We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in the past”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Ranked #10 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2007

The Grand Hotel in Milan falls into the trap that so many historic hotels in European cities find themselves in. In principal, the hotel is well run, professional and perfect for guests visiting Europe for a taste of history. However, the formula of the hotel has probably not changed in over 20 years. Everything is geared towards unadventurous travel - perfect for the dowdy business traveller, Japanese, Russian, or Middle Eastern guest. Sure, the formula works well - but if you like excitement in your travel experience, this place will let you down.

The hotel has a great location - perfect for all the designer shops. It is right next door to the amazing Armani Department Store. The check in was efficient and the staff friendly and slick. The room looked a little tired with a soft mattress on the bed. Good sized bathroom. My room was also a little noisy (but there are inner courtyard rooms - which may not have the view, but counteract this problem). There was a stale smoke smell in the room (I had not been asked my preference on check in) - I wish hoteliers would just completely ban all smoking from guest rooms. Many of my friends smoke - but they would not dream of doing it in their bedroom. I used the gym, which was in a nice glass conservatory and quite adequate. Morning coffee was delivered quickly. Breakfast was a buffet style - OK, but nothing spectacular (quite expensive).

My stay was a quick business trip, so the hotel was fine for that. However, if I was to return to Milan, I would consider looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Globaladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 812 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2007

I spent only one night at this hotel at the conclusion of a 2 week trip around Italy.

A couple things stand out...

First the location is perfect, especially if you're going to Milan to shop. All the fashion houses are within a few minutes walk. The train station is about a five minute taxi ride away and there are numerous restaurants in the neighborhood.

Second, the hotel is loaded with historic character but is updated and fresh at the same time. Our room had a small balcony and towering
12 foot ceilings plus an enormous bath plus a shower. All the usual amenties for a hotel of this caliber... slippers, robes, bath items...
you name it.

We ate on the restaurant patio and had a wonderful meal by candlelight. Nice service and delicious food that kept pace with many others we had on our trip.

No worries choosing this hotel...good for business or pleasure.

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank BiscottiCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

If you want to stay were the action is this is the place. Old world Italian charm this hotel is beautiful and the service was the best, from the doorman to the bartenders. My only complaint which I consider a big one was it was usually warm for October when I was there and there was no air condition in the room now consider this and the hotel on a busy street it did not make a pleasant night sleeping. When I called down to complain they stated that the air condition was turned off and there was no way to turn it back on. Having paid a lot of US Dollars for the night in a suite I would expect better in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SQUIRT96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

I have recently stayed at the Grand Hotel Et De Milan for 2 days, on my way back home from my vacation in Western Sicily.

I have booked my stay directly at the hotels' web-site. First I was looking at the available standard rates and then noticed the promotion - 2 types of Milan Experience Packages, both for minimum 2-day stay.

I wend for Milan and Leonardo. Apart for a more attractive price of the room, it included a trip to the Scence and Technology Museum (which I skipped in favour of shopping, sorry), but also, more importantly, free tickets to see Leonardo's Last Supper. It was really worth it, unbelivably beautiful!!!

(Note: you have to e-mail or call the concierge about 10 days in advance. If you just simply come to the chapel on the day and try to get a ticket yourself, they will tell you that it's booked for 2 weeks. The price of the ticket is about 7 EUR, but with this package you get it for free).

One minor thing about the hotel: one of the 2 beds in our room was very melodious: someone certainly had an excellent time! I wouldn't have cared at all - I sleep like a log, but my mother (whom I travelled with) was dissatisfied. Maybe good idea to jump on your bed couple of times before unpacking!! (We stayed in room 503). Breakfast was OK, not excessive, but I adored the pancakes.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaramoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

This was the 2nd Hotel we stayed in in Milan. The hotel, staff, rooms and hospitality were excellent. It really made a difference after traveling around Italy for 10 days. The location is very near Il Duomo, The Galleria and Il Teatro.
Because it is situated directly on a VERY busy street, the noise eminated through the room so bad that I had to use the same earplugs I used on the airplane just to get to sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank bosserpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Beautiful hotel with the old world charm of Italy! Our standard room had a lovely marbel bathroom with French doors The bedroom also had a nice view with a mini balcony.

If you're looking for a new and modern hotel this is definitely not for you. But if you want to be near luxe shopping and experience great service, this place is worth the $$!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JetShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

This is a beautiful luxury hotel in a central and fashionable part of Milan. It occupies an old palazzo and maintains the historic charm of its location. While the rooms can vary widely in size (from very small to large suites), they are all beautifully appointed and a pleasure to stay in. The staff is extremely attentive and polite - almost anticipating your desires before you even think about them. Those looking for palatial rooms should look elsewhere. This hotel offers refined beauty, elegant charm and excellent service.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank NYC304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#12 of 430 in Milan
1,122 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#9 of 430 in Milan
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#8 of 430 in Milan
1,784 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et de Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et de Milan

Address: Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $391 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel et de Milan 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of elegance where many famous people from the past have left their mark. Opened in 1863, the Grand Hotel et de Milan still holds its charm and allure as an old ‘Milanese’ mansion. It has been and still is the preferred hotel of many national and international celebrities from the worlds of culture,fashion, music, business and entertainment.Located in the heart of the town it is just a few steps from the fashion district, financial area and duomo cathedral. Due to its position and excellent bars, restaurants and halls, the Grand Hotel et de Milan is the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel et de Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing