We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city hotel”
Review of Hotel Manin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Manin
Ranked #86 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good city hotel”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Manin Hotel.great location. Good sized rooms and bathroom.Staff helpful on arrival but poor when safe would not work for all 3 rooms booked in our party. Safes are important for guests. They would not sort out!
Breakfast great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your nice review.
we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding safe matter, we apologize for the incovenient, we have solved it as soon as possible.
Anyway, we hope to see you again here at the Manin and, in case, please contact us directly in order to enjoyed discounts and a personalized service.
We remain with best regards
The Hotel Manin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    259
    103
    35
    15
See reviews for
68
190
36
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The location is fantastic and the room was clean. However, the shower door is our room didn't properly close because the plastic seal was broken, so it was impossible to shower without flooding the bathroom floor.

The staff at the desk was very hit or miss. Some of the people were very helpful, but others were rude and acted like we were idiots and bothering them for having questions upon check in.

They provide free internet in the lobby, but it wasn't working when we tried to use it. We asked at the desk several times about it, but it was never fixed.

The breakfast was terrible. For the price paid, one would expect fresh coffee that hadn't been going stale on a hot plate all morning.

We booked over expedia and were supposed to a get a welcome gift, but we never saw it. Expedia also said that they had parking available, which is true, but it's really just the city's metered parking on the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMK8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comment.
We are sorry about this matter and we will review some wrong attitudes.
Regarding the shower, housekeeping staff would have been happy to help you.
Our wifi service is free in the lobby and for 24 hours in guest rooms. Network problems may occur sometimes and solved as soon as possible.
Regarding breakfast service we offer to our guests a huge variety of products, 4/5 types each. We offer both American coffee and Italian Espresso and our breakfast staff is at your complete disposal.
There are public parking places in front of the hotel and a discounted garage near us which offer a special “guest” price of € 30,00 for 24 hours.
We remain with regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is very comfortable and newly renovated. Spend a long weekend in Milan, and had the pleasure staying at the Manin, everything was great from arrival to departure, good and friendly service, really nice room. Breakfast was as expected. The hotel is well situated in walking distance to city center and shopping area. Very good choice

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Stephie,
thank you very much for your beautiful comment.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
Next time please contact us directly in order to enjoy discounts and a personalized service.
Hope to see you really soon and in the meanwhile
accept our warmest regards
The Hotel Manin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed in Hotel Manin as the fifth and final hotel in our trip to Italy (traveling with another couple). All of the hotels we stayed at in Italy were wonderful as was the hotel staff (with the exception of Hotel Manin) The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bar was interesting and the bartender very helpful. The desk help were outright rude to us. When asked for change (a 20 Euro note) in order to give tips, the desk help told us to wait for the bank to open in the morning and get it ourselves. They also refused to let us see a menu for the restaurant. We were told we would see the menu if we decided to dine in the restaurant.

It was raining at night and the bartender suggested we ask the front desk for 2 umbrellas (for the four of us). The desk staff told us they only had one. I was able to see 10 or more umbrellas hanging in the back. When I asked, he shrugged and gave us another. We asked if there was an issue and he said "we do not like Americans here".

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comment.
We apologize for the inconvenient and we will review some wrong attitudes.
However, I sincerely doubt that our desk staff really answer you that "we don't like americans"
just for one umbrella...All our guests are always welcome.
We remain at your complete disposal
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Location is good, staff is friendly. Room size is good and reasonably quiet. Pleasant breakfast as well.

So why did I give an average rating?
- Room comes with no coffee/no tea maker. It has a mini bar, and breakfast is included in the rate but I like the option to have coffee or tea anytime I am in the room.
- No iron/iron board in the room, instead they offer a dry cleaning service. Not the cheapest alternative! I managed to borrow an iron one after talking to the font desk.
- Breakfast room staff meant to be helpful but came across as controlling. They were all over us which became annoying at times.

While my overall experience was positive, I would consider other alternatives on my next trip to Milan.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review.
regarding your disappointment, we would like to remind you that:
the hotel has no coffe/tea maker in the room, but you may ask for it wherever in the hotel.
Iron and iron board is not in the room just for security reason but you may ask for it.
our room service staff is at your complete disposal anytime...It should be a good service!
we remain at your complete disposal for any further information
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdon Hills
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Along with friends my wife and I stayed at the Hotel Manin in early June for a very enjoyable week, and found reception staff on arrival at 10.30pm to be very helpful and willing to assist us in all matters – no sooner had our taxi arrived at the hotel a porter took our luggage to our rooms while we checked in.

The hotel entrance was very clean and stylish with a fresh modern feel – a nice touch was the lift which was always at ground floor level and which is a deliberate design feature so that you didn’t have to wait for a lift to arrive. There are two lifts and when you take the ground floor lift the vacant lift, which might be on floor five for example, was then sent automatically empty to the ground floor – very clever! The lobby is spacious and bright and is split into three parts with different design seating in each area.

Buffet breakfast, which was included in our deal, was quite extensive and had everything that would be expected of a 4* hotel. As a vegetarian (lo sono vegetariana) it would have been nice to have seen some mushrooms in place of courgettes and perhaps a choice of fried egg (boiled egg and scrambled egg was always on offer), but this would be nitpicking as it is a personal choice only. There were good cereal options along with plenty of different cheeses, cake, breads, toast, jams, juices and about six different croissants – Twinings English breakfast tea (we Brits like our breakfast tea, don't we) was available with other teas with coffee in abundance. Was there a downside? Not really, but I don’t want to hear Barry White for a while!

The garden is a delight and very well designed and included a bar serving soft drinks, tea/coffee and alcohol – seating was plentiful and on two levels, and, weather permitting, was a good place for breakfast with music piped through outdoor speakers (concealed in the vegetation as rocks). During our stay we had a torrential downpour which easily soaked into the borders.

We chose a room with balcony facing the park, and although a tree in the park was very large and blocked our view of the park it didn’t really spoil anything. The via Daniele Manin is a one way street which passes between the park and the hotel entrance, and although busy during rush hour it wasn’t particularly noisy – this is a great spot if you like people watching and folk going about their normal day-to-day activities. The room was very clean with twin-beds and the air-con worked well in the heat which was up to 29’C during our stay. The bathroom in our room (room 485) was very clean and the shower worked perfectly, which in my experience isn’t always the case. Hotel shower toiletries were provided. A safe is provided which is locked and unlocked with your own credit card.

The park opposite the hotel is a must-visit and there are two good eating and drinking places in the park. Note: If you visit these for their reasonable food and reasonable prices, get there before midday as local office workers visit these in large quantities and strip shelves like locusts. The local police motorbike visit one of these eating places so it can’t be bad.

If there is a criticism to be made it would be the city tax which is a bit high (but it is Milan after all), and the internet. We found the internet intermittent on both ipad and iphone, and map locator positioning on my iphone didn’t work too well other than central Milan. The first 24 hours of internet at Hotel Manin are free but thereafter it costs six euros per 24 hours – this is a bit expensive and didn’t always work depending on where you were in the hotel (lobby/garden/room).

Do expect to pay high prices for staying in Milan as it meets all the expectations of a fashion city and it certainly deserves that status – expect to pay 7-9 euros for a 33cl bottle of beer in the hotel and central Milan, but if you can find where the locals eat and drink in the many street restaurants such as Via Brera or Woodstock 3 in Via Vigevano, then prices will be a lot lower. Taxi services are good and reasonably priced – we used quite a few taxis and all displayed running totals and never took us on a run-around to make the journey longer. Do be clear with your instructions though!

As a final thought we travelled by Eurostar to Paris then from Paris to Milan – this is a very relaxing way to travel.

In summary: Hotel Manin met our criteria of a clean welcoming modern hotel with helpful staff, and is therefore worth a five star rating on TripAdvisor from our friends and ourselves, and if you want a stylish hotel with friendly staff then Hotel Manin is worthy of consideration.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlook public gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snipzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your beautiful and detailed review!
we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and all our services.
please next time contact us directly in order to enjoy discounts and a personalized service.
we remain at your complete disposal for any further information and needs
Accept our warmest regards
The Hotel Manin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Excallant location, right in the centre of Milan, i stayed here for a few days in June on business. Lovely looking hotel, with some street parking out front, and a great garden bar where 2 nights from 3 an event was being staged. Service in bar and reception was lacking a smile, and no cash available for parking, or any parking deal on street out front with hotel, that couild be improved, but overall the location would bring you back !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide C, Direttore generale at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your comment.
we apologize for your garage incovenient. Please next time let us know immediately in order to help you finding a better solution.
we remain at your complete disposal for any further information and needs.
accept our warmest regards
the Hotel Manin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Hotel Cavour
Hotel Cavour
#84 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Brera
NH Milano Touring
NH Milano Touring
#57 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Brera
Carlyle Brera Hotel
Carlyle Brera Hotel
#112 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Senato Hotel Milano
Senato Hotel Milano
#40 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#37 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#59 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manin

Property: Hotel Manin
Address: Via Daniele Manin 7, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#71 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#89 Family Hotel in Milan
#107 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manin 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manin Hotel is located in the heart of Milan, close to La Scala Theatre, the "Duomo di Milano" and the Fashion Quadrilateral, with a unique view over the city’s most beautiful park. The Manin, a 4-star hotel with a century of tradition, is one of the most appreciated historic houses in the centre of Milan for its comfort and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manin Hotel Milan
Golden Tulip Milan
Milan Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing