We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Majestic facade, but that's about it...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel
Ranked #143 of 429 Hotels in Milan
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Majestic facade, but that's about it...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

When you see this place from outside, you get a sense of having booked yourself at a nice palace in central Milan - the facade is a stunning architectural piece. However, the poetry is soon over when you get to the rooms: clean and large but in need for a serious renewal. Looks like this place got stuck in 70s, and only minor upgraded were made since. The H bar is quite the opposite: new and trendy, serving decent yet overpriced cocktails. Morale of this story: go for a drink, avoid sleeping here, also considering the very high nightly rate.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear LondonNM ,
thank you for posting your review ! Most of our rooms have been updated within the last few years, but it is an on going process for our hotel and we are planning anyway a complete restoration in the nearest future. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel by that time !
Have a great day !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    333
    170
    75
    50
See reviews for
119
216
63
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have spent many nights at the Diana over a period of about 3 years. It became a home away from home for me just as it has for many other business travellers thoughout history. On every visit back to the Diana I was warmly welcomed. The staff and I developed an excellent relationship and they were genuinely interested in my well being. When you visit, take a little time to learn about the rich history of the hotel. The more you know about it, the more you'll appreciate it. The team is very experienced and extremely knowledgable about the hotel, Milan and Italy. They willingly share their knowledge and advice. The service is excellent but not over-powering or ostentatious. It is warm and genuine.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size. There are advantages to all sides. The rear rooms face a beutiful and hist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear John D. thank you for the amazing review of the Diana and for being such a regular guest !
As you know the Hotel has more than 100 years history and has undergone many changes, from being the first public swimming pool in Italy in 1842 with more than 120 changing rooms, a restaurant with magnificent garden. In October 1908 the hotel was opened, the pool and the changing rooms were eliminated and transformed into a park, a theatre and a restaurant with more than 600 covers under the name of Kursaal Diana, one of the first urban resorts! In 1925 the name was changed in Hotel Diana Majestic. From that time many things have happened, with the birth of the Italian Academy of cooking on 1953, to the first fashion shows in 1974, the shooting of famous advertising campaigns and the residence of many italian designers which will represent the best of Italy in the years to come. The Diana ins proud of being a Sheraton now, including brand values in the historical DNA.
Hope to see you soon and tell you more details of our historical hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Diana is a historical hotel set in a great location close to main sights and shopping areas! The staff at this hotel are all friendly and very courteous. Rooms are a little dated but spotlessly clean, comfortable and a good size. The Diana is very famous for its bar and I had been to this before staying at the hotel. There are reviews that complain of the drinks prices but they don't mention the fabulous buffet that is put on, that there is no need to look for dinner!!! The bar area spills out on the most beautiful garden and is especially enjoyable in the summer months. I am a SPG platinum member and my membership was recognised and honoured very well by the hotel and I was upgraded to a suite on check in. I have stayed in the Westin in Milan before, which was nice but for my next trip to Milan my choice will be The Diana!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules_UK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear UK 68
Thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor about our Hotel and our bar. We are known all over Milan for our aperitivo, it is a tradition started 10 years ago in our design bar and garden and we certainly appreciate comments like yours that give us the sense that we are proposing something that is appreciated. Drinks from 7.00 to 9.30 pm include a full buffet that can easily substitute a dinner! We are glad you are a Platinum member of our SPG program, and that we have recognized your status !
Thank you again for your nice comments and see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I really liked this hotel. It was super clean. I liked the interior of the room. Service was good. We had a really great stay. This is a true 4 star hotel. It's also great that the hotel is near the metro. The hotel bar was great too. I will come back for sure.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cat_in_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Cat in Zurich,
thank you for choosing the Sheraton Diana majestic in Milan and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
The hotel is in the heart of Milan close to the underground and to the city entertainment. Thank you for your comments about the rooms and staff , comfortable and clean, it is very important for us!!!
We are so happy to know you are going to plan another stay in the Sheraton Diana Majestic, we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
484 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Love it-I’ve been going to Sheraton Dianna for many years and 3-4 times per year, it feels like second home , they are very welcoming, great services, amazing bar and staff….comfortable and spacious rooms, beautiful garden , love eating outdoor, amazing night life( one of the best apperetivo in town) . I really recommend it , and above all this very close to the center.

Room Tip: the best rooms are the on es facing the garden , and executive double room are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Taffoolie ,
thank you for choosing the Sheraton Diana Majestic in Milan and for sharing your opinion . We are so delighted to know that you are one of our regular guest and we hope to see you again! Many thanks for the great comments about the Hotel and our staff which everyday works for making guests experience irreplaceable!
SEE YOU SOON THEN !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I should never have returned! The hotel is small over prices € 10 cokes, draftly (the Windows do not close), promised amenities are only in One's imagination, and there are excuses for Everything. Excessive Credit card authorizations 300% of Room charge, bonus mini bar charges without reason, failure to cancel authorizations, thoughtlessness toward handicapped travelers, the chic fashion perplesso are enthralled with this broker down vestige of the past but this Will soon pass. A lack of normal Sheraton amenities in the Room like bathrobe, shampoo, mouthwash, Etc make this nightmare a reality. AVOID AT ALL COST!

Room Tip: Go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoepeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Shoepeddler
Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay. Our guest feedback is important to us as often it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention.
This is certainly not the Sheraton experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry this happened to you. Our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience from start to finish and we are truly sorry that we did not carry out this promise.
Thank you again for bringing this to our attention for which we will do all necessary to avoid it for other guests.
Have a great day !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I spent a weekend at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel. It is conveniently located a short walk from the shopping area. Depending on the pace, it takes around 10-20 minutes to get to the main tourist area. The neighbourhood is nice and you can easily find some nice restaurants there.

The rooms are old-fashion so don't expect modern design and brand new interior, however, it suits well the architecture. What is unique about this hotel is not the rooms but the bar, which is absolutely a must visit place. There is also a beautiful garden, where you can have a drink or a meal. The downside of this is the noise, so try to avoid the rooms overlooking the garden, if you're particularly sensitive to noise.

What I liked the most about this hotel was the service. All the reception Staff was just amazing - very professional, helpful, friendly and smiling. True Italian experience!
I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: If you're particularly sensitive to the noise, try to avoid low level rooms overlooking the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaFra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, General Manager at Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Joanna Fra,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Diana Majestic in Milan and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that we had a great stay with us and that our staff was helpful and friendly :they work everyday to make a stay the most enjoyable possible. The hotel is located not far from the city center and from the underground as well from the city entertainment. Thank you very much for the great words about us, we are so happy to know you are going to plan another stay at the Sheraton Diana Majestic and we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
The Westin Palace, Milan
Citta Studi
Mercure Milano Centro
Mercure Milano Centro
#106 of 429 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Four Points by Sheraton Milan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Citta Studi
EuroHotel
EuroHotel
#91 of 429 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel

Property: Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel
Address: Viale Piave 42, 20129 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Milan
#109 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton Diana Majestic. Located in the heart of the Milanese shopping district, our great location allows you to explore and connect to our wonderful fashion city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Diana Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Milan
Milan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing