), and finally and I think most importantly the spa needs to be looked at, it is dated in my opinion .The jacuzzi was cold and very small ,and the swimming pool is also small. Also the general ambience around the pool and associated areas lack finesse and glamour , which is quiet the opposite to the rest of the hotel .

Overall though an excellent experience !

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Jonathan R,
Greetings from Milan. Thank you so much for the exquisite review of the Hotel Principe di Savoia. It is with great pride that I read that you enjoyed not only your accommodation and amenities but that you managed to also experience the excellent service of our Concierge, front office and our wonderful breakfast and Principe bar. I agree with you that the Hotel encapsulates Milanese life for some of the rich , famous and fashionable. Thank you for your useful advice on our penthouse Spa.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Be prepared to step into the lap of luxury at this gorgeous hotel. Every single detail has been perfected. The rooms are stunning and spacious, with luxurious bedding and good soundproofing. They have managed to blend perfectly the historic qualities of the hotel with modern luxury and overall good taste. The gym is well equipped and on the top floor with a nice view. Service is warm and efficient, and all of the staff have exceptional English skills. I don't have a single negative thing to say about this hotel. I look forward to having another chance to stay here. It is worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEPCda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear JEPCda,
Thank you so much for your beautiful review. My wonderful team will be overjoyed to hear all the amazing things you have written on the hotel and the service. We all work extremely hard to make sure that everything is perfect and I am also happy that we are able to transmit to you the feel and atmosphere of the Hotel.
Looking forward to having you back at your Milanese home!
Warmest regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We would definitely stay here again, our room was quite spacious, it was a bit older, but very classic and well maintained. Excellent service, nice lobby bar, cocktails, etc. Highly recommend and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Christy S.
It is a great pleasure to read your review and see that you found everything perfect.
At the Hotel Principe di Savoia we strive to offer the best service and we are delighted that you highly recommend us.
If your travel plans bring you back to Milan I would be delighted to personally welcome you.
Warmest regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Property: Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Milan
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#8 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing