We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm, modern conveniences, in the heart of Milan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Ranked #8 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old world charm, modern conveniences, in the heart of Milan”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

And foreever in my heart. Centrally located with an attentive staff and an air of oppulence. I highly recommend the Grand Hotel et de Milan. I stayed twice in the past month, travelling on business. The staff is courteous and efficient, the hotel is classy and has all the modern conveniences.

Room Tip: great accomodations for a traveler from the west. Room was ready for early check in. got a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaSkyMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Hotel et de Milan on Tripadvisor.com.

We are pleased to know that you had a good experience with us, and we have really appreciated your kind words about the efficiency and courtesy of our staff.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your return visit,

Sincerely,

Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    125
    41
    12
    7
See reviews for
125
280
54
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Being at the Grand Hotel et de Milan is an extraordinary experience. The Hotel is quite of age, so are some of the inventory. Still - the staf makes up for this. They are - for european standards - extremly friendly and well educated. Not a single exception.
The location is perfect for visits to the SCALA and to the for a shopping adventure in all top shpos of MIlan.
We would choose this Hotel certainly again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jww57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.com.

We are happy to learn how you enjoyed the classic design of the Hotel and the location. Your comments about the staff of the Hotel were very valuable to us and we have taken the liberty to share them with the other departments with the aim of ameliorating our service and guest satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Your sincerely,


Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

As soon as you step into the hotel, you feel the warmth. Our experience of the hotel was the best form the cleanliness, rooms, food and of course the service. A very friendly staff and very helpful.
Next time I'm in Milan, I would defiantly stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I used to love this hotel, which has real allure and a strong sense of history, but checking in again for the first time after a long absence, I found it decidedly faded. For starters, the service is haughty and unhelpful, and then my room was dusty and decidedly grandmotherly, with a saggy bed and drab furniture. The bar used to be a lovely place for a drink before dinner or a night cap but the staff were baldly disinterested in being of service, the prices have become absurd, and the atmosphere is gone. In fact the charm that was once this hotel's main attraction seems to have drifted away entirely. A real shame. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking noisy via Manzoni
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Direttore at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Grand Hotel et de Milan.

We would like to offer you our sincere apologies if we have disappointed your expectations. Your comments were distributed to the various departments in order to review and improve. We are convinced that the impression you have unfortunately received of our Hotel does not correspond to the type of service and image that we daily provide our guests and we hope that you will reconsider your decision by giving us another opportunity and honoring us again with a new visit.

Please feel free to contact me personally for your future reservation when next visiting Milan.

With our reiterated apologies,

Sincerely,


Antonio Cailotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been there before and it is as good as always.
However it is an expensive hotel
Very close to via Napoleane for exquisite shopping and within walking distance of the Duomo.
We had a room on the first floor at the front and it was very noisy.
But the rest of the services were as you would expect from a first class hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room higher up and preferably not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOG316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit at The Grand Hotel et de Milan.

We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed our service and that you were able to take advantage of our centrally located property. Our sincerest apologies for providing you with an accommodation facing the front of the Hotel; in fact the traffic noise may be quite disturbing sometime. We would gladly make immediately a note on your records to ensure an accommodation overlooking the inner-side of the Hotel on the occasion of your future visit, however since for privacy your identity is kept undisclosed we kindly ask you to remind us when next booking.

We certainly hope that you will visit us again in the near future so that we can renew our utmost care and attention.

Kind regards,


Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in January. It is the best location in Milan. I walked to la scala for a performance. My room was upgraded and good size and very nicely decorated i was given wi-fi and free Internet service. I enjoy the classic decor and modern amenities. The concierges were extremely helpful. I would gladly return

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. com.

I appreciate your kind comments regarding the location, room and service of the Hotel.
It is a pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction.

Looking forward to your return visit,

Best Regards,

Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Old and well placed hotel. Professional and chearfull staff. Good bar. A beat noisy in the early morning due to road encounter. Better ask for the room with the windows on a pedestrian area.
Excellent place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travaller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.com.

I am pleased to read such gentle words and I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel et de Milan.

Nevertheless I am sorry if the room was too noisy, and if you wish to send us a private email we will make sure that at your next stay we will assign you a quieter room.

Looking forward to your return visit,

Kind regards,

Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 431 in Milan
1,550 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#5 of 431 in Milan
956 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#10 of 431 in Milan
285 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et de Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et de Milan

Property: Grand Hotel et de Milan
Address: Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel et de Milan 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of elegance where many famous people from the past have left their mark. Opened in 1863, the Grand Hotel et de Milan still holds its charm and allure as an old ‘Milanese’ mansion. It has been and still is the preferred hotel of many national and international celebrities from the worlds of culture,fashion, music, business and entertainment.Located in the heart of the town it is just a few steps from the fashion district, financial area and duomo cathedral. Due to its position and excellent bars, restaurants and halls, the Grand Hotel et de Milan is the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel et de Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing