We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and tradition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Ranked #11 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. It' right on the Golden Triangle and a five minute walk from La Scala and the Duomo. It is an old magnificent building, that has been extremely well renovated up to modern standards. It keeps the old atmosphere (don't forget that the great Verdi died there and Maria Callas was a frequent guest), without any compromises to modern amenities.

Our room (419) was ridiculously small, although very well furbished. One interesting thing that I liked a lot is the old cupboard facade that has been preserved. The bathroom was a surprise: one of the best that I have ever encountered. Classic in style, but modern in all its amenities. But the bedroom was so small that the bathroom door touched the bed when opened!

Breakfast is mediocre and you expect more from a five star plus hotel. They even charge you more for american style breakfast. The restaurant area that it is served is kind of dreary.

Staff is OK. Upon arrival, we waited for 20' because we were earlier than the normal check-in time. As we waited in the lobby, they didn't offer us something to drink, as usual in other five star hotels, but we were compensated by the willing main desk employee who showed us to our room.

One problem that they have and that they must resolve is the Wi-Fi connection that is available for ONLY ONE device per room, which is very inconvenient when you have a smartphone and a tablet or a laptop. They told me that they are trying to resolve it. I hope so.

Two remarks: In a hotel of such standards you do not expect to carry your luggage from the taxi to the lobby (because the doorman is talking to someone else), as we did. And you expect that they bring your luggage in your room, not someone else's, as they did with us.

And finally, the offer that we booked included free Wi-Fi and newspaper. The paper NEVER came and WE had to ask for another Internet voucher after the first 24 hours. But these are minor problems.

Definitely I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Opt for courtyard view rooms, since they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spyros F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, we are pleased to learn that you have valued our location and history of the Hotel, as well as its design and classic atmosphere.

We would like to apologize for not extending an invitation for a drink while you were waiting for your room to be ready upon your arrival; our sincerest apologies also for the poor luggage and doorman service. Your comments have been useful and have been shared with the staff concerned to avoid similar situations in the future.


We would like to make a note on our records to ensure that you will be given a more comfortable and spacious accommodation on your next stay with us; please feel free to provide us the name under which the reservation was made, to enable us to add the adequate information for the future.

Your comments about the Internet and Wi-Fi service are perfectly understandable; unfortunately we are contractually bound to a private company until September 2013. We will surely manage from there on the system directly and accordingly we will be able to offer the Wi-fi service free of charge and limits.

We wish that you will visit us again in the near future, If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With kind regards,


Antonio Cailotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 834 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I had an outstanding stay at the Grand Hotel et de Milan.
•The hotel and our room were spacious/beautiful.
•We had excellent dinners at both the hotel restaurant (Don Carlos) and a nearby restaurant recommended by the concierge..
•We were provided with a knowledgeable/personable guide for a tour of Milan.
•The concierge was very diligent in obtaining tickets to view The Last Supper..
•When we had difficulty on our last night with our flight reservations, the front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bseawell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Hotel is located in an amazing place walking distance from all the shops.
The service is very high level. The staff is friendly and help full.
This hotel is my favortive in Milan.
The rooms are spacious and classical. Bathrooms great and good amenities in the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were impressed by the staff from the moment we made the booking. The concierge team were the best we have encountered and were so helpful. The front of house staff made this hotel stay an enjoyable and relaxing experience. The rooms were good and the location perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank nztraveller1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We only stayed one night, but during our brief stay we were impressed with the staff of the hotel. They let us check in early, which is always nice after an overnight flight. Another staff member recommended a nearby cafe for a light lunch, and another gave us specific directions to the spot where our day tour was meeting. Our room was a little small, but this is a historic hotel. The room was clean and quiet and the bathroom was large. Breakfast was a very nice buffet serviced in a lovely room. I should mention we used points from our credit card to pay for the room, so perhaps that is why they gave us a smaller room. We did not think breakfast was included in our stayed, but they included it anyway, which was very nice of them. The location, as many others have mentioned is really hard to beat no matter why you are visiting Milan. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SugarCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

As classic as can be. Wonderful hotel, wonderful style and absolutely professional staff.
Very central, absolutely perfect for shopping in nearby streets or doing anything else in downtown Milan. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed at Grand Hotel in early July at the start of the summer sale season. It is literally within all the great shops. Hotel service was excellent and helped us find good restaurants close by. The subway station is right beside a subway station so it quite convenient if you want to venture to the other parts of the city.
It also has gym facilities, and internet service was fast which was critical for me as I needed to login for a few hours to squeeze in work.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipzoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Monfort
#10 of 431 in Milan
1,548 reviews
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
1,143 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#8 of 431 in Milan
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et de Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et de Milan

Address: Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $413 - $947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel et de Milan 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of elegance where many famous people from the past have left their mark. Opened in 1863, the Grand Hotel et de Milan still holds its charm and allure as an old ‘Milanese’ mansion. It has been and still is the preferred hotel of many national and international celebrities from the worlds of culture,fashion, music, business and entertainment.Located in the heart of the town it is just a few steps from the fashion district, financial area and duomo cathedral. Due to its position and excellent bars, restaurants and halls, the Grand Hotel et de Milan is the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel et de Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing