We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Ranked #9 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Have been a middling to enthusiastic fan of the Principe for years. It's got a lot of great pluses and is getting better and better with the Dorchester Collection:
1. Fantastic gym - by Italian standards (note: do not plan on laps in the pool).
2. Stylish bar - interesting crowd and a charming staff.
3. Beautiful restaurant - Alcanto is aging well, it's a deluxe interior, the food's superb and the team very solicitous.
4. Terrific concierge staff - especially Gerard. Tip them well, they're worth it.
Just remember, it's an expensive and older property, so in terms of rooms: you get what you pay for. The recently upgraded deluxe rooms and the 2006 or so deluxe mosaic rooms are superb: great furnishings, killer baths (note: the showers drain slowly) and a good size facing the city or Piazza. The other rooms, well...soft goods updated, but the baths were last updated during the CIGA years (late 80's or early 90's) and it shows. And there are still smoking rooms - which can be very aromatic.
All in all, generally the best value for a 5 star hotel in Milan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ez2plsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear ez2plsNYC,
Thank you so much for your lovely and thorough review. I am delighted that during your stay you managed to enjoy our gym, bar and restaurant and I will be sure to share your kind words with our concierge staff.
Please do let me know next time you return as also our Classic Rooms, Premium Rooms and all our Suites have just recently been refurbished.

Looking forward to welcoming you personally back to the Hotel Principe di Savoia I send my warmest regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,348
    345
    80
    31
    25
See reviews for
234
638
111
583
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Wonderful city for a weekend-trip. central laage, nice staff, clean, spacious and quiet room. staff is very friendly. great breakfast buffet. price-performance true. each time would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear John M,
Thank you for your kind review. It is with pleasure that I hear you enjoyed both Milan and the Hotel Principe di Savoia. In two lines you summarized so graciously so many different aspects of the Hotel. We do sincerely hope you consider this your home in Milan.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was the last stop along my four country journey and I couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms are spacious and quiet, the service is attentive, the spa is excellent and the food is outstanding! Did I miss anything? Yes, I missed all the details from the inlaid wood throughout the guest rooms, to the pivoting heated towel racks, to room service that is prompt and perfect, to an excellent concierge staff and to a masseuse that provided the best massage I have ever had. Another bonus is the hotel car that transports guest every 15 minutes into the center of town and back again. What treasures and treats! I will return...perhaps after the Design Shows in 2015. The hotel will be swamped during that time and although they will do an excellent job, I'm selfish enough to want a bit more of the hotel all to myself. Thank you all!

Room Tip: Look at your room first and if you are not satisfied, the hotel will try and accommodate you. Excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear LeahPhiladelphia_PA,
your review is so flattering I really don't know where to start from to say Thank You!
We shall be proud if you decide to consider Principe di Savoia your home in Italy now. If you decide to visit us again, please let me know in advance and we shall be glad to give you a proper welcome back.

Warm Regards
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great location, good facilities, pretty much as good as it gets, but expensive, hotel restaurant is also excellent, and there is a nice outdoor courtyard for lunchtime drinks etc, that is quiet and pleasant to sit in.Breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Eass,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Principe di Savoia. It is with pleasure that I read that everything was great and that you were able to enjoy our restaurant during your stay last year. I sincerely hope that you will come back to Milan soon, and to personally welcome you.

Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the hotel before flying home from Malpensa. We were greeted warmly and shown to a very nice room. That evening we had a very enjoyable meal in the hotel restaurant. The hotel was very comfortable, restful and quiet, with attentive staff. Although not in the centre they have an excellent, free, limo service to central Milan, only 10 minutes away.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RVMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear RVMSydney,
I am happy that you left the hotel Principe di Savoia with a favourable impression even though you only spent one day here with us. We all strive to offer our guest a memorable experience and I truly hope to welcome you back again in Milan in the future to enjoy our other services such as the spa with swimming pool, aperitifs at the bar and room service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back personally I send you my warmest regards,
Warmest regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently spent a few days at the Principe Di Savoia in Milan and enjoyed every minute. Or friends were in one of the more contemporary hotels that felt antiseptic in comparison. The service at the PDS was seamless from beginning to end. As we paid with Amex Platinum, the hotel graciously upgraded us. The room was spacious, especially for a European hotel. The bathroom also was a very good size with two sinks and a separate bath and shower. The room was very quiet, and the linens and bathroom amenities lovely. The spa staff was welcoming and professional. This was especially apparent when, due to the time zone change from the US to Europe, I booked a spa treatment for the wrong day. The hotel removed the charge from my bill with a smile. In addition, as I had mentioned when making my reservation,that my husband and I were celebrating an anniversary, the hotel surprised us with a bottle of champagne and sweet strawberries. Room service was timely and very good. The breakfast was delicious and varied. We will return. Internet was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room and for a duvet to be put on the bed to make the mattress softer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houstontravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Houstontravel2013,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, which truly makes all the hard work and dedication that all our staff goes through worthwhile.
While I am delighted that you enjoyed the special attentions we bestow on our American Express clients, I am glad that you also loved the room and the small tokens of attention that we reserve all our Guests.

I sincerely hope that you will celebrate also your next anniversary with us.
Warm Regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Room was very spacious and well decorated! Service was great and the little message you get on the tv was a nice touch. The view from the balcony was great too, looking over the city! Overall great and pleasant experience !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommysNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear TommysNorfolk,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that overall you had a pleasant experience at the Hotel Principe di Savoia. The view on Milan is really changing and I am glad that you had the chance to appreciate the city's new profile from your room.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Milan.
Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 428 in Milan
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
595 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#12 of 428 in Milan
1,372 reviews
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Grand Hotel et de Milan
#11 of 428 in Milan
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Property: Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Spa Hotel in Milan
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#8 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing