We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis of Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Ranked #6 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived in Milan by train having left our rental car at the airport car . We foolishly carried our cases to this hotel where there was a wonderful room waiting for us, an incredible bathroom and outstanding service.The staff cannot do too much for their guests and the breakfast buffet is excellent. After scouring Milan for handbags and overawed by the sights, we happily retreated to our lovely bedroom with its down comforter after soaking ourselves in the sybaritic bathtub replete with Acqua de Parma amenity packs. My advice is to use the great concierges to preplan your visit and ensure you get good tickets to La Scala and visit The Last Supper.

Room Tip: Go for the best you can afford and with plenty of elevator space it's no problem having a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Miloj,
thank you for sharing your review about Principe di Savoia.
I am so glad that you and your partner enjoyed your room and breakfast.
Milan has a lot to offer in terms of artistic heritage, we always suggest to take the time for a tour of our city.

I would like to underline your excellent suggestion to get in touch with our concierge team ahead of time, for inspiration about places to go and things to do. They can easily be reached by email directly from our website.

I look forward to welcoming you back again to Milan soon,
Best Regards
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    339
    79
    30
    24
See reviews for
225
623
110
569
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel marked the beginning and the end of our splendid 2 weeks in Italy. It was my first trip to this wonderful nation and am glad we chose to stay here.

We arrived at 6am after a 12 hour flight from Asia, not expecting a room to be available at this hour. But the hotel was gracious enough to grant us a room on the the lower floor, I was amazed with the generous room size. Very well maintained, probably renovated for a year or two.

But what amazes me is the knowledge and professionalism displayed by the concierge team. We are on a holiday with no fixed agenda, sans the must-see places and attractions, we totally relied on recommendations by the hotels we stayed in or the city app by tripadvisor, totally free and easy. The restaurants recommended were all superb in their own way, though not all we liked, but they are nonetheless good and credible restaurants. One of the gentlemen even remembered the train takes exactly 33 minutes from Milan to Lake Como! How's that for precision?

This hotel tops the other 3 hotels we stayed during this trip, set the benchmark for the unfortunate ones that followed, which one of them in Rome failed badly in comparison.

One small thing to your attention, I cant remember if it was room 127 when we first arrived, you have a small problem at the shower cubicle, the water doesn't flow as nicely, hence I had water at my ankle height after every shower. You may want to rectify that.

I will definitely be back here in my next visit to Rome. Thank you for the 2 wonderful stays during our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear LeeCK,
thank you for this extensive review!
We understand the need to unwind after a long flight, but above all the need for a trusted source of suggestions while visiting a foreign country.
I will make sure to pass your comments on to our concierge team.
Thank you for reporting the problem with the shower as well.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Principe di Savoia upon your next trip to Milan.
Sincerely,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I went to Principe with my wife on our honeymoon. Milan was amaizing and the hotel simply great! The ambience and the atmosphere unique, excellent service. We got a Deluxe room which was one ofthe most elegant standard room I have ever seen in my life! The food?? no words for the quality of the buffet breakfast. I even crossed paths with queen of pop.

Hotel is blocks from train station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexicanexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Mexicanexplorer,
thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Principe di Savoia.
We were thrilled to give our contribution to such an important moment of your lives.

Should you want to visit us again - maybe on your anniversary?- please do let me know and I will make sure that you receive a proper welcome back to Milan.

Sincerely,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illlinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Loved this hotel. It was so clean and beautiful. My friend and I stayed there for business and there was plenty of room for both of us. The beds were very comfortable and we loved the down comforters and pillows. The bathroom was super modern and really pretty. Concierge was very helpful except I felt that they recommended the same restaurants to us every night...and to everyone that asked. As if they had some type of "deal" with these restaurants. Otherwise, they were very helpful in helping me map out my walk to the Duomo and helped us to get to Lake Como for the day. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgilly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear jgilly74,
thank you for sharing your review.
We like to take care of those business travellers who walk in after a long flight and need some sound rest. I'm truly pleased if you appreciated your accomodation.

Our concierge is an overwhelming source of information about the city, the hotel and its whereabouts. As you certainly noticed, during August a lot of shops and restaurants are closed in Milan, which is probably the reason why the same ones were suggested to you day after day - they were the only ones still available.

We hope to welcome you back at Hotel Principe di Savoia upon your next travel to Milan,
Best Regards
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
697 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I am so glad to have stayed here, always felt at home when walking into my room. The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk to the main tourist area, or a quick complimentary shuttle. The staff is always ready to assist in anything you request. My room was very clean and the bed was ultra comfortable. The only gripe was the shower door did not close all the way so water leaked onto the bathrooms marble floor. Other than that I would return or recommend this property to others. La dolce vita!

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your review about Hotel Principe di Savoia.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will make sure to pass your comments on to our staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon upon your next stay in Milan,
Sincerely
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a truly luxurious hotel. It is not the most innovative or modern. But is is a hotel with flawless service and most impressive concierge service. The design is traditional and "castle like". And on top of it all, the restaurant is fantastic. With nothing less than champagne on the breakfast buffe! The only negative is that the gym/spa feels a bit old and worn out. The shuttle service is good and simple to use.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Elin B,
thank you for sharing your review about Hotel Principe di Savoia.
I agree with you that service is what makes a stay truly luxurious. We do our best to meet all of our Guests' needs, where possible.
Our rooms and common areas were refurbished only a few years ago: I am glad to read that you appreciate their style.
Please be assured that your comment about the gym has been noted.

We hope to welcome you back again at the Principe,
Sincerely
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

There is no hotel in Milan or within the Dorchester collection that matches the standards of this property. I have lost count of the number of times I have stayed in this wonderful hotel. And everytime it has been a positive, inspirational experience. The service levels are amazing, the staff refined, friendly and dedicated to their professions. Checking out is difficult and yes I will return again next week for another business trip at Il Principe di Savoia. Ezio Indiani, Angelo Rizzi and their team of colleagues bring a new dimension to the guest experience from the moment you arrive to when you depart. The levels of professionalism and dedication to excellence is evident in the passion and attention to detail given to guests. Irrespective of how stressful your working day is, an oasis of elegance and calm await you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Mark P,
thank you for this kind review.
I am most glad to see that you consider the Principe di Savoia your home in Milan.
We take particular pride in being able to welcome returning Guests, especially when we can provide the relax and safety needed on a business trip.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Grand Hotel et de Milan
#10 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Property: Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#5 Spa Hotel in Milan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#8 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing