We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 12:00 PM, 3:00 PM - 7:15 PM
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Santa Maria delle Grazie
from $50.60
More Info
from $52.90
More Info
from $50.60
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
Reviews (3,050)
Filter reviews
1,340 results
Traveler rating
924
298
88
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
924
298
88
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews last supper in advance beautiful church dining hall official website opposite wall cenacolo vinciano time slot da vinci's masterpiece book tickets tour group audio guide an amazing experience ticket office visit milan viewing fresco
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,340 reviews
Reviewed today

This was a beautiful place to visit, it has character and painting are nice to see. Take your time and enjoy.

Thank Angel-Trails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We had not planned to visit this sight because we did not make reservations in advance. Tickets were supposed to be hard to come by. When the concierge at our hotel told us she could secure tickets for private viewing for us on our final evening in Milan at 520pm we were delighted and jumped at the opportunity. The painting on a wall is preserved and enclosed in a hermetic environment located adjacent to an unassuming-looking church in a non-commercial area within walking distance from the Cadorna train station. There were many guided tour groups already waiting at the humble looking square when we arrived. At our appointed time, automatic doors sequentially opened to allow a grouping of 20 or so individuals at a time to gradually make its way to the viewing room where each grouping is allowed 15 minutes to observe and admire. We got to see the real painting done centuries ago up close: Jesus and the 12 Disciples familiarly seated at the table. We couldn’t help but marvel at the impressive efforts made to preserve and restore this painting. And the ordeal that it has gone thorough. It truly represents the essence and significance of the Italian culture. This earned bragging right is truly a highlight of our Milan visit, albeit a tad less glamorous than seeing Mona Lisa in Paris.

Thank LnS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

We had only one ticket so my wife got to see the famous fresco that is part of Santa Maria delle Grazie complex. Our trip to Milan was for the express purpose of viewing the Last Supper.While she was viewing the fresco, I prayed in Santa Maria delle Grazie. Wonderful experience.

Thank lloyd2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

We visited the church, as most do, mainly to see the Last Supper housed in its refectory, but the church itself is free to enter and is worth a stop. The ceilings are covered with intricate designs, and the building exterior and surrounding grounds were also pretty. We spent about 10 minutes walking through and admiring after visiting Il Cenacolo/The Last Supper.

Thank SnowyShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We knew we couldn't see The Last Supper as we had left it too late but were pleased to be able to go into the Church anyway.

Very splendid and worth a visit.

Thank NorthernHeatseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Of course I never read the reviews on Tripadvisor before we visited!
Went down and we couldnt go in because it was sold out for at least 2 weeks. We were disappointed but that's life!
Make sure you book your tickets well in advance.

Thank Foxypops1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

On a Monday stroll and unable to get tickets in advance for the Last Supper, either directly or on tours, we decided to see the church itself - which was open and free to enter like all churches in Italy (although some do close for extended lunchtime periods).
The inevitable scaffolding and screening, crane tower and vehicles rather spoiled the exterior view of the south side and façade but at least the centre section was clear with the porch and lunette with the Leonardo da Vinci painting of the Madonna between Lodovico il Moro and his wife.
Inside one can see the darker Lombard nave with frescoes and decorative arches springing off the capitals of short plain columns and the change in style and appearance of the more open Renaissance apse below the lanterned dome with less decorative walls and choir. A door leads out into the Cloister. The church suffered war damage and one can see a reminder on the north wall. Some interesting chapels with paintings frescoes and bas relief sculptures.
Having read more about the Leonardo masterpiece and how little remains of the original thanks to deterioration and restoration, I felt happy to see the church and less deprived of the opportunity.
Worth the detour even without the Last Supper.

Thank stanmansurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ideally you book this months in advance when the tickets are released for just a few euros rather than paying €50+ as part of a tour, I missed the ticket release but phoned direct which on the second occasion was able to get tickets. You arrive in advance and recommend you add the self guide audio tour to your booking as this does help you make the most of your viewing which is normally 15 minutes but due to an additional display we were given 20 minutes with there only being 15 of us I felt the tour was good value to see one of the worlds best known paintings while not being over commercialised, there are clear signs to say photos and video recording are not allowed as I have seen it stated they were allowed but maybe it’s a recent change in policy

Thank 840marko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We learned our lesson to buy the tickets months in advance as this was our second trip to Milan. We were so disappointed when we couldn't find tickets to see the painting on our first trip. The LAST SUPPER was just breath taking. However, just visiting the church itself is a beauty. It should not be missed. It is a 15 minutes walk from the Duomo. They do not allow pictures to be taken inside the rectory where the painting is located. You can take photos inside the church.

Thank yknip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were lucky visiting Milan again in December 2017. In July we were aware of the fact that we had to order the tickets for the last supper in advance. Although it’s just the painting you’re going to see it’s absolutely worth the visit.

Thank martinhelmantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews