We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but no AC”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Manin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Manin
Ranked #81 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good hotel but no AC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for last 2 nights of our Italy tour. The hotel was clean and not too far from the historic district of Milan. Our room was small bus serviceable. Since the AC was turned off due to start of Fall season, we had to keep window open since it was fairly warm day. Room never cooled off and sleep was difficult. Considerable noise came from courtyard during night and mosquitos entering the open window were also disturbing. The food at breakfast was excellent, but one dinner we had was only average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveG873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review.
we are sorry for the ac invoncenience. Ac was already turned off because of autumn season but some warm days occured exceptionally!
we remain at your complete disposal for any further information you might need
accept our warmest regards
the Hotel Manin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    251
    101
    34
    15
See reviews for
67
184
36
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday and was able to park our car right opposite the Hotel, you do have to pay the meter (a small fee for the day), but note that there are parking restrictions through the weekday. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff, we arrived well before our check in time so our room was not ready. We were given 2 options, to either upgrade our room or leave our luggage with the concierge. We chose the second option and decided to walk to the main city center, which was only about a 15 minute walk. We walked around for about 4 hours going from shop to shop and accumulating lots of shopping bag, so we decided to head back to the hotel. We were greeted warmly again and given the keys to our room, and was told that our luggage was already in our room. The room and bathroom were fancy compare to all the other places we stayed in, but of course it was expected as it was more expensive than all the other places we stayed at. We took full advantage of the bath, since we were walking around so much that day. Breakfast was outstanding, lots of great variety. Lovely hotel and happy with the overall experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammySyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your beautiful review
we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon again here at the Manin!
remember to contact us directly and
accept our warmest regards
The Hotel Manin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

After we arrived in Milan everyone was very friendly and helpful and spoke fairly good English. The hotel is lovely and clean. The breakfast is one of the BEST we've had which was included with the room. There were issues trying to make reservations online with my fiance' having to call. He spoke to Francisco who suggested he call the credit card company. There was no issue with his Visa card per customer service. After several attempts at making online reservations we received emails that the reservation had been cancelled. My fiance' finally had his brother who lives in Switzerland make the reservations for us and the reservation was finally confirmed. The hotel is across from a park, it was quiet for a good night sleep and within 10-15 minute walking distance to The Duomo. It is not far from the train station. We were persistent in making the reservations and glad we were. We would not hesitate to stay there again. A GREAT two nights of our honeymoon.

Room Tip: You have to request a park view and those rooms are very close to the street. Wall thermostat for co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are happy you enjoyed so much your stay with us and honoured to receive such beautiful compliments!
looking forward to seeing you really soon..here at the Manin
we remain at your complete disposa for any further information you might need
with kind regards
the Hotel Manin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just spent three nights in the penthouse and enjoyed everything about it. We had large veranda with a jacuzzi overlooking the park across the street. Everything looked new. Staff was extremely helpful. Nice, quiet, treed courtyard in back for breakfast and drinks or just to read the paper.
Very nice bathroom too. Brera neighborhood is highly rated and easy walk to most tourist sites in Milano. Price was right for what we got. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse with veranda and jacuzzi if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mr Walden,
thank you very very much for your beautiful review.
we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and honoured to receive such beautiful compliment.
looking forward to seeing you back really soon, here at the Manin!
accept our warmest regards
the Hotel Manin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is located across from a nice park area, the staff are very friendly and eager to help us with our questions as it was our first time in Milan and we arrived late at night and not sure of our location. The room was not very large but more than adequate for our needs.We would of preffered a room with a view of the park but the hotel was fully booked so no chance. I would recommend staying there for several nights whilst looking around Milan. The room was not run down and bathroom was very modern and clean. As with most hotels the bar and food prices where higher than on the street. City tour bus /hop on hop off right outside hotel and most taxi fares cheap as our location was central to most parts of Milan city. We did recoomed that some back ground music in the bar area would be nice to give it a bit of atmosphere. Breakfast was included in room price and was adequate with hot cold options and plenty of it.

Room Tip: ask for a view, not a big hotel so those rooms would go first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAFFSPERTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Daff,
thank you very much for your beautiful review.
we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you here again at the Manin.
next time contact us directly and we'll do our best to give you a park view room!
accept our warmest regards
the Hotel Manin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Located in a pretty good spot. Walking distance to downtown and many attractions. Typical business hotel so we were a little disappointed as we went for the weekend. I considered it pricey for what we got and the drinks at the bar were quite pricey. View we got was terrible and in general the hotel was a little run down. Given all that I would probably stay there agai if I had business in the area but I would not go back there with my wife

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0rge54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Kubrynski,
thank you for you comment.
we were wondering why you waited 4 months to write a review, that's quite strange.
Concerning your reservation, We note a free upgrade from classic to superior room!
Something you enjoyed when you were here but now something you don't appreciate anymore;
The view was over the hotel garden, maybe you don't like nature view. Next time ask for a room with streetview, we will be glad to help you.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had stayed at the Hotel Ibis the night before, because this hotel was full. I would have stayed at Ibis, except that Hotels.com had already charged this hotel to my credit card.

The following day, we arrived and were told that they did not have a booking for us (which had been booked through Hotels.com). They finally found the booking and sent us to a room that had not been made up. After a return to the lobby, we were sent to a room that had other peoples' luggage. They then sent us to a suite, which was nothing too special. The air conditioning was insufficient for the room.

Lastly, we used the parking service suggested by the hotel (Garage Suisse) and the next day the vehicle was returned with a large scuff on the front bumper, from being rubbed up against something. When the damage was pointed out, the front desk person and the employee of the parking service tried to tell me that it was old damage, despite my repeatedly answering that the damage was not there the day before. They carried on with hand gestures and comments in Italian to suggest that we were idiots.

The hotel location is pretty good but the actual experience at the hotel was unpleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert Travelle... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mr Robert,
we are very very sorry for the inconvenience. We thank you for your review and trying to understand what has happened. Regarding you room, we upgrade you in a Junior suite (your reservation was for a Superior room)
we remain at your complete disposal for any further information you might need
accept our warmest regards and feel free to contact us
the Hotel Manin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Hotel Cavour
Hotel Cavour
#80 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Brera
NH Milano Touring
NH Milano Touring
#59 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Brera
Carlyle Brera Hotel
Carlyle Brera Hotel
#92 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Senato Hotel Milano
Senato Hotel Milano
#67 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#38 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#62 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manin

Property: Hotel Manin
Address: Via Daniele Manin 7, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#71 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#89 Family Hotel in Milan
#107 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manin 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manin Hotel is located in the heart of Milan, close to La Scala Theatre, the "Duomo di Milano" and the Fashion Quadrilateral, with a unique view over the city’s most beautiful park. The Manin, a 4-star hotel with a century of tradition, is one of the most appreciated historic houses in the centre of Milan for its comfort and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manin Hotel Milan
Golden Tulip Milan
Milan Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing