We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Ranked #9 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb stay!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in November and was very satisfied in the end. The hotel is located near the central train station, which is very convenient for those who like daily trips to near by places!
It is also walking distance to the centre of Milan where the sites and shopping streets are located. The rooms where very clear and spacious, the bathroom was magnificent and the lobby beautiful! Generally the staff was very pleasant, kind and helpful which adds even more to the hotels value.
In the ground floor , there is a very hot bar that gathers all the elite young and old outgoing people of Milan! Should definitely go there for a drink.
The only thing that i would suggest the hotel management to reconsider are the prices for the room service! Prices for ordering lunch or dinner in your room was prohibitive and extraordinary.
Generally, i would surely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dioufismos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Dioufismos,
thank you so much for your review about your recent stay at Hotel Principe di Savoia.

I am delighted that you loved staying with us and I hope you had the chance to try our complimentary services, such as the limousine shuttle to the city centre and the Spa.
We are particularly proud of our Bar, which is a reference point during events such as the fashion week.
Lastly, please note that your comment about room service has been duly noted.

We look forward to welcoming back you and your partner soon.

Sincerely,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager, Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    346
    80
    31
    25
See reviews for
235
640
111
584
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times, a dozen + and on 2 visits i had to change rooms because the a/c was noisey.. apart from that, the rooms varied from super luxe to standard luxe, not sure why.. luck of the draw? wonderful pool/steam room in top floor.. great bar especially at night during fashion week..

Room Tip: if you are not satisfied, ask to see another room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpstalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear gpstalent,
thank you for sharing your review.
I am glad that you loved the penthouse Spa Club 10 and the crowd at the Principe bar.

I totally agree with your suggestion, if a Guest finds any faults about the room we shall be most glad to find a solution, or a better room if there is availability.
In general we do appreciate it when Guests provide feedbacks or requests during their stay, as that gives us the chance to deliver the kind of service they are expecting. For this same simple reason, we try to provide an upgrade whenever possible.

We sincerely hope to see you again soon in your Milanese home. If you wish to, please let me know in advance you are coming back, and I will be most glad to welcome you personally.

Sincerely,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place...The service is exception, Our suite was very spacious and super quiet. The price is worth every penny and if you haven't tried the spa, is amazing and worth all the time that you spend in there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbl_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear mbl_w,
thank you so much for your kind review about Hotel Principe di Savoia.
I will make sure to share it with the team at our Spa Club 10 especially, as they are passionate about delivering a unique experience to our Guests.
I am delighted that you loved your suite and hope to welcome you back again soon to your home in Milan.

Sincerely,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A very beautiful, old world hotel. Rooms were lovely. The dining room and parlor at breakfast and tea was a feast for the eyes as well as the stomach. I agree with the posters who found the services overpriced. I can recall ordering a glass of white wine...for $18.00. I told the smug bar server he could keep it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotterfromny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear globetrotterfromny,
thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at Hotel Principe di Savoia.

While I am pleased to read that you loved your accomodation and breakfast, I would like to hear more about your experience at the bar. If you would like to get in touch privately, I will be most thankful.
I hope you and your family had the chance to try our complimentary services, such as the Spa and fitness centre or the limousine shuttle service.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon
Sincerely,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Over the years, I've stayed here on business and always appreciated the large rooms and friendly staff , but felt it was a little "dated.".

When we decided to vacation as a family in Milan, we chose the hotel for the room sizes and reasonable price relative to others in the area.

We were pleasantly surprised as it appeared to have been completely updated since my last stay. The entrance has been opened up and is quite warm and colorful. The check in was easy and we were in our rooms immediately despite arriving early in the morning. I noticed that the walls were all freshly painted.

The rooms are large and had plenty of sunlight. The decor is old world style with beautiful wood furnishings.the bathroom is also up to date and had all of the amenities and good water pressure in the showers.

The only knock was that you had to pay for wifi, though not a shock as each hotel has its policies.

The location is solid and they had a shuttle to the central area, about a 5 minute cab rideor20 minute walk. The shuttle is likely only during the holiday season to the Duomo and market.

Lastly, despite staying over the Christmas holiday, bravo to the Concierges who found us several excellent restaurants that were open.

Overall, a good choice in Milan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithkids_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear travelwithkids_7,
thank you for this lovely review about your recent stay with us.
I am delighted that you had the opportunity to try our unique concierge services, and I am glad to have the chance to confirm that our complimentary limousine shuttle service is available throughout the year.

All our rooms were recently refurbished in classic style and design details. While I am pleased that you loved your accomodation, I would like to reassure you that your comment about wifi prices has been duly noted.

We look forward to welcoming back you and your family again in Milan soon.
Sincerly,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

After a long 8 hour journey on Delta I was warmly welcomed by the staff of the hotel. I have went to many hotels and this is one of the BEST! The rooms were very nice and the staff were kind.
The concierge helped me and my family find good places to eat as well as giving us a van to head to the Christmas Markets. It was also easy to check in at the front desk. We got morning and evening housekeeping. That was good because Im not the most neat person you will come across. In total I rate this hotel 5 stars. I highly suggest you stay here too!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up in the hotel are better because it is not at all noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Ethan Z,
thank you for sharing your kind words about your recent stay at Hotel Principe di Savoia.
We understand that Guests flying in after a long journey need rest and comfort, and we try to apply flexibility for check-in times whenever this is possible.

I will certainly share your comment with our staff, front desk and concierge in particular, and I do hope to welcome you back at the Principe upon your next journey to Italy,

Sincerely
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I arrived at the Hotel after a horrible journey where I miss my first train than had to wait 2 hours to catch the one getting me to the destination... all together 7hours to do less than 500km!
Upon check in it took a good minute to the lady at the desk to acknowledge me! Then there was no warm welcome or questioning on how was my trip! Sorry but it was important as I had a horrible one! Then it was professional but cold...
They didn’t escort me to the room (For a Palace it’s a must I think!) but this one was beautiful! Honestly it is a perfect room… outside of the view but anyway I didn’t have time to look outside. Really nicely appointed and decorated…
I went to their bar and the experience was good, cosy, trendy and charming… There again the service was efficient but not with a smile or interested in my happiness… Food was good…
Had breakfast and the selection and quality was great… Again service was professional only…
Overall I liked the hotel but outside of the Housekeeping staff and the Concierge (Oldest guy there I think) who were really smiling and happy to help all other staff didn’t feel like they wanted to make you feel good in their hotel and it is why I can’t say that my stay was the best!
But don’t take me wrong it is a beautiful and really good hotel but please tell the bell boy and your bouncer at the entrance to say Hello to people when they enter the hotel! I spent 3 nights I think and never was welcome upon return!
Will I stay there next time… Maybe or maybe not because I like to feel welcome…

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheikhDaCize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear SheikhDaCize,
thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hotel Principe di Savoia.

While I'm delighted that you enjoyed your room and the food, I am extremely sorry that we did not make you feel welcome. I can assure you this is not usually how we treat our Guests and it saddens me that you were not able to experience the warmth our staff is worldwide known for.

I sincerely hope that you will come back and we can reverse your perception.
Happy holidays,
Sincerely
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 428 in Milan
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
600 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#12 of 428 in Milan
1,376 reviews
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Grand Hotel et de Milan
#11 of 428 in Milan
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Property: Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Spa Hotel in Milan
#8 Family Hotel in Milan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing