We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Ranked #4 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Hotel Principe di Savoia is the member of an illustrious chain - The Dorchester Group. And in every aspect, bar one (which is challenge for any hotel), the Hotel is a grand representation of that pedigree.

From check in to check out, I was well catered for by the highly efficient, very friendly service team. My room was large and well appointed, with a lovely mural at the head of the bed. After spending 2 weeks in Rome and Florence, I felt like I was actually sleeping in one of the many museums I visited! The good sized bathroom was richly stocked with amenities and the bath large and inviting.

I dined first for a late lunch in the salon on the ground floor, a delightful oriental salad which was delicious, particularly when paired with a glass of Frangicorta. On both nights of my stay I dined at Acanto, the hotel's restaurant. The meal and service first rate, with the sommelier recommending just the right red for my meal. I had a table in the garden, which was lovely - with the minor nuisance being rather heavy traffic noise. Interestingly, once you become involved with your surroundings, which are peaceful and quite romantic, you cease to hear the noise.

The pool and gym are terrific, with both a Turkish (steam) and dry sauna (both co-ed). There is a terrific terrace on the same floor as the 'Club10' which overlooks all of Milan.

There's no denying the location is in a part of Milan whose buildings/architecture harken mostly to the 1970's. This is the only drawback, as you're effectively in the best looking property on the street! However, a brisk walk southwest and you find yourself in the older parts of Milan, with their character rich architecture. The hotel is very well placed for short trips when you're coming in / out of Milan's Central Station, as it's only a 6-7Euro taxi fare.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CynWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and for choosing Hotel Principe di Savoia during your visit to Milan.
I am thrilled to hear that our hotel met your expectations and you would recommend staying with us. In particular I am very delighted to know you enjoyed your dining experience at Acanto Restaurant, Club 10 and our location, just stroll away from the historical centre and the world famous fashion quadrilateral.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Principe di Savoia,
Best regards

Antonella Sgobba,
Director of Sales and Marketing
Hotel Principe di Savoia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 1,970 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

Five stars value, no doubt.
Comfortable and elegant room finely furnished, luxurious marble bathroom, tasty continental breakfast, helpful staff, wonderful common spaces.
If you have a chance, do order the afternoon tea, served with pastries and sandwiches like in Britain.
Really worth spending a night when in Milan.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
Thank gd2to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for choosing Hotel Principe Di Savoia during your stay in Milan.

I am really grateful for your kind comments as exceptional service is what we strive and we are known for.

I look forward to welcoming you back again at Hotel Principe di Savoia,

Best regards,

Antonella Sgobba
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We've visited Milano a couple of times for shopping during the winter sales. We chose Principe Di Savoia for the shopping package and as a sister property to the Dorchester in London thought it would be a reliable bet. We were right! The lobby and lounge areas have been renovated in the last couple of years and are gorgeous and very inviting.

Check in is always efficient, staff and concierge very helpful whenever we asked. We've stayed in a standard room which tends to be small but another time in junior suite whose space was more than accommodating. Bathrooms are large, marble with ACQUA DI PARMA amenities. Turn down service a delight.

Buffet breakfast in hotel is very very nice...complete with champagne.

Loved the fitness center on the rooftop...ellipticals with a view..what a sight!
Steamroom and pool were great as well.

Our package included breakfast, the room, and the limousine shuttle service to the Quadrilatero d'Oro and Vittorio Emanuele for shopping. What a treat....felt so spoiled.

Classical luxury hotel...I'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear KatD59,

thank you very much for sharing your precious feedback and for staying at Hotel Principe di Savoia.
I am so thrilled to acknowledge that you enjoyed our shopping package. Hotel Principe di Savoia is the perfect place for shopaholic , minutes away from the famous shopping area which can be reached using our free limousine service.
I am really glad you will be back to visit us therefore we are looking forward to welcoming again,
Best regards,

Antonella Sgobba
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We've visited Milano for a two-night-break, during the start of the summer sale shopping 2011. As we wanted to relax in a traditional luxury hotel, we were choosing the Principe Di Savoia.

We had a special rate, but even without, this hotel was one of the less expensive 5* hotels in Milan - and you need to be aware, that all 5* hotels int his city are INCREDIBLE expensive!


Check-In was fast, service-oriented and easy. Staff is very friendly, concierge very helpful with hints and city maps, doorman's are greeting and had at any time a smile on a face. As a parking space in the garage will be charged with 65 Euros (!!!) per day, we've parked our car on our own, two blocks away, in a secured car park for 15 Euros (!!!) per 24h.

We've booked a regular double room, and we got an upgrade to a double deluxe room - very big and in a classic, warm luxury design. We've liked it very much. There was everything you need - including a luxurious HIFI/TV-system. One minus - the surround sound system can not be used in any reasonable, normal volume, only if you want to share your TV channel with the whole floor. Bathroom was also very big, complete in marble, and with special ACQUA DI PARMA amenities - great!

We had a bottle of spumante, fruits and a personal welcome card upon our room. On turn-down, there was free mineral water in a room in small bottles. Be aware, that minibar and room-service is VERY expensive - a frozen pizza margherita for 30 EUR, impossible.


Breakfast was very good, in very elegant atmosphere. Big buffet with everything you need, great, fast and service-oriented staff. We did not had any dinner. The bar is also a classical old-school-5* bar, very nice, but live piano music is missing. There is a nice FENDI design outdoor lounge to hang around, also in the evening, very cool.


Included is the entry to the spa and fitness club on the rooftop. Pool is indoor only, medium size, but clean. Small fitness room. Small whirlpool. A definitive NO-GO is that you will be forced to wear a bath cap during the whole stay - this is not acceptable in such a house! A plus is the little outside terrace with seats, you will have a great view over the city. HINT: There is a little fridge in the spa area where you can take at any time free of charge mineral water bottles and juice cans - also into your room!

Also included is a free limousine shuttle service, every 15 minutes - and this was GREAT! The shuttle (Mercedes Viano and E-Class strechlimousine) brings you with three stops to the main shopping district and to the Scala / Vittorio Emanuele. You don't need a reservation. But the shuttle should run longer in the evening.


All-in-all it is a very nice, classical luxury hotel in Milan with some little "Italian" issues - but it has a price. Even when it is not the highest price, it is a high price. But we would stay again at any time for a short break-out in Milano!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZPZurich-Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to share the feedback with us and for choosing Principe di Savoia.

I am very thrilled to hear that you appreciated our service and I will certainly pass on to our staff all your kind comments. In fact service is very important for us as it is what we strive and we are known for.
Moreover, I am very glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our free limousine service which is the best way to get the most out of your shopping day in Milan.

I am delighted to hear that you would come back to visit us during your next trip to Milan, therefore we look forward to welcoming you back again at Hotel Principe di Savoia.

Best regards,

Antonella Sgobba
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Located 10 mins taxi drive from the central railway station, 15 mins walk if needbe.
We stayed for two nights. Hotel is nice, modern but with old world features. Rooms are very nice, well decorated and bathrooms is nice. We did not eact in the hotel as there are many restaurants by the Duomo area. We were upfraded to a superior room on arrival, which was nice. Hotel Staff are all very nice and helpful. Close to Duomo and shop area, 5 mins taxi , or 20min walk. Be aware that most Milan shops and hisorical places are closed on Monday!...all the fancy designers but frankly I was not impressed....I have seen better shopping in Rome and other places. Two days in Milan was enough for us. Would not recommend Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear JJon,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback following your stay at Hotel Principe di Savoia.
I am delighted to hear that you appreciated our rooms and our location, closed to all the main historical and touristic attractions as well as the shopping area. Our concierges are always happy to give the best advices for you to enjoy at most Milan and everything it has to offer.
We hope we can welcome you again at Hotel Principe di Savoia,
Best regards,

Antonella Sgobba
Director of Sales and Marketing
Hotel Principe di Savoia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I did not have a lot of time to visit the hotel, but i appreciate having a discrete but efficient service when super busy. They passed the test well. Also, restaurant was nice with a nice breakfast buffet. The only big negative point was the gym, which is in a suite of the hotel. There should be some work done there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear Swissguest,

thank you very much for choosing us during your stay in Milan and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am glad you appreciated our service and I will certainly pass this onto our staff as service is what we strive and what we are known for.
Regarding the gym, I would like to explain that our Club 10, with gym, swimming pool and spa is located on the top floor of the hotel and it not in a suite, but has an independent access open everyday from 7am till 10pm. However, during December 2010, the swimming pool had some work done and to give all our guests the possibility to enjoy this service we opened to the public our Presidential Suite and its swimming pool. I apologise for any inconvenience this might have caused to you, but assure you that this was just an exceptional occasion.
I do hope we can welcome you again to Hotel Principe di Savoia in the future,

Best regards,

Antonella Sgobba
Director of Sales and Marketing
Hotel Principe di Savoia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

checked into the hotel,was upgraded to a suiote but at 950 euros a night it wasnt worth this money.
breakfast average/bar average,close to city centre so easy for shopping.
always fly to linate,as airport just close to milan.
good local restaurants nearby but was very disappointed when i asked if internet was free and they said 28 euros per day,even after paying 950 euros for the room..not good.
would i go back again,maybe in 3-4 years,hopefully internet free then
p.s.nice gym and pool area,good spa.

Room Tip: pay the hotel price and ask for upgrade when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordcave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent visit to Hotel Principe di Savoia.

Whilst I was sorry to know how you found our breakfast and bar, I was delighted to learn that you appreciated our Spa and pool at Club 10 and also our location, stroll away from the centre and the famous Milanese shopping area.

Moreover, I was pleased to hear that you will consider coming back and therefore we look forward to welcoming you back again at Hotel Principe di Savoia.

Best regards,

Antonella Sgobba
Director of Sales and Marketing
Hotel Principe di Savoia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Chateau Monfort
#9 of 430 in Milan
1,510 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#3 of 430 in Milan
776 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milan
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#5 Family Hotel in Milan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $289 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing