We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Luxurious, but needs improvements...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Ranked #9 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxurious, but needs improvements...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The room is excellent, sleep was great, mattress was perfect, bathroom amazing, very clean. However, I found it unacceptable that a hotel of that level would charge extra a wifi connection, and not even offer free wifi at the lobby. We are in 2013 may I remind you. Also, by any standards, charging 19 euros for an espresso and a coke at the lobby is quite ridiculous!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Marios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Marios K.,
Greetings from Milano. I would like to thank you for reviewing our Hotel and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room.
I understand your sentiment in regards to the extra charge for internet access and I want to assure you that we are currently working on this.

If you have any other questions or concerns regarding your stay please feel free to contact me at any time.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Principe di Savoia I send you my warm regards,

Ezio Indiani
General Manager – Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    323
    76
    30
    24
See reviews for
215
602
105
537
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

From the very moment you enter this hotel foyer you know this is a very serious place to stay, incredibly luxurious, fantastically decorated, and lovingly offered, with service that is second to none, staff who care and want to make your time special in every way.
The rooms are generous and well laid out, the proportions offer great value, with several options available, dining is an experience worth having, little things like the toiletries have spared no expense, and almost very aspect of the hotel says welcome.
I particularly liked the suite we had, wide doors, to the very big bed, comfortable lounge area and dressing room, the bathroom was seriously nice.
Breakfast was a delight, the conservatory was spacious and refreshing, and i have to say the leisure facility was a place to totally unwind , All in all though not the cheapest of hotels this was worth every penny, outside the doorman efficiently brought transport that was fast and effortless, a short drive italian style took you to the Centre where you find the wonderful galleria, shops and restaurants that so reflect the image of all that one would expect from milan, enjoy...

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for an upgrade.....i did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saturnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear saturnia,
It is with immense gratitude that I read your review and myself and all the team of the Hotel Principe di Savoia are honored that your experience was exceptional under every aspect. We sincerely hope to have you again soon as our Guest and to further exceed your expectations.

Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Rooms luxury as good as it gets. Great breakfast. Ready to serve special needs like no gluten. Friendly and helpfull staff. Short taxi ride to Duomo and La Scala. It would have been nice to be closer to town, no real reason to be in the piazza Republic area.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Imalivest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Imalivest,

Greetings from Milano. Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is with great joy that I read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Principe di Savoia. I understand your concern regarding the location and if we will have the pleasure of having you back as our Guest we would be delighted to show you also all the wonderful shops, bars and restaurants that are adjacent to the Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager – Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed several times in the Principe and the first time I was a bit taken aback, by the bit old fashioned styling. Now I have stayed several times and I feel that the Principe has a slightly snobbish appeal, but from all the 5 Star hotels that I know in Milan it has the best price / quality ratio.
Restaurants are excellent (so is breakfast). Concierge service it great!! The only thing I would say is avoid a standard room and yes always check your bar bill very well to avoid surprises the staff there is sometimes a bit over challenged.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sepp-Perlmoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sepp-Perlmoser,
thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us with this precious feedback.
Please do let me know if you have any concerns and I'll be glad to follow through.

I sincerely hope that after your next stay the title of your review will be "I am starting to love it".
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Principe di Savoia.

Warm Regards,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

OK, not exactly classic frescos in our room, but lovely Italian art on walls and ceilings. Every now and then I've stayed at some beautiful hotels that had decent art on the walls, but staying in the Principe we were literally surrounded by Italian paintings. The first person we met at the hotel was one of the managers (I believe his name was Ewan.) We had been on various planes for 15 hours or so and unfortunately looked it. Ewan greeted us like long lost relatives, upgraded us to a suite and then personally escorted us to our room! If you want to understand why Milan is one of the world's great centers of fashion and design, the Principe provides an excellent gateway. I was lucky enough to be in Italy during the "mushroom season" (October - November) and the chef in the Principe's restaurant made us a dish with fresh pasta and Porcini mushrooms that was about as good as it gets. Clean, quiet, close to many fascinating spots and with a staff that is unfailingly helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasNesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had a great stay in this hotel but when checking out we found out that we had been charged for one breakfast which we were told when checking in would be included in our room rate. When we complained the charge was removed. Staff were friendly and helpful and food was great, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you want to stay where royalty and superstars do then this is the hotel for you! It's Royal Suite has to be seen to be believed. It's truly palatial with a its own internal corridor connecting the bedrooms, dining room, kitchen (not that you need one if your staying in this suite!) and lounge... but best of all the corridor takes you to your own private swimming pool. You can open windows from the lounge to the pool as well making this the ultimate party room! But never mind all of the above - you need to stay in this hotel to experience its staff, who are outstanding! So thats five stars from me on style, comfort and service!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_T_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#3 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#6 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#8 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Property: Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#5 Spa Hotel in Milan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#8 Family Hotel in Milan
#9 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing