We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Ranked #7 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Visited this establishment in September on a tour. The room was very pretty but the service and food in their 5 star restaurant was very average. We were asked a couple of times if we had a booking - I don't know why because the restaurant was not anywhere near full. I had the feeling they were being very snobbish which did not impress us at all.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Beachman1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 782 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to find that our suite had been upgraded, our room was not quite ready so we were shown to the bar and had coffee (complimentary ), whilst we were waiting. The room was beautiful with a fantastic marble bathroom. The staff were very helpful and always used our name when talking with us, something that always helps to make you feel welcome. A 5 minute walk from Le Scala and very close to the main shopping area, arcade and the Duomo. Milan is very expensive but we were made to feel that what we were getting that little bit extra. The hotel reataurant, Don Carlos, is a must.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I come to Milan quite often and mostly stay in this hotel. Besides great location just in from of Montenapoleone and 5 minutes walk away from La Scala it has a great spirit and atmosphere of Verdi times. It's really nice to have a snack and drink in Gerry's bar after evening flight and breakfast in Caruso terrace looking at morning city. Rooms are little old but comfortable and nicely decorated with antique furniture. I really like Callas suite (114) with lots of her pictures and scenic accessories. Service is also very descent and friendly, especially on concierge desk. They can get you any ticket to La Scala :)

Room Tip: All rooms are different and good. Depends on taste. Via Manzoni side is a little noisy in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I love this Hotel. It has a charme of the past - especially of a cultural past (thinking about Giuseppe Verdi living here, for instance) and a service of the present.
You will ike the courtesy of the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, the good sleep quality (although you are in the center of Milan).
To improve: Room Service in the night (only warm-up dishes), Internet service (not working well and MUCH too expensive). Everything else is just great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLuisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

First time staying at this hotel and the first thing that hits you when you walk in is that this is an old building steeped in history and character. Customer service is excellent and everyone is very friendly and attentive and speak extremely goo english.

Room i was in was pretty big, parquet flooring, large samsung tv with a good range of tv channels and large bathroom.

Location of the hotel is excellent as very central and you can get to everywhere you want to very easily with lots of high end shops nearby for those that like shopping!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Grand Hotel et de Milan. The accomodations and service were excellent. Had dinner in the restaurant, and the food and service there were also excellent. Breakfast was also very good and the food was plentiful. The location of the hotel was very convenient, within walking distance to all major attractions. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

it is hard to fault this hotel. it is perfectly situated for the shops, galleria, duomo, la scala etc. and the staff could not be more charming or helpful. we did not have lunch or dinner there, but the buffet breakfast was fine. it is eye-wateringly expensive, but so are all the top hotels in milan.
the "classic" bedroom was a bit on the small side, but i would return again and again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank operatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#10 of 427 in Milan
1,088 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#5 of 427 in Milan
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 427 in Milan
720 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et de Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et de Milan

Address: Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $394 - $792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel et de Milan 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of elegance where many famous people from the past have left their mark. Opened in 1863, the Grand Hotel et de Milan still holds its charm and allure as an old ‘Milanese’ mansion. It has been and still is the preferred hotel of many national and international celebrities from the worlds of culture,fashion, music, business and entertainment.Located in the heart of the town it is just a few steps from the fashion district, financial area and duomo cathedral. Due to its position and excellent bars, restaurants and halls, the Grand Hotel et de Milan is the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel et de Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing