We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel
Ranked #128 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Charming but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday this year. The location is unbeatable - ten minutes by foot and you're at the Duomo. Alternatively, there is the metro just a stone's throw from the hotel. The staff are professional, and speak excellent English.

The hotel decor is charming but the rooms are really in desperate need of refurbishment. Our initial room was awful. Small - I had to hop over my luggage which was between the wall and bed (thats how narrow it was) and cracks everywhere. I had to go down to the reception to ask for another room before we were given another room which was still old, but at least not falling apart at the seams. I was told that due to the layout of the hotel, room sizes differ widely. Our new room faced the road but there was hardly any traffic noise when the windows are closed. I am overall very disappointed about the room quality for its price and reputation.

Check out the Sunday brunch if you can though. Great food and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank technicolour_dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Milan, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear Technicolour_dreams ,
thank you for posting about your experience at our hotel and thank you for the nice review of our hotel,staff and Sunday Brunch . However we are sorry to know that you were not happy with some aspects of your stay. We are quite aware of the aspects you highlight having to do with renovation , they are things we will bring to attention higher up, however during December we are going to change the windows frames of mezzanine, first and second floor facing the street side due to the fact that the increasing traffic in Milan is becoming a problem for all our guests.
So we are looking forward to welcoming you back next year ! thanks !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    365
    186
    80
    53
See reviews for
124
236
65
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

The hotel sheraton diana majestic is centrally located (porta venezia) and it is very close to metro station and train station porta venezia. The hotel is quite old, but the garden for the apero espescially on wednesdays and thursdays is very well known in milan.
Breakfast is definitely overpriced. it is better to have it once of the several cafes close to the hotel

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dell3581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Milan, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2010
Dear Dell3581

a big thank you for your review and for providing information that will be useful to fellow Tripadvisor members. Our bar is the place to be in Milan and we are glad you enjoyed our special evenings in the garden. Thank you also for your note regarding breakfast.. food for thought!

Sheraton Diana Majestic, Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

It is an old classic building, well refurbished, close to the city centre (walking distance 15min). I consider it quite expensive for the provided facilities. From the rooms you can hear the tram passing in front of the hotel, which I found it nice. The rooms are really big. The staff speaks English above Italian average.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrys_Was_There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Milan, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2010
Dear Harry from Rhodes ,

Thank you for posting your comments! The Diana has opened more that 100 years ago as an hotel and it is really a combination of history and design , together with our renowned h>bar and garden which is the place to be in Milan. We are looking forward to welcoming you again here ! There are several offers that you can find in our website which are really convenient , mostly on week ends !
Best


Sheraton Diana Majestic, Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Great service, rooms need an update. Location a little distance away, but good overall. Bfast overpriced

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Milan, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2010
Dear Traveljunkie042,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our Sheraton Diana Majestic in Milan. We were delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you appreciated our staff, that works exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We are aware of the aspects you highlight having to do with renovation and pricing, they are things we will bring to attention higher up and your review will be a contribution. Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Diana !

Sheraton Diana Majestic, Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

It is not easy to stay in Milan and to spend less than EUR 300 per night. Te Sheraton Diana offers a good recognition for SPG Elite status and may get you a room to the inner court, (rooms to the street are noisy). The Hotel is a fashionable, noisy, enjoyable pre-dinner drinks place.
Nice small gym, OK location. Staff do their best to make you feeling at home

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pprhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Milan, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear PPRHH
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our Sheraton Diana Majestic in Milan.
We were delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you appreciated our h>bar and our staff, that works exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.
Also thank you for your point regarding the noise : our rooms are sound proofed but not enough to compete with the high traffic that lately has been increased in Viale Piave, together with waste collection done very early in the morning for which we have already complained to the Municipality.
Thank you so much for staying with us, we hope to see you in the near future.

Sheraton Diana Majestic,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

My stayed at the Sheraton Diana this past July 2010 was not too majestic.
After a 16 hour flight, I checked-in late and found the reception not to be welcoming.
My room faced torwards the street and was dark and smelled strange - it was only after I turned on the lights that I realized the room was full of mold. The furniture was quite dated and the room wasn't clean. The mini-bar contained some items that had expired and it was quite visible that it was not dusted as the menu was dusty - as well as the adjunct desk. Had I not been so tired, I would have asked to change rooms but took this as an experience and as warning that you cannot expect comfort and cleanliness in all 4 star hotels. Based on the reviews, I expected this to be a wonderful place to relax and start my holidays but was truly a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Milan, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2010
Dear Missy London78

We thank you for your feed-back.
We really regret for the troubles experienced in our Sheraton Diana Majestic regarding the cleanliness, but I have also to explain that, as you surely saw, our building is an historical one (it is one of the most ancient hotels of the city) and as you could understand the impression of dirtiness sometimes is given really by the years. This doesn’t want to be an excuse, but it is just to show you how they truly are.
I want to ensure you that your feed-back is really much appreciated and we will take care of it for our future renovations (in fact we will be closed in August to update some areas).
We do not take lightly the concept of “quality service” and we intend to correct any service inadequacies in our hotel, since our goal is to completely satisfy our Guests’ expectations. Your precious criticism will enable us to constantly verify and maintain the standard of our service.
We hope to have the chance to host you again in the future to could show you our renewed parts and let you experience the high quality of service for which our Hotels are renowned.
With our warmest regards,

Sheraton Diana Majestic, Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

As tradition would dictate, a word on the location first, and the Diana Majestic is a little way out from the centre of town, but with metro and tram stops nearby and the centre easily reachable on foot (25 mins to the Duomo). The hotel itself reminded me of a miniature Dorchester for those who know the London landmark (not in terms of luxury just in terms of design); all chandeliers and carpets and a quaint quality about it all. The bar downstairs is lively and seems to be quite the spot with Milan's beautiful people, hopefully those people with a room that was on the interior side of the hotel are not kept awake by the revelry.

As for the room it was smallish and functional even on the SPG floor. Good sized TV though. The big problem was the noise; My room was third floor, street side and i am not a light sleeper. Normally to wake me up it takes one or more of the events mentioned in the exclusions clause on your home insurance (Acts of God, War, Civil Disobedience etc) but even I succumbed at 5.30 to the noise of the Italian dustmen in the street below. This may not be a daily occurence, so i could have been unlucky, but a light sleeper may not even have got to sleep in the first place due do the hum of the traffic. Asking for an interior room would remove this problem, so be warned.

The fitness room was "fit " for purpose. 2 treadmills, a cross trainer and a stepper + some decent free weights and 2 random nautilus machines. Enough to blow away the cobwebs anyhow.

Finally , breakfast; Make sure you get an inclusive rate, because if not, paying 36€ for the full buffet will hurt somewhat, especially when you see just how good it is! It really is a wonderful spread, lacking only real strawberries and fresh honeycomb if I am to be very fussy, and you could argue that for that price you would expect a chef or two on hand flipping pancakes and making omelettes (some would expect even more for 45 bucks) , but overall it does rate as of the highest standards. You can also eat Al Fresco in the wonderful garden which must rate as a real bonus in a city like Milan.


I would happily stay here again because i am a heavy sleeper who likes a nice stroll in the morning, a hearty breakfast and a decent fitness room. If you have other criteria by which you measure a hotel then make up your own mind. Oh and a final word to Starwood about expensive WIFI access - give it up. Myself and millions like me just wont pay it and you just cheapen yourself by charging for it. This is becoming like hot water as amenities go, so why not start charging for the shower if that is your logic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kissthesunsetpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Milan, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2010
Dear kissthesunsetpig
Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed comments about our Hotel !
We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the Diana. As you have appreciated the Sheraton Diana Majestic is located just few steps away from the most celebrated tourist attractions of Milan and in a residential area that makes you feel part of the city . Our garden is the landmark of our property and our Bar is the place to be in Milan! We are also pleased to hear that you have appreciated the friendliness of our staff which always works exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.
Regarding noise we know that sometimes room on the street level are noisy and we have already asked Milan municipality to change the time of the garbage collection which happens to be during the night, at the moment we did not receive any answer . We are also planning for next year to insulate some of the most noisy rooms which actually are not covering enough the traffic noise which has increased dramatically in Milan.
Our fitness which is located on the 4th floor will be also upgraded next year with the Sheraton Core Performance program.
Regarding Internet access, Starwood has already started a program offering free internet to SPG platinum guests, more news to come !
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are looking forward to welcoming you again in Milan !

Sheraton Diana Majestic,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
The Westin Palace, Milan
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Citta Studi
Mercure Milano Centro
Mercure Milano Centro
#90 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Four Points by Sheraton Milan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel

Property: Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel
Address: Viale Piave 42, 20129 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Milan
#101 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton Diana Majestic. Located in the heart of the Milanese shopping district, our great location allows you to explore and connect to our wonderful fashion city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Milan
Milan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing