We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel
Ranked #129 of 427 Hotels in Milan
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

For a work trip, with daily commutes to the Milan convention center (Mico), this was a good Starwood hotel to stay in. It is near a red line (M1) metro station, with access to the city center. Amendola station is also on the red line, with about a 10 minute additional walk to the convention center.

The room was very clean with a full bath. I was expecting worse given some of the previous reviews on Tripadvisor, although I may have had some preferential treatment as a Starwood Gold member. A safe is provided, which can easily fit a laptop and camera if needed. The only drawback was that the walls are a little thin, so earplugs may be helpful, especially if you are on the street side.

To get to this hotel from Malpensa airport, a taxi will cost around 100 Euros. Taking the Malpensa express train to the main station (Centrale), one can walk to this hotel in about 20 minutes. A taxi from here will cost about 10 Euros.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_family_of_four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear NYC_family_of_four,
Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor, especially for what concerns the tips about transportation. Malpensa Airport could also be reached in 30 minutes from Stazione Cadorna (5 stops with the red metro line) and the one-way ticket costs about 10 euros.
We look forward from welcoming you again
Roberta Davanzo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    401
    200
    93
    57
See reviews for
138
260
69
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Sheraton Diana is an excellent choice in Milan and is worth a visit for the H bar alone. It is centrally located just 10 minutes walk from the main shopping and commercial district of Milan and is next door to a park which is great for a run, or relaxing on a sunny day.

The hotel is relatively small and has just 6 stories which gives it a cosy, personalised feel. It has a large garden with a fountain which I imagine would be great on a sunny day or warm evening. On the ground floor is the H bar - without doubt the highlight of the property. The furniture is eclectic and the large windows lookout into the garden. In the evening there is house music and often a DJ - which combined with the buffet of snacks and canapés (which are complimentary if you order drinks) ensures it is popular with locals and hotel guests alike. The large number of outsiders ensures a buzzing atmosphere particularly in the early evening before dinner.

As a SPG platinum I was upgraded to a junior suite overlooking the garden. Like much of the hotel the room was somewhat tired and in need of a refurb. While called a junior suite it was really just a large room with lots of empty space. The bathroom was similarly large and rather empty (although a separate shower and bathtub is always a plus). Unfortunately the double bed was actually two singles pushed together - which made for a rather uncomfortable sleep. Standard Sheraton amenities were provided.

The gym is in a small room on the 5th floor. While the equipment is new and modern the small size of the room means there are not many machines and range is limited. On the two occasions I visited the two running machines were occupied so I eventually went outside for a run (a nicer choice anyway).

As there is no lounge breakfast was offered in the dining room downstairs (beside the H bar). The area was rather small and crowded. There are few single or double tables and we were allocated what effectively was a communal table with 6 other people. It was a little too early in the morning for sharing a meal with strangers in my view. Consequently on subsequent occasions I ordered room service breakfast. The breakfast spread in the dining room was poor with overall limited selections - and unfortunately the room service breakfast is not much better.

In summary the hotel has an excellent location and a fantastic bar and garden - for these reasons alone I will be back. With a renovation and improvement in the breakfast layout and spread it could become a real gem in the Starwood portfolio.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colonel_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Colonel_56,
We would like to thank you for your comment and for the time spent in writing it. You have given a beautiful and realistic snapshot of the Hotel. Its central location, the Park near the hotel, the summer garden...
Of course some sections of the Hotel need to be improved and we have the project of doing so in our agenda. Sorry if the breakfast was under your expectations, we value our guests’ advice and will broadcast it to the team.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Roberta Davanzo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenzersdorf, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a non-renovated room - the hotel building itself is very nice and has a lot of charm, but the room was too long not renovated - in particular the bathroom is no longer up to date.
Apart from this it was broadly ok, cleanliness was ok (although such old room never really look so shiny).
We had a look at the breakfast buffet but decided against it - very expensive for a very poor selection. Never mind, there is a nice bakery just across the street.
The bar in the evening in the hotel is nice.
We absolutely didn't like that the put a donation on your bill without asking, and you have to ask them to remove it - that is not good style and not acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reise21at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Reise21at,
Thanks for your comment which we value and take into consideration. The Hotel is an ancient building and we are regularly renovating portions of it. For what concerns the donation within the bill, it is true that guests at Starwood Hotels are invited to add US$1 (or the equivalent in local currency) to their bill upon check out, as a donation to UNICEF. We always inform our guests of this option and feel sorry if this did not happen in your case.
We look forward from welcoming you soon
Best regards
Roberta Davanzo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
625 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

It is not really what we expected at our arrival. The check-in was professional and friendly but the rooms are from another age. Nevertheless, we were not on the side of the road and did not suffer from any outside noise. The lack of private parking, even to stop over in front of the hotel was complicate makes an overall bad impression. The location of the hotel is rather central and there is plenty of choice around to go out for dinner. The price of the hotel is rather expensive but unfortunately in line with the prices in Milan. Not sure I will return, except if I have a very good discounted rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATCO060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear PATCO060,
Thanks for the review posted on Tripadvisor and the note regarding the professional check in done!
We do have a private parking in the rear of the Hotel that can be booked in advance through our Concierge. A valet service is available. Being in the city centre, parking is permitted in the entire area surrounding the Hotel by paying an hour fee at the automatic machines placed on the street or buy the tickets and the nearby tobacconist or newspaper shop. The Municipality has given us the maximum of 2 private lots that can be used by taxis or temporarily stop to unload luggage.
Hotel rates vary according to several factors, check our website to catch the latest promotions especially on weekends !
Looking forward to welcoming you soon
Best regards
Roberta Davanzo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed at the Sheraton Diana Majestic for 4 nights using the cash and points option. Check in process went smoothly with very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Unfortunately went downhill from there- got to my room which was a junior suite as I had used my suite upgrade requests- what a waste! It was a larger room with a large bathroom with double sinks but was horribly outdated, old, dingy... do not want to see what the regular rooms looked like. They have a decent spread for their continental breakfast but good luck asking for coffee without getting a cold shoulder from the waitress. I get that it is centrally located in Milan but how this is a category 5 spg property is beyond me. Check out morning I was told that the entire computer system was down so they would have to email the final bill to me in a couple of days which pretty much summed up my stay here

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Nnnar,
Your comment has been thoroughly read, be sure that we feel sorry for the awkwardness you experienced during your stay. For what concerns the rooms’ style the Hotel is an old building and we are renovating it by sections. The comment about the waitress who served you during breakfast has been reported to the competent department. It is unacceptable for us to treat guests disrespectfully.
We hope to have the chance to treat you better during your next stay and to show you our customary level of service.
Best regards
Roberta Davanzo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel has a certain style and class for sure. But it's just not a good place to stay in Milan. I can't complain about noise from the bar during the night, as my room was towards the street. So all I know is that the street noise is just horrible. Being located right next to a busy street bend where trams are passing, you can imagine that it's impossible to sleep with open windows. But the noise made ist way perfectly through the closed windows as well. There is an easy solution - better windows. But apparently nobody cares.
Yes, and that's the other thing. I just did not fell welcome at this place. It was probably the receptionist who seems to be working 24x7 and who left a frustrated impression on me. For example he had an old address of me when I checked in. I wrote down the new one on the form and also told him that I need to have my company's address on the receipt anyway, so also left that one with him. Guess what was on the bill when I checked out? Not only the old, wrong address but also a mis-spelled name! How ignorant can someone be?
Also they are absolutely shameless when it comes to prices. Minibar, breakfast, parking... everything is so overpriced.
Not sure if it's funny or shocking, but the alarm radio/clock was screwed to the bedside table! No chance to even turn it a little so that one can see the time during the night. I've never seen something like this in a good hotel. This reminds me of youth hostels or such.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Sven H,
Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We consistently value our guests’ feedbacks and sincerely apology for the inconvenience caused. We understand your disappointment that the street was noisy and our staff inattentive. Your comments do not reflect the usual standards of our Hotel, be sure that we have already addressed your concerns to the relevant department. We hope to have you back in the future to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.
Best regards
Roberta Davanzo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 days here on business. This was our second time in this hotel. We come to Milan every year on business. I like this location. The staff is great, with everyone treating us very well. The rooms are nice, clean and well maintained.

The location is adjacent to the Public Garden area and conveniently located near the metro line and walking distance to many restaurants. We will be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank howardlh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Howardlh19,
We appreciate that for your business trip you have opted for the Sheraton Diana Majestic once again. As you have mentioned in your review the hotel is very close to the metro line which, after a few stops, reaches the city centre. Adjacent to the hotel there are lots of high-level shops, restaurants reachable by foot together with Indro Montanelli Public Gardens which are perfect for a walk or sport activities. We hope to have you back in the near future.
Warmest regards


Roberta Davanzo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
The Westin Palace, Milan
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#77 of 427 in Milan
2,606 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Palace
#55 of 427 in Milan
1,561 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#10 of 427 in Milan
1,430 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel

Property: Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel
Address: Viale Piave 42, 20129 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Milan
#105 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton Diana Majestic. Located in the heart of the Milanese shopping district, our great location allows you to explore and connect to our wonderful fashion city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Milan
Milan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing